Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar

John Brownlie, Happy Birthday

68 today. What an impression he made on the younger fellah I once was.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Brilliant player that I had privilege of watching for many years in a great Hibs team.
    Happy birthday John🇳🇬

@hibs.net private member DarlingtonHibee's Avatar
    Legend, part of my first hibs team.

Best right back in Europe at his peak.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    What a player and also a very decent and humble man. I met him and had a brief chat to him a few years. I said I was still in awe of him, despite being in my early 50's. He seemed like a lovely guy

Ditto - I idolised him, absolutely fantastic player who was a delight to watch - I was in the Albion Road end when he suffered his leg-break and even today I can still hear that snap !!. It wasn't just a tragedy for him, it robbed Hibs, Scotland and the world of a very special player - he did recover well but sadly, he wasn't the player he had been !. Before it happened, our esteemed 'media' at the time, had it as a toss-up as to who was the better player - him or Danny McGrain ?. I'm not wearing my Hibs-tinted spectacles here but imho, McGrain was nowhere near as good as John but he played for Septic so obviously the press favoured their darling !
    Last edited by Deansy; 11-03-2020 at 05:47 PM.

First Team Breakthrough Max_Shah's Avatar
    I'm too young to remember [40 in Jan] but...

A great scout in FM 2012.

17 Judging Player Ability. 18 Judging Player Potential. 20 Determination and 15 Tactical Awareness.

Happy Birthday John.

@hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar
    Happy birthday JB
    One of the best players I've ever seen.

His almost telepathic partnership with wee Mickey was a joy to be seen, his rampaging runs down the right hand side were unequalled in my time watching Hibs, an absolute legend.

Happy birthday Onion 💚👍

Poetry in motion was our John Brownlie.

What a player and what a side Turnbull's Tornadoes were.

Happy Birthday Onion

The best right back I have ever seen wear the green jersey

A joy to behold

Many Happy Returns

The best brand of football the worlds ever seen

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Hart RIP View Post
    Absolutely no exaggeration to say that.

The guy was just an incredible player at a very young age. Second only to Paddy as my favourite. He used to particularly love turning the Huns inside out on his mazy runs and 1-2’s.

Confident, strong, aggressive, intelligent (had to be with the genius Mickey playing in front of you), great crosser of a ball, fantastic shot, unbelievably skilful.

Not a negative bone in his body when he had the ball at his feet. God, where are full backs like that nowadays.!

Wasn't he just 👌

To put it into perspective. Danny McGrain is 1 year older than John B. McGrain only got his 1st Scottish cap after John was injured. A truly magnificent player.

Only in Europe?
    Struggling to think who was better anywhere.
    Happy Birthday John Brownlie.

Absolutely fantastic player . Great defender but also great attacking and seem to remember him scoring quite a few too . Can remember being in Cave against Besa in ECWC in 1972 ( opened that night during work so half seated / half standing ) and seeing him score a couple and didn`t he score winner in LC semi against Rangers soon after ? I was in the Dunbar End the day he broke his leg against East Fife . Absolute tragedy . Celtic had a great team then but Brownlie`s injury and Edwards`suspension were massive blows to chances in league ,SC and ECWC even if it meant Des Bremner got his well - deserved chance . Even after his injury he was still a great player . Think we played Rangers at home ( 0 v 0 ? ) in first league match of season the day he left with Ralph Callachan from Newcastle as part swap and Rab Kilgour from Meadowbank at right back both signed the same day . Depressed atmosphere among our support that day after losing such a great player .

First Team Breakthrough Joe Baker2's Avatar
    JB is a legend. Happy birthday, mate.

One of my favourite John Brownlie / Tornadoes performances Scottish League Cup Quarter Final 1972/73 versus Airdrieonians Old Co at Broomfield 2-6 win

Goals from Brownlie x 2 Duncan x 3 and Jimmy Jimmy ORourke

A free flowing display of fast attacking football against what was a very tricky bogey cup team for us

I have a dodgy video of the game somewhere and I am sure when the teams run oot the wee Tudor Hoose that Airdrie called a Dressing Room at the start of the game the Commentator mentions that HIBS right back John Brownlie a local lad returns to the ground where he used to be a ballboy

A brilliant typical swashbuckling display by John Brownlie that night where he bagged himself a brace in front of a large midweek HIBS support

Halcyon days!
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 12-03-2020 at 06:19 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    One of my favourite John Brownlie / Tornadoes performances Scottish League Cup Quarter Final 1972/73 versus Airdrieonians Old Co at Broomfield 2-6 win

Goals from Brownlie x 2 Duncan x 3 and Jimmy Jimmy ORourke

A free flowing display of fast attacking football against what was a very tricky bogey cup team for us

I have a dodgy video of the game somewhere and I am sure when the teams run oot the wee Tudor Hoose that Airdrie called a Dressing Room at the start of the game the Commentator mentions that HIBS right back John Brownlie a local lad returns to the ground where he used to be a ballboy

A brilliant typical swashbuckling display by John Brownlie that night where he bagged himself a brace in front of a large midweek HIBS support

Halcyon days!
    Incredibly one of 5 games that season where we scored 5 goals in a half! The others were Sporting Lisbon at home, Dundee United away, Ayr United at home & a game that I always have trouble remembering on 1/1/1973!!

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    I used to work with his daughter in law many moons ago. True story.

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    Incredibly one of 5 games that season where we scored 5 goals in a half! The others were Sporting Lisbon at home, Dundee United away, Ayr United at home & a game that I always have trouble remembering on 1/1/1973!!
    Besa at home anaw (7-1)

Opponents give up hope when we get them down the slope

Hibernian.........