Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by cmcd View Post
    Eric Stevenson was fast AND skillful Arthur Duncan was Fast but not as skillful. Two great wingers . Marinello could have been the best but left Hibs too soon and had his head turned down South
    This for me is true.

Quote Originally Posted by cmcd View Post
    Eric Stevenson was fast AND skillful Arthur Duncan was Fast but not as skillful. Two great wingers . Marinello could have been the best but left Hibs too soon and had his head turned down South
    Of course IIRC Arthur effectively replaced Peter M. What a signing that was, a vast (for those days) profit & we signed a legend. We used to do that a lot, sell a star & buy a replacement almost simultaneously. Joe Davis for John Parke is another that springs to mind. Great days & a great thread.

Remember bring devastated when Colin Stein left but all was forgotten when we signed Joe McBride

Not sure about Boyler being more skilful than Arthur Duncan though

Arthur was quite skilful as has already been mentioned his favourite trick was slowing down with the ball then booting it past the full back as per the final goal on the video in the 5-3 Celtic game

Stevenson and Marinello were also very skilful and tricky Stevenson always had the full back in his back pocket and Nellos double at Ibrox in a 3-1 win spring to mind

I like Boyle as well he has improved immensely since joining us and is the player that most reminds me of Arthur but I tend to think of Arthur as being more prolific when he was played upfront
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 20-03-2020 at 11:40 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Things are quiet folks a wee tribute appeared on YouTube to Arthur Duncan courtesy of John Sparky

Rare footage of Dryburgh Cup Final 5-3 and Airdrieonians 2 v 6 HIBS

https://youtu.be/J80OWhK5gL0
    What a great video, thx Billy! The wonder header by Alan Gordon on about 2+ mins in was the 3rd & winning goal against Aberdeen on 30 Dec 1972. I have never seen that goal since until now!! 2 days later the exact same 11 players popped over to Tiny & banged in 7!
    Re the Drybrough Cup Final, my Dad was at the game with Tommy Younger & Tom Hart. When Arthur got the ball wide on the left TY's commentary went - - - " Can't believe Arthur's showing sense & taking the ball for a walk, for God's sake Arthur what are you doing, Gooooooal!" Arthur all over, you never knew what to expect!

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    winning goal against Aberdeen on 30 Dec 1972. I have never seen that goal since until now!! 2 days later the exact same 11 players popped over to Tiny & banged in 7!
    A few days before the Aberdeen game we scored 8 against a none-too-shabby Ayr Utd and few days before that we had beaten one of the best Celtc teams ever 2-1 in a national cup final. Heady days or what? I thought it was always like that tbh and took it for granted.

Great video. Can folk post more of these types of link. I'm currently in bed with what the Dr has said is likely coronavirus so am not only isolated from the outside world but from the rest of the house as well so don't even have a TV to watch. Ta

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Great video. Can folk post more of these types of link. I'm currently in bed with what the Dr has said is likely coronavirus so am not only isolated from the outside world but from the rest of the house as well so don't even have a TV to watch. Ta
    Nae bother!

Here is another dedicated to you and Brog

No need for introduction everyone knows his name

https://youtu.be/cK2MBVjZa50

Thanks once again to John Sparky

Get well soon buddy!

Nae bother!

Here is another dedicated to you and Brog

No need for introduction everyone knows his name

https://youtu.be/cK2MBVjZa50

Thanks once again to John Sparky
    👍👍👍👍👍👍👍

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    Get well soon buddy!

Are there any vids of the great man Ally McLeod. Total hero of mine when I really got into Hibs and can actually remember games. He definitely wasn't as fast as Ivan, Arthur or Boyler but had all the ability in the world

He definitely wasn't as fast as Ivan, Arthur or Boyler

Understatement of the millennium.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Are there any vids of the great man Ally McLeod. Total hero of mine when I really got into Hibs and can actually remember games. He definitely wasn't as fast as Ivan, Arthur or Boyler but had all the ability in the world
    Ally Macleod was deceptive he was slower than he looked but agree some player very intelligent and skilful

https://youtu.be/8azbuFR_0Zg
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 20-03-2020 at 02:30 PM.

Ally Macleod was deceptive he was slower than he looked but agree some player very intelligent and skilful

https://youtu.be/8azbuFR_0Zg
    Just a smidgen of the fighting and pitch invasion from that day. Outside was a nightmare.

Sore losers (even if it was draw).

Quote Originally Posted by Greenbeard View Post
    Seconded, with George McNeill discounted as not a first team regular. However I remember Duncan being more of a boot-it-past-the-defender-then-outsprint-him sort of player. The way Boyle has improved I think he can beat a man better with a combo of speed'n'jink. Duncan was "nae-jinksy".
    Didn't see enough of Sproule to judge in comparison.
    George McNeill is the funniest - hilarious stories. Not sure he has enough game time to count.

In other news -

1) Duncan
    2) Sproule
    3) Boyle

First Team Breakthrough GTMRossaK3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by h1bs4life View Post
    Arthur Duncan for me charging down the wing. Shouts of open the gates as it looked like he was'nt going to stop. Unfortunate to score the winning goal for the Huns with a diving header in 79 final , we should had a penalty in the 1st game but that's another story. Went onto Meadowbank ,think he is now in Australia
    I'm pretty certain Arthur was a chiropodist and worked alongside a good friend of mine on Henderson Row. I remember her telling me, knowing I was a Hibs supporter, that Arthur was leaving his job there and emigrating to Australia.

Quote Originally Posted by IWasThere2016 View Post
    George McNeill is the funniest - hilarious stories. Not sure he has enough game time to count.

In other news -

1) Duncan
    2) Sproule
    3) Boyle
    👍🏾

The fffasets players I seen play for hibs was
    1 duncan
    2 sproule
    3 Boyle

The best
    1 stanton
    2 baker
    3 sauzee

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Fastest

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Biggie's Avatar
    Having seen all 3, only one winner, Arthur Duncan
    "I don't have any regrets about not moving during my playing career. I was born a Hibee, my dad was a Hibee, I will stay a Hibee and I'll die a Hibee." -Lawrie Reilly

@hibs.net private member Biggie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GTMRossaK3 View Post
    I'm pretty certain Arthur was a chiropodist and worked alongside a good friend of mine on Henderson Row. I remember her telling me, knowing I was a Hibs supporter, that Arthur was leaving his job there and emigrating to Australia.
    100% we should have had a penalty, colin Campbell going round McCoy only to be hauled down.....refs haven't improved over the years
    "I don't have any regrets about not moving during my playing career. I was born a Hibee, my dad was a Hibee, I will stay a Hibee and I'll die a Hibee." -Lawrie Reilly

Duncan was most prolific scoring 22 in 1972/73 from the left wing and 114 in total

Quote Originally Posted by Biggie View Post
    100% we should have had a penalty, colin Campbell going round McCoy only to be hauled down.....refs haven't improved over the years
    Last five minutes in a Scottish Cup Final at 0-0 versus The Hun?

Are you having a laugh ? 😂

Quote Originally Posted by Biggie View Post
    The ref very much did the job asked of him that day.

Sproule fastest in my lifetime watch watching Hibs. Headless chicken but fast. That chance against Dnipro still gets to me.

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    Boyle has a long way to go before he can be compared to Arthur Duncan.
    Purely based on his legend, because I never saw him play, but I'd think only Gordon Smith looks down on Arthur Duncan.
    Ivan I loved at a time when I was really struggling to find a Hibs player to love. And honourable mention to Eric Stevenson from my singe figure childhood years.

Used to love watching Eric Stevenson play he used to hug the touchline tanner ba player beat his man then beat him again hit the byeline get tripped up and land in the box penalty to HIBS aw sideburns and class Defenders couldnae live with him Jock Wallace nailed it when he said his heid wis full of nonsense and he shudda been playing for Scotland

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    A few days before the Aberdeen game we scored 8 against a none-too-shabby Ayr Utd and few days before that we had beaten one of the best Celtc teams ever 2-1 in a national cup final. Heady days or what? I thought it was always like that tbh and took it for granted.
    Unfortunately your not the only one

Don't know if its been mentioned .... but until Boyler has scored the winner in a Scottish cup final like Arthur Duncan has he will never be comparable

Arthur for me. Thanks to whoever put the videos on. Fantastic, brought back many happy memories watching the Tornadoes.
    Look at the state of the pitches yet they still played beautiful football.
    I started going to games in 1967 and went to every derby, home and away and think I only saw us lose twice to Hearts in the next 15 years.
    Rangers won the European Cup Winners Cup but we were much better than them and regularly beat them.
    Celtic were our main rivals but unfortunately they had their best ever team at the same time.