Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    I remember one of them went to Lochend or Restalrig.
    C5.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    C5.
    Not much room for passengers in one of them.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    What about the wee City Sprinter buses that were about around 80s/90s? Didn't last long.
    I had a mate who drove them, in summer it was like a greenhouse on wheels. He ended up driving into a bust stop, no injuries just dented pride

Off licences.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Italian run fish n chip shops.

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    The George Cinema
    Portobello Power Station
    Running for a Bus and jumping on the back as it pulled away.
    Jumping off a bus before it stopped.
    Bus tokens
    Bazooka Joes

Quote Originally Posted by Alfiembra View Post
    The George Cinema
    Portobello Power Station
    Running for a Bus and jumping on the back as it pulled away.
    Jumping off a bus before it stopped.
    Bus tokens
    Bazooka Joes
    All of that! Used to go to the George on saturday afternoon in the late 60's and muck about round the power station when we'd nothing else to do.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Italian run fish n chip shops.
    A "pizza pie" supper.

Heading down to Peebles or Hawick for a few drinks on a Sunday to watch the live Sunday game on ITV Borders or BBC England (pre Sky).

Cinderella Rockerfellas
    Mister Mustards
    Lord Toms
    Styx
    Biancos
    The Rutland

You can probably tell I was in my prime in the late 80s 😎

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post

Mister Mustards
    I was never out of the place. Never ever got a drink on the house though, Ahmed was a right tightwad

Fairbairns in Albert Street. You paid at the booth by the door. It was run like a military operation.

The Eldorado for the wrestling

The scabby la la in its final years a dirty coat brigade sort of establishment

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Fairbairns in Albert Street. You paid at the booth by the door. It was run like a military operation.
    My mum worked in there many moons ago.

The Penguin Cafe
    The Burnt Post
    Bull n Bush
    Henry J Beans
    Platform One
    Banks Shop in Corstorphine
    Raleigh Budgie, Chipper, Tomahawk, Chopper
    Grifter
    Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 27-12-2019 at 04:51 PM.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    "Raving Bonkers" boxing robots.

@hibs.net private member norwayhibs's Avatar
    Auf weidersehn pet on the telly. Hogmanay up at the Tron

Evel Knievel (both the real thing jumping buses at Wembley live on the TV as well as the toy).
    Eddie Kidd (went to see him at Saughton enclosure)
    Big Daddy, Giant Haystacks, Kendo Nagasaki.
    Blue Peter or Magpie?
    Guiders/bogies
    Homemade skateboards (made with a roller skate).

Catching bees and wasps on flowers in a used jam or coffee jar 😳

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    The red triangle on Ch4
    Special discretion required, I think was the tagline for those movies.

Gambit Chocolate bar

KP Sky divers

Texan bar

"Good afternoon grapple fans" (My que to go out)

Jigsaw (With Bigum the large tartan or some design socked foot)

Friday Night Live with Ben Elton

The Incredible Hulk with Bill Bixby

Sportsnight: With Harry Carpenter. Waiting to watch the highlights of a match played in England midweek only to find out it had been cancelled due to waterlogged pitch and they were going to instead show you figure skating from Helsinki.

The Chart Show hoping that the pish song did not get the "play" icon appear.

Norman Collier

Taking photos on holiday and having to wait a week to get them developed and the disappointment on how bad most are usually a finger in the way of lens etc.

Waiting several minutes for games to load on various computer systems.

Fine Fare

Tudor crisps

Various yellow pages advert " I were right about that saddle though"

Brooke Bond Orange Label

Games....

Crossfire

Rebound

Best man falls
    Japs and commandos

@hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar
    Aplogies if some of these have already been used.

The Rag and Bone man playing a tune on a trumpet.

Opening cans of beer with those wee metal tools we needed.

Woods the Baker on Albert Street.

Salvation Army Bands singing outside somebodies House.

One standard hairstyle for boys, (no wax/gel) :-0

Chippy suppers wrapped in newspaper
    Last edited by Eaststand; 28-12-2019 at 07:56 AM.

Old style door bells in tenement buildings, and when your bell was rung you went out onto the landing pulled up a lever that lifted the latch inside the stair door to let whoever rang the bell in. Our stair got renovated in the 80s so the bell, the wires, and the pulleys was there in place and working for 90 years until it got replaced by a intercom

Playing outside (without an adult)
    Uncontactable (all day) by your mum and dad
    Getting a row for using the phone
    No central heating
    Icicles hanging from gutters
    Frozen windows in your house
    Last edited by Hibby Bairn; 28-12-2019 at 10:37 AM.

First Team Breakthrough Seekyit's Avatar
    No central heating

Yes folks that was the late 70s
    Incredible thinking about that now. As soon as you learnt to cross the road you were off.
    Last edited by Seekyit; 28-12-2019 at 10:17 AM. Reason: Wrong bold..

No central heating
    And no double glazing. Houses must have been like igloos in the winter.

The store horse & cart delivering milk and I can confirm it wasn’t Sean Connery

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    The Penguin Cafe
    The Burnt Post
    Bull n Bush
    Henry J Beans
    Platform One
    Banks Shop in Corstorphine
    Raleigh Budgie, Chipper, Tomahawk, Chopper
    Grifter
    Before I graduated to a Grifter I had a Raleigh Strika. My teacher in P3 or P4 gave me a telling off for my school diary, saying it must be ‘Strike’ or ‘Striker’. She was not buying the fact it was a ‘Strika’.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    The number 1 and number 6 buses doing full circulars, same with the 32 and 52. Sitting on them all day with your mates because you were bored.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.