Hybrid View

Christmas messages....how ******* much?

Ours are being delivered by Tesco tonight. I finally managed to drag out of the wife how much it cost.......£325 on food! What the **** has she bought? And I bet that doesn't include bevvy.

And I notice it's being delivered when I'm at the match, so I can't go through it all. Nae wonder the number of marriage break ups increases at Christmas; she spends an absolute fortune every year.

Are you inviting 25 guests to dinner?!

We've spent £50 max for two including drink.

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    Are you inviting 25 guests to dinner?!

We've spent £50 max for two including drink.
    I have no idea what she's bought; it must be caviar and black truffles. During the game tonight, I will only be able to think about getting home and looking at the receipt. The fridge won't be big enough. This is why I dread Christmas.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I have no idea what she's bought; it must be caviar and black truffles. During the game tonight, I will only be able to think about getting home and looking at the receipt. The fridge won't be big enough. This is why I dread Christmas.
    Ignorance is bliss. You should never have asked how much.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Ignorance is bliss. You should never have asked how much.

Unless it's a Fortnum & Mason hamper, how is it possible to spend over £300 on messages? Women and Christmas are a deadly combination!

Wow that’s some bill a although we tend to drip feed stuff over the last month or so and put it away for Christmas so it all mounts up and haven’t really got a clue what we have spent with the rest to come tomorrow.

Ours are being delivered by Tesco tonight. I finally managed to drag out of the wife how much it cost.......£325 on food! What the **** has she bought? And I bet that doesn't include bevvy.

And I notice it's being delivered when I'm at the match, so I can't go through it all. Nae wonder the number of marriage break ups increases at Christmas; she spends an absolute fortune every year.
    Lovely lassie! Probably doesn't want a gruel based Christmas dinner. 😯

£325?!?! On food?! Jesus Christ, I’m pissed off on your behalf and I’m the frivolous one in the house.

A couple of bottles of decent French red. £28.

Good evening.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    A couple of bottles of decent French red. £28.

Good evening.

£14 for a bottle of wine? I really must be a skinflint!!

I can't drink red wine at all. It's an acquired taste. Making a wee start on the Guinness for the Man United match.

Remember, a bottle of 13% volume wine has the same alcohol content as 10.5 25ml measures of drinks like Gordon's gin or Smirnoff vodka.

I realise you can probably find a litre of vodka for £14, but good wine is better value than you might think.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Remember, a bottle of 13% volume wine has the same alcohol content as 10.5 25ml measures of drinks like Gordon's gin or Smirnoff vodka.

I realise you can probably find a litre of vodka for £14, but good wine is better value than you might think.
    Not with minimum pricing at 50p a unit

Interesting point, although I don't drink spirits.

I only drink one type of wine and it costs £5 per bottle, a steal.

One bottle a day keeps me going!

Bloody hell. Is that right? So half a bottle of wine is the same as 5 gins or vodkas?

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar

If I had been guessing that off the top of my head I’d have thought a bottle of wine was like 5 or 6 vodkas/gins. Deary dear.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    £325?!?! On food?! Jesus Christ, I’m pissed off on your behalf and I’m the frivolous one in the house.
    We have mair mince pies than Mr Kipling. I've never heard of some of the stuff that's been delivered. We usually have Christmas dinner at my sister's, but this year we're having a quiet dinner with just the two of us at home, which, apparently, justifies over 300 quid's worth. She's bought a turkey the size of an ostrich, though I no longer eat meat! In mitigation, there are 24 cans of Guinness included, which is very pleasing.

I have ten adults and a baby to feed xmas dinner to and my food bill didnt come near that. Thankfully

😂 At least you’ll get a decent bevvy for your money. Have a great one forget about the money it’s Christmaaaaaaaaaaaas.

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    For £300 I'd be looking for Jamie Oliver to come round and cook it included in the price.

Sounds like you'll be having turkey for the rest of the month.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby70 View Post
    For £300 I'd be looking for Jamie Oliver to come round and cook it included in the price.

Sounds like you'll be having turkey for the rest of the month
    The wife and the dug will . It's nut roast for me.

I live just down the road from Fort Kinnaird and the drive home has been horrendous for the last week. People driving like absolute maniacs, the skipping of the red lights at the Wisp crossroads is even worse than normal. There was a pretty bad accident there today, I'm only surprised it's taken so long.

Christmas spirit always seems in short supply from about the 20th onwards. I went a quick shop on Sunday morning for my part of the dinner, was busy but relatively stress free. All set now and glad I don't have to head to the shops again.

Next year I'm off to a country that doesn't have Christmas. The whole thing is a complete nonsense.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Next year I'm off to a country that doesn't have Christmas. The whole thing is a complete nonsense.
    Behave!

Bah humbug

Me and the Mrs popped out last night to get the food shop in (or the messages...) took about an hour but I reckon I could have done it in half that if I'd gone on my own. Spent a fortune on not too much, but for a short while at least, the fridge and freezer are rammed full.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Me and the Mrs popped out last night to get the food shop in (or the messages...) took about an hour but I reckon I could have done it in half that if I'd gone on my own. Spent a fortune on not too much, but for a short while at least, the fridge and freezer are rammed full.
    Going as a double act is a killer. End up with all sorts of stuff in the trolley that you never intended when you first went in.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    Going as a double act is a killer. End up with all sorts of stuff in the trolley that you never intended when you first went in.
    But at least you can an eye on what she's putting in the trolley and put some of it back

A warning to all: NEVER let her do the Christmas food online unless you're right there, watching her like a hawk!

Going back to alcohol by volume comparisons:

Vodka etc Size Strength

750 ml 37.5 abv

Wine 750 ml 13 abv for example

Does this mean that one measure of vodka is the same as 3 measures of wine?

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Going back to alcohol by volume comparisons:

Vodka etc Size Strength

750 ml 37.5 abv

Wine 750 ml 13 abv for example

Does this mean that one measure of vodka is the same as 3 measures of wine?
    I would say so. One glass of wine is of course an imprecise measurement.

One glass of wine could be 175ml or 250ml or a pint if you drink it like my mate does ;-)

So in your example one shot of 25ml vodka is equivalent to 75ml of wine. So roughly a large glass of wine is equivalent to about 3 of those vodkas?

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    The problem with spirits when at home is that you dont (or at least I dont) take a single measure each time. I could easily take whats regarded as a triple measure each time I pour myself a drink. I might only have 5 glasses of vodka/rum/jack Daniel's in a night but that's 15 single measures. I do wonder how the bottle is so empty the next morning right enough. 😆