Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Does anyone know if the Ellwyn will ever reopen or is it shut for good.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Does anyone know if the Ellwyn will ever reopen or is it shut for good.
    Expectation is it'll be flats I'm afraid. Some good times had in there, ran a few buses to Hampden and eaten some very basic meals.

Quote Originally Posted by southfieldhibby View Post
    That's right. Paul never owned it.

Almost correct. Boy who operates that and the one up town initials are MP and a total fud. Hates football and was the only pub on Leith Walk who refused to open on Cup final night. He's a fanny. Also has the licence for The strathie which he sublets to a sound South African fella.

they're all owned by the same guy, along with Robbies, Persevere, Artisan and many more.
    So that contradicts what I was told in an earlier post but confirms what I was told a couple of years ago.....any offers on who is correct?

@hibs.net private member Baader's Avatar
    Expectation is it'll be flats I'm afraid. Some good times had in there, ran a few buses to Hampden and eaten some very basic meals.
    A shame. Grew up very close to The Ellwyn and despite not being a local in there was in often enough over many years. Alec who ran the bar was a good Hibby and I travelled through to Hampden with my Dad on the ocassional bus they put on.

Would've thought The Ellwyn did alright but I think it changed hands a few years ago and I wasn't impressed with the service last time I was in after this. Anyone know what happened?

Companies House says owner is Carol Morris. 🤷*♂️

Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    What could possibly go wrong......
    Landlord? Do you have any nuts?

I'll murder ye, ya.......

Thanks for the update. Shame as it was a local of mine many years ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Cataplana View Post
    I think it's called La Hispaniola. Named after the ship in Treasure Island, as Robert Louis Stevenson was a regular at Rutherford's.
    Yep, it's a full-on Treasure Island/pirate-themed restaurant. Lots of life-size pirate figures and assorted memorabilia. Looks a bit freakish, although I don't think I ever went into Rutherfords when it was a pub so don't know if its latest incarnation is an improvement or not.

Seem to remember the boxer (and Hibby) Alex Arthur lived on that street.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Betty Boop View Post
    No like them to stick the boot in.
    Any publicity is good publicity.

Folk know who has the pub now, will The Sun & Record think there story will stop people from going in for a pint, can't see it.

@hibs.net private member offshorehibby's Avatar
    That's right. Paul never owned it.

Almost correct. Boy who operates that and the one up town initials are MP and a total fud. Hates football and was the only pub on Leith Walk who refused to open on Cup final night. He's a fanny. Also has the licence for The strathie which he sublets to a sound South African fella.

they're all owned by the same guy, along with Robbies, Persevere, Artisan and many more.
    Almost almost correct. The South African dude is long gone from the Strathy and MP back doing shifts there. Personally never had any hassle from him.
    TOP CASH BACK
    The easy way to make money

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    So that contradicts what I was told in an earlier post but confirms what I was told a couple of years ago.....any offers on who is correct?
    It doesn’t really matter but Scott started at the brass monkey at Drummond street. Took over the horseshoe after Andy gave up the lease and turned it into the brass monkey. Kenny McLean Owned it. Scott was in partnership with the guy from the strathie. He was financing it. When kenny sold, he wanted stupid money for it. Scott couldn’t get finance and paid it up monthly.

Kenny also owned the Brunswick. Wanted rid of that and Scott took that on also.

I never claim to be itk with anything but I am with this 😂

Don’t know the guy from the Strathie but Scott is famous for being a right James hunt.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post

Folk know who has the pub now, will The Sun & Record think there story will stop people from going in for a pint, can't see it.
    If I mention your name Silver, can I put it on your tab😄

Agreed. Anyhoo I wish him all the best in his new venture.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Aye, same here?

@hibs.net private member hibbymick's Avatar
    Kevin Doyle still owns Four in hand. Not sure for how much longer.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    You can always try Billy, but please, whatever you do don't ask for peanuts.

Quote Originally Posted by Betty Boop View Post
    Agreed. Anyhoo I wish him all the best in his new venture.
    A nice wee story from the local paper.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...chance-1379722

Quote Originally Posted by Haymaker View Post
    Aye, same here?
    Garlic bread for you dude.

Obviously

On his Instagram, looks like he’s changed the name to ‘Riordan’s Sports Bar.’
    Fair play to him.

Quote Originally Posted by BegbieHSC View Post
    On his Instagram, looks like he’s changed the name to ‘Riordan’s Sports Bar.’
    Fair play to him.
    Saw a sign in the window the other night advertising new opening hours that had that name on it.

The sign I was told is R01den

Decent looking new staff t-shirts anyway.

Riordans.jpg

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    The sign I was told is R01den
    Nah, it’s R10RDAN

👍🏻

Good luck to him. I hope it gets him on the right road.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Good luck to him. I hope it gets him on the right road.

Hope it goes well for Deek, will need to give it a go when I'm next in Edinburgh.

Quote Originally Posted by Vault Boy View Post
    Hope it goes well for Deek, will need to give it a go when I'm next in Edinburgh.
    Yes looks good and he always responds to my comments on Instagram. Will pop in when next in Edinburgh.

I hope he's changing the tables, chairs and layout if possible. I get that 4 in hand probably introduced the big tables through the back to attract clientele during the week and when Hibs aren't playing but for me it killed that area from being one of my favourite pre game places to somewhere that I would avoid. Office has done the same also. Its good for the smaller games but when you have a derby or game against the old firm etc it's so cramped