Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Stevie Mallan

That Mallan - JR 'spat' thing was complete nonsense derived from a fake story spread from a WhatsApp screenshot on twitter. That's all BarryG will have heard.

It'll be good to have Mallan back available ASAP, Allan usually needs to come off in games and Stevie provides some specialist attacking attributes.

Think he gets a raw deal from supporters, asked the play a role that isn’t suited to him. Would like to see him further forward, getting shots away

Quote Originally Posted by sean04 View Post
    Think he gets a raw deal from supporters, asked the play a role that isn’t suited to him. Would like to see him further forward, getting shots away
    He never made that role his own first season and he definitely isn't better at it than Allan so he is rightfully not playing there.

Other than shooting he really doesn't have great attributes to play there anyway.

I don't understand the Mallan negativity. He has strengths and like any other player, points for development.

His attacking stats are excellent.

Quote Originally Posted by CMurdoch View Post

Occasionally it is worth coming on here
    I too laughed out loud at that.

Quote Originally Posted by H18 SFR View Post
    I don't understand the Mallan negativity. He has strengths and like any other player, points for development.

One of my favourite hibs players
    Last edited by Billy Whizz; 10-02-2020 at 12:55 PM.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    On of my favourite hibs players

And still young with room to improve as well.

He's been hung out to dry by managers playing him in positions not suited to his strengths as a player and a lot of folk have got on his back as a result of his poor performances there.

Whilst Scott Allan is looking tired and having a wee dip in form, he'd be the perfect replacement in that role.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    He never made that role his own first season and he definitely isn't better at it than Allan so he is rightfully not playing there.

Other than shooting he really doesn't have great attributes to play there anyway.
    He’s a young guy who’s being asked to play that deep role, tracking runners and tackling aren’t what he is about. Think his confidence took a bit hit and wasn’t able to effect games because he was to deep. He’s another option for that no.10 role which Allan hasn’t been that great recently. Great range of passing and can score goals. Hopefully can shine under Jack Ross

He was the player who attended hospitality when we played st mirren.
    His words where “I aim to be back around the international window in March”

They might be but he is a man short in anything defensively minded, marking, tackling or matching a run ... I agree if anything he is Allan's replacement when needed in some games ...but not as a replacement who needs to give us any physical presence.

Have also heard rumours of a fall out. Hope not, Stevie could be a big player for us in the run in, goals and glory.

Quote Originally Posted by Unseen work View Post
    Think that was all a load of nonsense as there was rumours of him hitting on Mallans bird at the Christmas do.

Found to be a load rubbish and that she wasn’t even in attendance.
    Happy days then, but yeah I don't think he's been a miss anyway tbh, think docherty and omeonga give us more, although I do love w Mallan wonder strike, they just don't happen as often now unfortunately, and if he doesn't bring that he doesn't bring much else for me.

He’s a young guy who’s being asked to play that deep role, tracking runners and tackling aren’t what he is about. Think his confidence took a bit hit and wasn’t able to effect games because he was to deep. He’s another option for that no.10 role which Allan hasn’t been that great recently. Great range of passing and can score goals. Hopefully can shine under Jack Ross
    Decent range of passing, not great. Gives it away plenty. Can score goals but hasn't consistently for a while.

Allan starts every time ahead of him tbh.

Mallan was brought in to play the attacking midfielder role but unfortunately Allan also became available a year after he signed, both players are similar and we can't afford to play them in the same team. He has tried to adapt to a deeper role but it hasn't worked out there, it's a pity as I feel he has the right toos to play the deep playmaking role.

I like him. Think people forget how young he is.

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    So do I. Has done well when coming off the bench recently including the Derby. Also scored a brilliant goal in the home Derby.

Other than goals and assists, what have the Romans ever done for us?

His corners were something to behold in his first season. Hadn’t had someone send a ball in like that since Riordan. Scoring from it was another matter but he could put some spank on it.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    This is very true. I had to look twice if I’m honest and he had parked right behind me. He is very youthful and he could’ve been any trackie wearing radge but one with a good jog, good dead ball technique and no obvious limp. Sure it was him though.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    His corners were something to behold in his first season. Hadn’t had someone send a ball in like that since Riordan. Scoring from it was another matter but he could put some spank on it.
    Remember Griffiths scoring direct from a corner for us but can’t remember Deeks but it could be my memory.
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    I quite liked David Zitelli's corners too. Like trying to put the head on an Exocet missile.....

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    I quite liked David Zitelli's corners too. Like trying to put the head on an Exocet missile.....
    Hands down the best deliveries in recent times. Just watch the highlights of the 6-2 game!

Naw

Liam Henderson

The postman always rings twice 😁