View Poll Results: Would you donate via HSL to improve the club?

114. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

60 52.63%
  • No

54 47.37%
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
    Think it’s clear we need clarity from R G on his plans before some people are going to commit
    I will continue paying monthly as long as I am assured the money is going to the player budget
    If we are being asked to help with an indoor facility I would make a separate one off payment to that but not interested in making monthly payments to fund that

Football is already far too expensive. The club should be aiming to grow revenue by growing the fanbase, not squeezing ever more out of the existing support.

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    I would if I thought that it would help improve the quality of players we signed or brought through the academy. As it stands I don't think it would.

@hibs.net private member The Spaceman's Avatar
    We already pony enough up as it is. The club needs to be a lot more streetwise and commercially-minded than at present. It could make significantly more money out of, for example, our hospitality areas/function rooms, having an actual working bar Behind the Goals before games, better food and beverage offering etc. They have squeezed us enough over recent years and we have responded with record season ticket numbers. The fans have already done their bit. Time for the management to get it right on and off the pitch.

If it was directly into a Managers Bonus Transfer Fund then, Yes.

But like others im fed up us spending on infrastructure. Its an emotional game and hibs aint been stirring (positives) much recently. Fans helping bring a marquee signing to the club would be exciting.

I’ve paid into HSL since 2015 (as well as purchasing multiple STs each year). Primarily to reduce the risk of another Wallace Mercer scenario by ensuring enough shares were held by genuine fans that we could block any takeover and also in the hope that it might facilitate greater fan involvement in the running of the club.

If HSL are now blocked from increasing ownership I need to rethink whether this is something I want to continue contributing to or whether spending the money with Hibs in a different way as is being suggested here is a better option.

I’ll give it to the AGM.

Yes I would.

Hibs are not my life priority and if I wasn’t fortunate enough to be able to pay a little bit, I wouldn’t. People have families and other priorities and money is tight for many.

I already have my HSL shares, season ticket, etc, but I trust the club to be well run and i’d pay (a small monthly amount) to simply give Hibs more funds.

It would have to be taken up by enough of my fellow fans who are in a position to give a bit more, be shown to improve player quality and show membership growth to justify continuing paying it though.

“A form of socialism - without the politics” Bill Shankly.

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Same here. I’ve paid in perpetuity since the start and at over the minimum, but I’m steadily feeling uneasier about doing so.
    I've contributed since day one, but my main reasons for doing so was to secure the clubs future by HSL having blocking shares. It feels like I would be better off buying stuff from the club shop with my money..at least that way I get something tangible in return. I'm edging towards cancelling too. At least Aberdeen fans get benefits for forking out, I'm struggling to see why I should continue if RG owns the lot.

I originally joined here to protect and get Petrie oot. Farmer and the 'tache are gone but I see no improvement. With Farmer you always felt he was benevolent towards the club, abeit at a price, but Gordon I am no so sure.

I will buy share directly. I do not trust HSL.

Quote Originally Posted by Turkish Green View Post
    I originally joined here to protect and get Petrie oot. Farmer and the 'tache are gone but I see no improvement. With Farmer you always felt he was benevolent towards the club, abeit at a price, but Gordon I am no so sure.

What's your issue with HSL? That's not a wide question, by the way, just curious as to they've lost (or never gained) your trust.

Quote Originally Posted by Turkish Green View Post

Sir Tom trusted Petrie, they are gone, is there any improvement as to what you expected when you wanted Rod out? What’s not to trust of HSL? Hardly conning anyone. Gordon needs to gain our trust.

The thought of donating money to a football club so we can, potentially, replace one overpaid player for another slightly more overpaid player, when just a few weeks ago we had a food bank collecting from outside the stadium is absurd. I understand that for some folk Hibs is the most important thing in their life or they have enough disposable income that they can make that emotional investment, and that's fair enough, but if I had money to give away it would be well down the list of my priorities. No doubt someone can pick holes in that logic but the entire concept is bonkers to me.

I still contribute to HSL even though I was less than impressed by Ron Gordon's decision to terminate any further sale of shares. That tells me he doesn't want any partners, it's clearly going to be his club run his way.

That's fine because it doesn't make him any different from most other club owners. But it also means that if things start to go wrong the buck should and will stop with him. I'm happy to put into a fund where the money goes to Hibs and that includes spending it on an indoor pitch or rail seats for a standing section and of course player wages, basically anything that benefits Hibs as a football club.

But I want to hear what Ron Gordon plans to do to improve Hibs on and off the park. We've had the platitudes about community and hoping to be better in the league and achieve our potential and all that. How is he 'Ron Gordon' going to make that happen? How is he going to increase the club's income? When ( NOT IF ) will the PA system be improved for example. That's what I want to hear from our new owner that justifies me giving the business he owns free money ... Concrete and tangible proposals. If we don't get them my current attitude of 'what's the point of Ron Gordon' will only grow.

@hibs.net private member Sudds_1's Avatar

I've got a ST, paid into HSL, bought shares direct, paid into the Hibernians, bought a stone, bought a tunnel tile etc etc.

I'll continue to buy my ST but beyond that I'm not sacrificing other things in life for Hibs anymore.
    Same for me....50+ years conttibuting. Season ticket for 30 of those plus 2 large stones. Labour od love forme but there comes a time when you look at the product....and ask why give more for the same old.....
    The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits

The trouble with referees is that they know the rules, but they do not know the game

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    I still contribute to HSL even though I was less than impressed by Ron Gordon's decision to terminate any further sale of shares. That tells me he doesn't want any partners, it's clearly going to be his club run his way.

That's fine because it doesn't make him any different from most other club owners. But it also means that if things start to go wrong the buck should and will stop with him. I'm happy to put into a fund where the money goes to Hibs and that includes spending it on an indoor pitch or rail seats for a standing section and of course player wages, basically anything that benefits Hibs as a football club.

But I want to hear what Ron Gordon plans to do to improve Hibs on and off the park. We've had the platitudes about community and hoping to be better in the league and achieve our potential and all that. How is he 'Ron Gordon' going to make that happen? How is he going to increase the club's income? When ( NOT IF ) will the PA system be improved for example. That's what I want to hear from our new owner that justifies me giving the business he owns free money ... Concrete and tangible proposals. If we don't get them my current attitude of 'what's the point of Ron Gordon' will only grow.
    The quality of the PA system seems to be a big bone of contention with a number of posters on here. Is it that bad? Are we missing out on some vital snippets of information? I'm up the back of the East and seems fine to me. The thought of the half time countdowns blaring out in stereo doesn't seem that much of a priority. Give me the likely 5 figure sum being spent on player budget anyday!

If 12,000 people donated £5 a month that's £720,000 a year. That would be a decent transfer kitty each year. Obviously the amounts would vary, some might donate more or their could be a lot less donating, I'm just trying to approximate going off season tickets.

For it to work however their would need to be full openness in regards to the amount the club have received each year.

I like others would be sceptical but I'd be willing to give it a go for 1 year and see then where we are.

Quote Originally Posted by hibee-boys View Post
    The quality of the PA system seems to be a big bone of contention with a number of posters on here. Is it that bad? Are we missing out on some vital snippets of information? I'm up the back of the East and seems fine to me. The thought of the half time countdowns blaring out in stereo doesn't seem that much of a priority. Give me the likely 5 figure sum being spent on player budget anyday!
    In the grand scheme of things the PA system is way down on the list of priorities. But then so is stopping weeds growing through the terraces. Does it really matter if the players kit has grass stains on it from last Saturday? Who cares if the pies aren't great? Ach, so there's a wee bit o' rust on the superstructure. Ach, a few broken seats, its not like we need them all is it. OK so the entry system isn't brilliant, you only miss the first 5 minutes at worst.

The point is that when you start ignoring the basic stuff like everybody in the stadium being able to hear the PA system, its symptomatic of deeper problems, or what could become deeper problems. There should be pride in everything this club does, from the mythical tea lady making sure the cups are clean, to the players turning up for training when they should. Start ignoring it and you have a club in decline ... simple as that.

No. The club's wasted (and continues to waste) what they've already had.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member JohnMcM's Avatar
    In reply only to the OP's original question - no.

Although we haven't actually been asked to give more, if we were asked by the club today, personally I would say no. My reason? I don't have enough information yet from the club to allow me to make a decision about finances that affect me and mine.

@hibs.net private member Green_one's Avatar
    No. Fool me once, shame on you.

I have made many donations to Hibs but I expect at least a pretence at something back (slate, brick, shares)

Not happy about how the share position was simply dropped in a void of no new strategy

If I was, it would have to be to get a particular player etc Need convincing, not responding to a begging bowl.