Do we do last minute winners?

I started typing this post so it was about last minute winners against Celtic and teams called Rangers. I had it in mind to say “apart from one goal in 2016 in particular ...” but realised that wasn’t right, either. Longest 1.5 mins of my life ever.

And then I thought about our late winners in general.

Statistically last-minute winners are few and far between, but I feel we’ve been on the receiving end of a few. When have we dished them out? Commons at Falkirk and Lavety at Morton are all I can think of (and much as I enjoyed both, they were scored in a division we should never have been in in the first place).

When have we won in the actual last minute?

Carlisle in pre season.

Ross Caldwell vs Hearts springs to mind!

Stephen Glass v Aberdeen
    Garry O against Hearts
    And last but not least Gary Smith with a header against Dunfermline I think.
    Oh aye, the Matty Jack game.

Quote Originally Posted by Vault Boy View Post
    Carlisle in pre season.

Ross Campbell vs Hearts springs to mind!
    Caldwell

I read Reilly was good for a few.

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    I mind King Dom scoring the only goal of the game in stoppage time against QoTS in the championship. They were beeling because one of their players was feigning injury (they were time-wasting all game) and we went up and scored.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Caldwell
    Can't even blame a Saturday night bevvie for that one

I remember Malonga scoring in the 93rd minute when we beat QOTS in the Championship 15/16 season. Following season Keatings scored a last minute winner v Raith.

I also have a memory of Boyle scoring an abaolute screamer v Livingston, full volley from about 30 yards but think it was a bit earlier than the last minute.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Galbraith at Parkhead.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Riordan at Motherwell

Quote Originally Posted by givescotlandfreedom View Post
    I mind King Dom scoring the only goal of the game in stoppage time against QoTS in the championship. They were beeling because one of their players was feigning injury (they were time-wasting all game) and we went up and scored.
    That was good. A wee laddie ran the length of the pitch to celebrate the goal and to goad the Queen of the South supporters. That's what I remember but I might be wrong.

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    Alan Gordon, last minute extra time winner Drybourgh cup final.

Kamberi against Tripollis.
    Last edited by green with envy; 07-12-2019 at 10:46 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Stephen Glass v Aberdeen
    Garry O against Hearts
    And last but not least Gary Smith with a header against Dunfermline I think.
    Oh aye, the Matty Jack game.
    Dundee United for the Smith header. Don't think Glass was last minute, if it's the volley you're thinking of.

Cummings Vs Cowden, 3-2 win

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Our ten most recent injury-time wins in all competitions are:

1. Daryl Horgan (Ross County, home, League Cup 2nd round, 2018-19)
    2. Florian Kamberi (Asteras, home, EL 2nd qualifying round first leg, 2018-19)
    3. James Keatings (Raith Rovers, home, Championship, 2016-17)
    4. James Keatings (Falkirk, home, Championship, 2016-17)
    5. David Gray (Rangers, neutral, Scottish Cup final, 2015-16)
    6. Dominique Malonga (QOS, home, Championship, 2015-16)
    7. Jason Cummings (Rangers, home, Championship playoff semi-final 2nd leg, 2014-15)
    8. Jason Cummings (Cowdenbeath, home, Championship, 2014-15)
    9. Sam Stanton (Dumbarton, home, League Cup 2nd round, 2014-15)
    10. Ross Caldwell (Hearts, away, SPL, 2012-13)

Our ten most recent injury-time losses in all competitions are:

1. Steven MacLean (St Johnstone, home, Premiership, 2017-18)
    2. Bob McHugh (Falkirk, away, Championship playoff semi-final 2nd leg, 2015-16)
    3. David McCracken (Falkirk, away, Championship, 2014-15)
    4. Kevin Moon (St Johnstone, home, SPL, 2010-11)
    5. Scott Boyd (Ross County, away, Scottish Cup quarter-final, 2009-10)
    6. Scott Severin (Aberdeen, away, SPL, 2006-07)
    7. Stephen Hughes (Rangers, home, SPL, 2003-04)
    8. Johan Mjallby (Celtic, away, SPL, 2002-03)
    9. Phil Stamp (Hearts, home, SPL, 2002-03)
    10. Steve Lovell (Dundee, away, SPL, 2002-03)

We've conceded a lot of losing goals right before injury time (i.e. on the 90th minute) but very few with seconds remaining. Honourable mentions go to Alex Schalk (Ross County LC winner on 90th minute) and Tony Andreu (no comment).

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Our ten most recent injury-time wins in all competitions are:

1. Daryl Horgan (Ross County, home, League Cup 2nd round, 2018-19)
    2. Florian Kamberi (Asteras, home, EL 2nd qualifying round first leg, 2018-19)
    3. James Keatings (Raith Rovers, home, Championship, 2016-17)
    4. James Keatings (Falkirk, home, Championship, 2016-17)
    5. David Gray (Rangers, neutral, Scottish Cup final, 2015-16)
    6. Dominique Malonga (QOS, home, Championship, 2015-16)
    7. Jason Cummings (Rangers, home, Championship playoff semi-final 2nd leg, 2014-15)
    8. Jason Cummings (Cowdenbeath, home, Championship, 2014-15)
    9. Sam Stanton (Dumbarton, home, League Cup 2nd round, 2014-15)
    10. Ross Caldwell (Hearts, away, SPL, 2012-13)

Our ten most recent injury-time losses in all competitions are:

1. Steven MacLean (St Johnstone, home, Premiership, 2017-18)
    2. Bob McHugh (Falkirk, away, Championship playoff semi-final 2nd leg, 2015-16)
    3. David McCracken (Falkirk, away, Championship, 2014-15)
    4. Kevin Moon (St Johnstone, home, SPL, 2010-11)
    5. Scott Boyd (Ross County, away, Scottish Cup quarter-final, 2009-10)
    6. Scott Severin (Aberdeen, away, SPL, 2006-07)
    7. Stephen Hughes (Rangers, home, SPL, 2003-04)
    8. Johan Mjallby (Celtic, away, SPL, 2002-03)
    10. Steve Lovell (Dundee, away, SPL, 2002-03)

We've conceded a lot of losing goals right before injury time (i.e. on the 90th minute) but very few with seconds remaining. Honourable mentions go to Alex Schalk (Ross County LC winner on 90th minute) and Tony Andreu (no comment).
    Kevin Kyle at Tynecastle?

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Kevin Kyle at Tynecastle?
    86th minute. We had plenty time left for Callum Murray to deny us a stonewall penalty.

86th minute. We had plenty time left for Craig Thomson to deny us a stonewall penalty.

That was a sore one, free header at the back post...

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    That was a sore one, free header at the back post...
    Yup.

Late losses to Hearts (with 10 mins remaining + injury time) the last ten years are:

Aaron Hickey (84th, 2019-20)
    Don Cowie (87th, 2017-18)
    Andy Webster, the other player (83rd and injury time, 2011-12)
    Kevin Kyle (86th, 2010-11)
    David Obua (89th, 2019-10)

Ours in the same time period are:

Liam Craig (83rd, 2013-14)
    Ross Caldwell (injury time, 2012-13)
    David Wotherspoon (84th, 2012-13)

Yup.

Late losses to Hearts (with 10 mins remaining + injury time) the last ten years are:

David Wotherspoon (84th, 2012-13
    )

Depressing isn't it...

I was right in line with that in the West Stand, an absolute sickener.

On a better note my favourite last gasp Hibs goal was Riordan's vs Motherwell, ER went ****ing tonto on this one, the FF stand was mayhem.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/foot...em/4534450.stm

One for the “auld gits” on here.

One that always sticks in my mind was at Tynecastle, and in the days before multiple subs, a goal scored in injury time by Alan McGraw, who had returned to the field after being carried off on a stretcher 15 minutes earlier, when Hibs beat Dundee 2-1 in the League Cup Semi Final in 1968.
    I’m sure my minds playing tricks now with ‘old age’ but I recollect he came back on with a really heavy bandage that almost straightened his leg making it almost impossible to run. However, he somehow managed to slide in at the back post to slide in that winner.

So nearly , Paco Luna v AEK Athens birth is SOL

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Yup.

David Wotherspoon (84th, 2012-13)
    I’ll go back a wee bit further

For them - Wayne “bl00dy” Foster - Cup game mid 90’s

For us - Garry O'Connor - League 2003

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Dundee United for the Smith header. Don't think Glass was last minute, if it's the volley you're thinking of.
    Apart from that it wasnae a bad effort tho

It was the volley aye, probably around exactly this time of year too.

Apart from SDG my all time fav must be James Keatings versus Falkirk at Easter Road scored in the 92nd minute it was almost Messiesque in its execution

It was a GIRFUY to our arch nemesis Falkirk and the whole Stadium including Peter Houston knew that HIBS were finally going up to their rightful place

Quote Originally Posted by hibby6270 View Post
    One for the “auld gits” on here.

One that always sticks in my mind was at Tynecastle, and in the days before multiple subs, a goal scored in injury time by Alan McGraw, who had returned to the field after being carried off on a stretcher 15 minutes earlier, when Hibs beat Dundee 2-1 in the League Cup Semi Final in 1968.
    I’m sure my minds playing tricks now with ‘old age’ but I recollect he came back on with a really heavy bandage that almost straightened his leg making it almost impossible to run. However, he somehow managed to slide in at the back post to slide in that winner.
    Spot on ✅
    This is how it feels

First Team Breakthrough Hibs1969's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Apart from SDG my all time fav must be James Keatings versus Falkirk at Easter Road scored in the 92nd minute it was almost Messiesque in its execution

It was a GIRFUY to our arch nemesis Falkirk and the whole Stadium including Peter Houston knew that HIBS were finally going up to their rightful place

100% agree. That was a superb goal right at the death and was sweet, sweet payback for the pain we’d endured against that lot over the previous 3 or 4 years from the cup semi to the play off semi and various league games too. It says a lot about Houston and how he got them punching well above their weight at that time when you see how far they’ve fallen now. For me they were a far tougher nut to crack than any other team during our spell in the championship than any other team we played against, including Hearts, Dundee Utd and Rangers.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

I had a perfect view of that one from the West, and it was a thing of beauty.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.