Which Hibs legends were in the pitch at half time today?

I missed the announcement so which Hibs legends were in the pitch at half time today?

GOD himself, Alex Cropley, john Brownlie, Alan Sneddon, Gordon Rae , jim McArthur, Alan Rough and i think is was Jim Black but not sure.

Quote Originally Posted by Stantons Angel View Post
    GOD himself, Alex Cropley, john Brownlie, Alan Sneddon, Gordon Rae , jim McArthur, Alan Rough and i think is was Jim Black but not sure.
    Mickey Weir. And I thought the other was Willie Murray ??

And Mickey W as well!

Jim Herriot

Quote Originally Posted by Crammond Hibee View Post
    Jim Herriot
    Loved Jim Herriot...nae gloves for him
    ..and the mud under the eyes on sunny days ...

Is that David Gray in leg brace?

Who is the guy third from the right standing behind Crops and Mickey?

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Who is the guy third from the right standing behind Crops and Mickey?
    I think it’s Willie Murray...might be wrong though ....

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    Loved Jim Herriot...nae gloves for him
    ..and the mud under the eyes on sunny days ...
    Think it was more for matches under the floodlights but maybe sunny days too.

Couldn’t hear a word in the East Stand.

Shame as would have been good to have heard what was said.

Sooner they sort the PA system the better.

I think it’s Willie Murray...might be wrong though ....
    Ha Ha!

The Willie Murray I remember was a wee skinny waif of a laddie wi a wedged haircut and looked as though a strong wind would blow him over

My heart used to sink when the PA Announcer used to say before kick off
    “ George Best has a virus today folks so No 7 will be Wiiillllllliiieeee Murrrrrrrraaayyyyyyy!” to a crescendo of boos 😁

Quote Originally Posted by NGH View Post
    I missed the announcement so which Hibs legends were in the pitch at half time today?
    None the grass has always been there.

Ha Ha!

The Willie Murray I remember was a wee skinny waif of a laddie wi a wedged haircut and looked as though a strong wind would blow him over

My heart used to sink when the PA Announcer used to say before kick off
    “ George Best has a virus today folks so No 7 will be Wiiillllllliiieeee Murrrrrrrraaayyyyyyy!” to a crescendo of boos 😁
    To be fair I don`t remember Willie Murray being booed . He was very fast and I think a Hibbie . For a while Turnbull had a decent post Tornadoes attack with Murray on right wing , Willie Patterson ( 17 second goal v Hearts ? ) , Alex McGhee
    ( ? ) and Tony Higgins . In those days there was only one sub so players like Willie Murray didn`t get much chance .

Willie Murray is most definitely a Hibs fan who still goes to home games. It was great to see him out on the pitch today.

Can someone give the L to R names as I recognise only about five. I played rugby against Jim MacArthur in Kirkcaldy many years ago but can't tell which one he is. Boy, haven't we all changed.

Quote Originally Posted by The Pointer View Post
    Can someone give the L to R names as I recognise only about five. I played rugby against Jim MacArthur in Kirkcaldy many years ago but can't tell which one he is. Boy, haven't we all changed.
    He was my PE teacher and I'm struggling to spot him too. Roughie is wearing well and Cyclops is easy to spot.

I think that's Jim McArthur to the right of Rough (as you view the picture)

I was down getting my pie at halftime but I’m sure Alex Edwards’ name was mentioned by the announcer guy. Can’t make him out in the pic though.

Quote Originally Posted by mim View Post
    That was the only one I thought it could be but he looks much older than I thought he would.

Quote Originally Posted by mim View Post

McArthur is wearing the black coat and has white hair and a large appearance.

Quote Originally Posted by IberianHibernian View Post
    To be fair I don`t remember Willie Murray being booed . He was very fast and I think a Hibbie . For a while Turnbull had a decent post Tornadoes attack with Murray on right wing , Willie Patterson ( 17 second goal v Hearts ? ) , Alex McGhee
    ( ? ) and Tony Higgins . In those days there was only one sub so players like Willie Murray didn`t get much chance .
    My post was intended to be tongue in cheek and should be taken that way

I had the greatest respect for Willie Murray as a player

He was a very good player for HIBS

OK the game I was referring to was a Scottish Cup tie versus Ayr United on a Sunday 18th February 1980. 15000 of us had paid our hard earned to get into the ground and the Stadium announcer announced that there was no George Best ( He was otherwise engaged with the French Rugby team and if other rumours are to be believed Miss World) The boos around me of course were not for Willie Murray but for George Best who had let down the fans and the club once again
    George Best was sacked in the morning and we won the tie 2-0 after an excellent performance from Willie Murray
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 29-09-2019 at 06:30 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by The Pointer View Post
    John Brownlie, David Gray, Gordon Rae, Pat, Roughie, Jim McArthur, Alan Sneddon, Alex Cropley, Willie Murray, Mickey Weir, Jim Herriot.

Oh and Sue 👍

Quote Originally Posted by GreenCastle View Post
    Couldn’t hear a word in the East Stand.

Shame as would have been good to have heard what was said.

Sooner they sort the PA system the better.
    Same in the West Upper shocking

Just taking a minute to remind myself how good John Brownlie was...great defensively, but also the flair of a great midfielder...can’t think of a modern player like him to illustrate it to younger fans ...anyone help out ??

Think Andrew Robertson but ten times better

Oh those cavalier galloping runs up the right wing best illustrated League Cup Quarter Final at Broomfield 6-2 versus Airdrie

At his height he was better than Sandy Jardine and Danny McGrain

Legend

My post was intended to be tongue in cheek and should be taken that way

I had the greatest respect for Willie Murray as a player

He was a very good player for HIBS

OK the game I was referring to was a Scottish Cup tie versus Ayr United on a Sunday 18th February 1980. 15000 of us had paid our hard earned to get into the ground and the Stadium announcer announced that there was no George Best ( He was otherwise engaged with the French Rugby team and if other rumours are to be believed Miss World) The boos around me of course were not for Willie Murray but for George Best who had let down the fans and the club once again
    George Best was sacked in the morning and we won the tie 2-0 after an excellent performance from Willie Murray
    Sure Besties stand in was Duncan Lambie that day, not WM....

Quote Originally Posted by leith lynx View Post
    Sure Besties stand in was Duncan Lambie that day, not WM....
    Duncan Lambie at that time was being utilised as a left back

The wingers that day were Ralph Callachan on the right and Willie Murray on the left

Duncan Lambie did score that day

Source: fitbastats

McArthur,Brazil Lambie,Rae Paterson and McNamara Callachan Macleod Higgins Campbell and Murray sub Duncan

Lambie had started the three previous games as left back
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 29-09-2019 at 09:16 AM.

Like Gareth Bale when he played full-back. Still haven't seen a better full back than John at his peak.
    After the 7-0 game Hibs were top of the league and still in the quarter final of the European Cup Winners Cup and Tom Hart was in the papers saying we were going to win both.

We then beat East Fife but John suffered a broken leg and Mickey Edwards who had been kicked black and blue all afternoon threw the ball away in frustration and the ref couldn't wait to book him.

Mickey's disciplinary record wasn't the best so he was given a 56 day (8 week) ban and the Tornadoes never played together again.

If both John and Mickey had been available I've no doubt that we'd have won both trophies.

Imagine that these days.

Great to see so many of that wonderful team yesterday and at Pat's celebration at the Usher Hall