Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Alan McGregor when at Dumfy had to play Hibs by himself during the Mowbray era.

We massacred them but it was only 3-0 or 3-1 thanks to him.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Best performance I have ever seen at Easter Road was by Billy Bremner at Sweeper that night

Absolutely outstanding first class
    Agree with that.

Quote Originally Posted by telford hibbee View Post
    Agree with that.
    Some real conspiracy theory stories on line about this game. Leeds wanting to lose, not trying, etc. Utter bull. This was Turnbull’s Tornadoes in their pomp against the legendary Leeds Revie outfit.

I was only 7 but still remember getting herded into the East Terracing with my Dad with a crowd over 35,000. I remember cheering when Gordon scored but chalked off, apparently incorrectly, by the ref. Also Pat’s missed pen.

Wish there was some TV footage of this game. There is a couple of minutes of the first leg at Elland Road on YouTube.

Great stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibees1973 View Post
    Some real conspiracy theory stories on line about this game. Leeds wanting to lose, not trying, etc. Utter bull. This was Turnbull’s Tornadoes in their pomp against the legendary Leeds Revie outfit.

I was only 7 but still remember getting herded into the East Terracing with my Dad with a crowd over 35,000. I remember cheering when Gordon scored but chalked off, apparently incorrectly, by the ref. Also Pat’s missed pen.

Wish there was some TV footage of this game. There is a couple of minutes of the first leg at Elland Road on YouTube.

Great stuff.
    I spent a couple of drunken hours in Billy Bremner's company after Gordon Hunters testimonial. He never said anything about betting on Hibs but confirmed that Leeds were not that keen on the UEFA cup that season. Leeds real focus was on the league, which they won. However he said once they were on the pitch their natural instincts kicked in & they played their hearts out. He agreed we should have won & said he hadn't realised how well he had played, just was completely relaxed. He was great company, happy to chat all things footy until he pretty much passed out! A memorable night. PS, Harry Potter was also there for a while & he was also good company.

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    I spent a couple of drunken hours in Billy Bremner's company after Gordon Hunters testimonial. He never said anything about betting on Hibs but confirmed that Leeds were not that keen on the UEFA cup that season. Leeds real focus was on the league, which they won. However he said once they were on the pitch their natural instincts kicked in & they played their hearts out. He agreed we should have won & said he hadn't realised how well he had played, just was completely relaxed. He was great company, happy to chat all things footy until he pretty much passed out! A memorable night. PS, Harry Potter was also there for a while & he was also good company.
    Great post.

Anyone else just go to Easter Road with the green googles oan and just have eyes only for the green and white sleeves?

I very rarely notice an opposition player unless they are truly exceptional and stand out like a sore thumb

A terrible thing to admit to I agree

A case in point the already mentioned Billy Bremners virtuoso performance for Leeds Utd or that brilliant Brazilian Altafini coming on as a second half substitute for Juventus to destroy our dreams and get some revenge for Napoli

I also remember watching countless brilliant goalkeeping displays against the Tornadoes as it was always constant total HIBS pressure and just a matter of time before we scored

Bobby Clark a great Aberdeen goalkeeper came to Easter Road having not conceded for 1200 minutes a British record at the time it didn’t last

Other great goalkeeping performances I remember Roddy Mackenzie Ernie McGarr Hugh Sproat Hamish MacAlpine Alan Rough Gordon Marshall Jnr and Anti Niemi
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 14-10-2019 at 09:51 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by where'stheslope View Post
    Maybe not the greatest goalkeeper, but certainly one of the greatest performances by jamie Macdonald for Hertz in the cup game!
    He stopped shots he had no right to, thought we should have won it by 3 or 4 goals but for his performance!!
    We shouldve been about 5-0 up in the first 25 that night. The one he saved onto the bar from a Robertson shot was ridiculous.

Best save ive seen at ER was a hibs goalie. Marciano v Dunfermline in the championship. May have been a double save actually

Quote Originally Posted by worcesterhibby View Post
    Oh come on ..
    Looks quite the punk there. Punk as in Eddie and the Hot Rods, or Doctor Feelgood, that is.

Anyone else just go to Easter Road with the green googles oan and just have eyes only for the green and white sleeves?

I very rarely notice an opposition player unless they are truly exceptional and stand out like a sore thumb

A case in point the already mentioned Billy Bremners virtuoso performance for Leeds Utd or that brilliant Brazilian Altafini coming on as a second half substitute for Juventus to destroy our dreams and get some revenge for Napoli

I also remember watching countless brilliant goalkeeping displays against the Tornadoes as it was always constant total HIBS pressure and just a matter of time before we scored

Bobby Clark a great Aberdeen goalkeeper came to Easter Road having not conceded for 1200 minutes a British record at the time it didn’t last

Other great goalkeeping performances I remember Roddy Mackenzie Ernie McGarr Hugh Sproat Hamish MacAlpine Alan Rough Gordon Marshall Jnr and Anti Niemi
    The game where Clark’s shut out run ended was more famous for the return of the Fabulous Baker Boy! Stanton ended the run and Joe brought the house down with the second, from hazy memory.

Recall a game vs Ayr at ER with Sproat in goals. During an injury break crowd started a rousing chorus of “Hugh Sproat...you’re a w*nker, you’re a w*nker” to which the keeper turned and showed us how to do it. He got a massive cheer. Suspect he was exaggerating for effect

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyisGod View Post
    The game where Clark’s shut out run ended was more famous for the return of the Fabulous Baker Boy! Stanton ended the run and Joe brought the house down with the second, from hazy memory.

Recall a game vs Ayr at ER with Sproat in goals. During an injury break crowd started a rousing chorus of “Hugh Sproat...you’re a w*nker, you’re a w*nker” to which the keeper turned and showed us how to do it. He got a massive cheer. Suspect he was exaggerating for effect
    👍🏾

Tin hat on but Craig Gordon when he was at Hearts. Saved them from a few hidings. One save from Rob Jones stands out. Breathtaking

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Cataplana View Post
    Looks quite the punk there. Punk as in Eddie and the Hot Rods, or Doctor Feelgood, that is.
    Don’t be dismissing either of those now. Barrie Masters and Wilko were as punk as anyone and if you were around you’d know that.
    Like I’ve said already, this picture was taken when he’d clearly mellowed. He’s got a Motherwell shirt on for a start....I think he’s probably got into Zappa by then if not disco. Or porn of course.

I thought Roddy was a very fine keeper...., then he came to Hibs and become the worst keeper ever. Lost 4 against Dumbarton then another 4 against them. Then he was dropped.

Quote Originally Posted by southsider View Post
    I thought Roddy was a very fine keeper...., then he came to Hibs and become the worst keeper ever. Lost 4 against Dumbarton then another 4 against them. Then he was dropped.
    Yip!

Always played well against us especially for Airdrieonians 2002

Maybe hated green😁
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 14-10-2019 at 04:48 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by southsider View Post
    We scored 19 goals against Roddy in season 72/73 & signed him after that!! Quite bizarre by Turnbull really.

Yip!

Maybe hated green😁
    Think you’re mixing up the Roddys?

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Think you’re mixing up the Roddys?
    Naw Roddy Mackenzie played for Airdrieonians born 1945

There was also his Jambo namesake born 1975

Yip!

Maybe hated green��
    Your mixing up right enough Billy. He wisnae still picking them out in 2002. You’re giving the auld Airdrie their Sunday name aren’t you?

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Your mixing up right enough Billy. He wisnae still picking them out in 2002.
    Naw that was when old Airdrieonians folded our auld nemesis full of ex Jambo hacking bassas

Don’t be dismissing either of those now. Barrie Masters and Wilko were as punk as anyone and if you were around you’d know that.
    Like I’ve said already, this picture was taken when he’d clearly mellowed. He’s got a Motherwell shirt on for a start....I think he’s probably got into Zappa by then if not disco. Or porn of course.
    Correct. Both great live bouncing bands from that era with the right attitude. I got a real kicking at the Eddie and The Hot Rods March ‘78 Usher Hall gig from bouncers my dads age.Just for dancing on the seats when Barrie and the boys came on. Blood, ripped leather jacket the lot. Psychotic auld tossers. Unlike the Odeon, they weren’t used to punk fans.
    That photo is more Beefheart than Zappa.

Quote Originally Posted by worcesterhibby View Post
    Oh come on ..
    Groucho Marx meets Des Lynam

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    Correct. Both great live bouncing bands from that era with the right attitude. I got a real kicking at the Eddie and The Hot Rods March ‘78 Usher Hall gig from bouncers my dads age.Just for dancing on the seats when Barrie and the boys came on. Blood, ripped leather jacket the lot. Psychotic auld tossers. Unlike the Odeon, they weren’t used to punk fans.
    That photo is more Beefheart than Zappa.

Quote Originally Posted by CMurdoch View Post
    Groucho Marx meets Des Lynam
    Uninspiring, lacks much humour. Geez another.

Bob Carolgees!

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Great thread this.

Before my Hibs visits but I'd go for Dino Zoff.