Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Aye, but how often would a new unionist bridge have been closed?
    It'd be open all day every day, just so they could send people home...Even to Jamaica.

Anybody know if the Severn bridge is still closed. Didn't see it on the National news.

Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    Anybody know if the Severn bridge is still closed. Didn't see it on the National news.
    I don't remember it opening, but did anybody say it would never have to close due to adverse weather?

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Cataplana View Post
    I don't remember it opening, but did anybody say it would never have to close due to adverse weather?
    The Severn bridge opened last night after it was closed due to wind, something that will never happen to the Queensferry Crossing
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Grieves View Post
    First time the Queensferry crossing has closed since opening 2 and a half years ago. Apparently the forth Road Bridge would have been closed on 30 occasions in the same period.
    This is the first time QC has been closed for this specific reason? This is it’s third winter. They’re talking about fitting ice sensors. I wonder if this is the thin edge of the wedge and we’ll find it closes more often in future winters as a precautionary measure.

For adverse weather, read high winds. The SNP even planned the adverse weather when the schools are on holidays, they cannae win. 🏆

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    The Severn bridge opened last night after it was closed due to wind, something that will never happen to the Queensferry Crossing
    Other bridges are available. 😂

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

Quicker than I thought.

Davidson is bullish wee termagant. The only thing she has going for her is unionism.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    I’m sure someone said ‘once in a generation’.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Davidson is bullish wee termagant. The only thing she has going for her is unionism.
    The QC was open on more occasions than Ruth Davidson's constituency office.

Maybe we should be asking what she's doing for the day job.

Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    The QC was open on more occasions than Ruth Davidson's constituency office.

Maybe we should be asking what she's doing for the day job.
    Fitting for the ermines today I suspect!

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    I’m sure someone said ‘once in a generation’.

No, they were misquoted, and were not representing the views of the bridge builders, merely a personal opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    This is the first time QC has been closed for this specific reason? This is it’s third winter. They’re talking about fitting ice sensors. I wonder if this is the thin edge of the wedge and we’ll find it closes more often in future winters as a precautionary measure.
    Who knows, the fact that this is the first time it has closed would suggest the current conditions (combination of high winds, snow and rain) are a bit unusual.

Not much good if it has to close when there's a storm.
    Let's see how they cope with Dennis at the weekend.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Not much good if it has to close when there's a storm.
    Let's see how they cope with Dennis at the weekend.
    I wonder how folk would have coped when there was no Queensferry Crossing and still had to rely on the 56 year old road bridge that closed at the slightest wee breeze?
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Wait till Ruth & Cole-Hamilton find out!

What a plonker 😂

..and he has the audacity to believe that he is best positioned to "take on" the SNP.

Just heard they will look at using the old bridge as a last resort in future. How come it's taken all this disruption for it to even be considered?

Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    Just heard they will look at using the old bridge as a last resort in future. How come it's taken all this disruption for it to even be considered?
    Probably because in 99.9% of weather conditions that would have closed the old bridge the new bridge would remain open. The last few days have been a freak weather wise for the QF crossing. I think I read that over the two and a half years it's been open the old bridge would have been shut at least partially thirty odd times

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    It is absolutely amazing how, in the context of all the utter bollocks generated by constitutional politics, people will focus on - and believe - absolutely anything on both sides.

They're just two bridges. One is old and the other is new. There's been some extreme weather. They don't vote, they don't have opinions and neither of them are either for or against independence.

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    It is absolutely amazing how, in the context of all the utter bollocks generated by constitutional politics, people will focus on - and believe - absolutely anything on both sides.

They're just two bridges. One is old and the other is new. There's been some extreme weather. They don't vote, they don't have opinions and neither of them are either for or against independence.
    You are of course correct in what you say. So why were the anti SNP brigade so quick to try to lay the boot into an inanimate object that was caught out by unforseen circumstances similar to the ones that shut a whole heap of similar inanimate objects across the UK and abroad? For me it once again it comes back to the negativity from the unionist side of the debate. They struggle to come up with positive positions on any policy but continually just go with the SNP bad mantra. If they had any positives then some of these floating voters who appear to be siding with yes at the moment may be persuaded back but it is just a barrage of negativity.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    I've no idea how you can politicise an inanimate object but if people/groups/organisations are willing to take credit for it when things go well, then they must also be willing to take the pantomime boo/hiss when things don't fair so well.
    The new crossing was necessary and vital and although it could be argued that John Swinney was "getting on with the day job" when he signed it off, it was something he had to do. The FRB was barely 50% through its expected lifespan when recalculations of actual load coupled with projected wire failure meant the new crossing had to happen sooner rather than later.

As for closures, I've never experienced the FRB to be closed for more than 24hrs because of weather, joint/Union failure, but not weather. And 30 times in 2 years? I must have been driving over a different crossing,,,,
    As One Day Soon alludes to above, they're bridges, nothing more, nothing less. The FRB done it's job, the newer QC will continue that job.
    If it has to close for H&S reasons then so be it.

Neither of the bridges will come close to the original crossing in my opinion, the rail bridge,,,,s'pose we've got Gladstone's Liberals to thank for that 🙄

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    ,,,s'pose we've got Gladstone's Liberals to thank for that 🙄

....and the Irish Navvie Hibs fans who built it.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    You are of course correct in what you say. So why were the anti SNP brigade so quick to try to lay the boot into an inanimate object that was caught out by unforseen circumstances similar to the ones that shut a whole heap of similar inanimate objects across the UK and abroad? For me it once again it comes back to the negativity from the unionist side of the debate. They struggle to come up with positive positions on any policy but continually just go with the SNP bad mantra. If they had any positives then some of these floating voters who appear to be siding with yes at the moment may be persuaded back but it is just a barrage of negativity.

You seriously think that this and other examples like it is just all down to the Unionist side being negative? The nat side was just as quick to try and contrast it with the pre-SNP bridge. It's all farcical.

Nats try to portray everything Scottish in a positive light and everything British in a negative light. Unionists do exactly the same in the other direction. They both end up coming across as cheeks of the same ar5e.

Probably because in 99.9% of weather conditions that would have closed the old bridge the new bridge would remain open. The last few days have been a freak weather wise for the QF crossing. I think I read that over the two and a half years it's been open the old bridge would have been shut at least partially thirty odd times
    Well why hadn't they even considered using the old bridge if it was suitable? Must be better to have it as an option than the detour.

Not sure but I think there was ongoing works in it so couldn't be used. Also still doubtful that any high sided vehicles would have been able to cross. Anyway, storm in a teacup, pardon the pun. Sad that something done for the right reasons in extenuating circumstances has caused such ****storm of nonsense

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Not sure but I think there was ongoing works in it so couldn't be used. Also still doubtful that any high sided vehicles would have been able to cross. Anyway, storm in a teacup, pardon the pun. Sad that something done for the right reasons in extenuating circumstances has caused such ****storm of nonsense
    When Tories start sounding off on crap like this I can't but help think of Grenfell, Hillsborough and other complete ****ups that absolutely dwarf the relevance of a bridge being closed for safety reasons during a mega storm. I'd understand the outrage if the bridge had collapsed with cars crossing it but not just because it was closed in extreme conditions. A bit of perspective is needed here.

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    My understanding was that the old bridge, in this situation, had one side closed with the tarmac up and the gap closers removed. If they’d had to split the lanes on the remaining side, to allow 2 way traffic, it will still have caused congestion and severely hampered the free flow of public transport links.
    But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!