Thread: stockdale

stockdale

With all the pressure on heckingbottom just wondered what people's thoughts on Robbie stockdale were and whether he has been any good. Know he was at Sunderland and they haven't exactly been great when he was there.

Apart from who he is and who played for I know very little of him and his coaching ability.

How much Stockdale himself is responsible for the inept performances we have witnessed this season is open to debate.
    So, it is difficult to know if he is doing a good or a bad job.
    Last edited by Hi Heid Yin; 30-09-2019 at 05:58 PM.

Assume a decent coach and communicates well in interviews I have seen.

He came across well in the Sunderland documentary on Netflix.

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    He came across well in the Sunderland documentary on Netflix.
    Yup but is he like heckingbottom just good at talking the talk?

@hibs.net private member cameronw-hfc's Avatar
    Got a few fans that are Sunderland fans and all spoke pretty highly of him. Meant to be a good coach and decent guy, seems about right for the job he's in, wouldnt imagine he'd be any more than a good coach however.

Its impossible for fans to really judge an assistant manager I think unless you directly ask the players. What's usually telling is how hard previous clubs try to keep them and how sought after they are when they leave. Stockdale seems to be held in high regard and at the moment that's about all we know.

Gamertag: Rehabacrossthesea Wii Code: 4040
    His interviews seem good but he could, of course, just be spraffing a whole load of rabbit droppings.

Hecky has been known to do just that very thing!

I like the way he come across in interviews.

Quote Originally Posted by chrisski33 View Post
    With all the pressure on heckingbottom just wondered what people's thoughts on Robbie stockdale were and whether he has been any good. Know he was at Sunderland and they haven't exactly been great when he was there.
    How about telling us your thoughts.

Years ago he took my young brother's place in the Marske under-13s cricket team.
    Possibly irrelevant to his football coaching ability though.

Mates a Sunderland fan, don’t think they have too much good to say about him.

Quote Originally Posted by macca70 View Post
    Mates a Sunderland fan, don’t think they have too much good to say about him.
    They don't have too much good to say about anyone apart from Kevin Phillips, Jermaine Defoe and Ian Porterfield.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Seems like he has brought the loser mentality evident at Sunderland to Easter Road with him.

@hibs.net private member DarlingtonHibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    Seems like he has brought the loser mentality evident at Sunderland to Easter Road with him.
    Let's stick with the positives 🙄🙄🙄

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    Time for bed for you.

@hibs.net private member DarlingtonHibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Swedish hibee View Post
    Time for bed for you.

Quote Originally Posted by cameronw-hfc View Post
    Got a few fans that are Sunderland fans and all spoke pretty highly of him. Meant to be a good coach and decent guy, seems about right for the job he's in, wouldnt imagine he'd be any more than a good coach however.
    I find that bit a wee bit hard to understand. good coach but...… this reminds me of a comment my best mate said. .. Mowbray, who the flip is Mowbray?/ while he was a coach at Ipswich if I recall,? and became Hibs manager. turned oot not so bad

one of our most recent "coaches" being a guy with the tracksuit on all day, was the guy I wanted to get the Manager's job at Hibernian but they chose Heckinbottom. Undecided on that one.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    How about telling us your thoughts.
    Read the last line and you will get a hint of what I think!
    Looking at whilst he was at Sunderland performances weren't great and he was there under Grayson and Coleman. So maybe a common theme as our performnces haven't been great.
    What about your thoughts ancient?