Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Hogg dropped the ball. End of story............................
    Frustrating as that was, it really wasn't the end of the story. Unfair to blame just Hogg for today - a collective failure to not give away penalties in both 22s. Agree with poster further up - coaching is atrocious!

Is there another country at the top level that makes so many basic errors?

Quote Originally Posted by CloudSquall View Post
    No and it's why we are one of the lowest ranked tier one nations. Some of the play was excellent but it was negated by the stupid errors and poor decision making at times. That was a real chance to beat Ireland today. They are no great shakes but they know how to win matches

I don't watch much rugby but I tend to enjoy it when I do.

I'd channel-flicked past the pre-game build-up when Guscott etc were giving it the usual so I got curious and decided to watch this.

Rarely have I ever enjoyed half a game of a sport I don't really "get" as I've enjoyed this.

Can't wait for the half time analysis.

Quote Originally Posted by CloudSquall View Post
    England are trying their best.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post

I'd channel-flicked past the pre-game build-up when Guscott etc were giving it the usual so I got curious and decided to watch this.

Rarely have I ever enjoyed half a game of a sport I don't really "get" as I've enjoyed this.

Stand by for gammon rage.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Why? I'm not a massive rugby follower but aren't they always either 6th or (occasionally 5th if we're worse than them), every single year?

Rugby suffers from predictable results at this level.
    More about their play than the score line. They’ve become a much better side in the last few years and put in some good displays in the World Cup. Nobodies expecting ourselves or Italy to achieve anything.

Eddie Jones was saying he wants to turn this team into the greatest ever team in rugby. Arrogant ****er that no-one in rugby has a good word about. Well suited as England coach. Arrogance beyond belief. Good to see them taking a pumping. Hope it continues into second half and next week as well

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Eddie Jones was saying he wants to turn this team into the greatest ever team in rugby. Arrogant ****er that no-one in rugby has a good word about. Well suited as England coach. Arrogance beyond belief. Good to see them taking a pumping. Hope it continues into second half and next week as well
    English exceptionalism at its finest.

Mon the cheese-eating surrender monkeys.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post

I get a fair amount of rugby but most analysis is gibberish to me 😂

Watch the use of TMO though, this is how to do it.

I would cheerfully strangle some of those dicks mugging behind Inverdale. Why is that a thing?

le french must surely be thinking back to last seasons game against the welsh and how they totally bottled it....could easily happen again here if england score next,only 10 points in it now

3 mins remaining, surely they can hold on now 😮

safe to watch leeds rhinos now😊
    Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 02-02-2020 at 04:55 PM.

Shaun Edwards has worked his magic on the French defence.

The French have some very talented youngsters coming through. Definitely the dark horses to look out for.

Quote Originally Posted by Just_Jimmy View Post
    I'm sick of saying it. It's piss poor coaching. We constantly mess up with turnovers and handling errors on the try line.

I cannot believe they chased Vern away for this charlatan.

Townsend's finished after this 6 nations. Long over due.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    I think Townsend is on borrowed time, but we made the same mistakes under Cotter as we are still making now. We've been doing it for 10 years and no coach has been able to sort it.

I thought that this was an interesting article, https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/51256178 I Townsend has a slightly better record as coach than Cotter seemingly, which was a surprise to me to be honest, maybe a case of rose tinted glasses when looking at Cotters record.

Quote Originally Posted by Sergio sledge View Post
    I think Townsend is on borrowed time, but we made the same mistakes under Cotter as we are still making now. We've been doing it for 10 years and no coach has been able to sort it.

I thought that this was an interesting article, https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/51256178 I Townsend has a slightly better record as coach than Cotter seemingly, which was a surprise to me to be honest, maybe a case of rose tinted glasses when looking at Cotters record.
    Cotter left Scotland in a much better state than he found them though. That improvement has at least stalled if not gone backwards.

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Cotter left Scotland in a much better state than he found them though. That improvement has at least stalled if not gone backwards.
    It's certainly stalled. We need to show some improvement or Townsend could be out after this tournament. I just don't think he's been as bad as people make out. The last six Nations and world cup were a disaster though.

With England and France at home and Ireland, Wales and Italy away this year it looks likely we’ll be playing Italy for the wooden spoon. In all probability 4 defeats and hopefully 1 win.

Quote Originally Posted by hfc rd View Post
    The French have some very talented youngsters coming through. Definitely the dark horses to look out for.
    I agree!

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Best of luck to Scotland today in the big Calcutta Cup clash v the Auld Enemy. I hope Stuart Hogg, (who is a big Hibby) has a good day with the boot and has wiped the soap from his hands after his embarrassing wee faux pas last week in Dublin!

It's going to be a big TV day for me today, I'm really looking forward to both our game and the Ireland v Wales clash.

Come on ENGLAND get intae them 😁

We could just about do it today. Need the pack to be really strong against what is a hugely powerful England. Stick to playing ball-in-hand rugby and we have a chance. If we resort to Townsends get-it/kick-it hoofball rugby we will be well beaten.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    Best of luck to Scotland today in the big Calcutta Cup clash v the Auld Enemy. I hope Stuart Hogg, (who is a big Hibby) has a good day with the boot and has wiped the soap from his hands after his embarrassing wee faux pas last week in Dublin!

It's going to be a big TV day for me today, I'm really looking forward to both our game and the Ireland v Wales clash.
    Same here, I'm only moving from the sofa for beer.

Fancy Wales to win today even though Ireland are formidable at home and I'm worried England are going to skelp us. Then we've the pleasure of watching the bairns beating the Jambos on council telly too.

All Ireland so far, pressure has got to tell soon.

5-0 but Sexton duck hooks the conversion attempt. 😁

Wales ahead with converted try

Professionalism in rugby union has resulted in the players increasingly questioning the referees' decisions. They've obviously learnt from their football counterparts unfortunately.

Why do they still insist on showing princess Anne shaking the hands of all players and officials? It's hardly riveting viewing, even for a rabid royalist.

We’re really struggling with England’s power. As the game goes on that’s doing us no favours