Happy Birthday Jimmy O'Rourke

73 today.

Jimmy would run through a brick wall for the Hibs.

How we could do with someone of his ilk today.

Happy Hibby Birthday Sir 🥃
    Jimmy,Jimmy O'Rourke everyone knows his name..

Wink

Happy birthday Jimmy. You gave me some great memories. I wish we had someone like you now.

Happy birthday, Corkie

@hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar
    Happy birthday to a great Hibby and a true legend

We do have someone like him now, Kamberi

Goals per game
    O'Rourke - 0.375
    Kamberi - 0.4

@hibs.net private member surreyhibbie's Avatar
    Happy Birthday Jimmy

one of the greats.
    Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post

Goals per game
    O'Rourke - 0.375
    Kamberi - 0.4
    In 1st 63 games Jimmy scored 53 goals
    Kamberi - 66 games and scored 27 goals.
    No comparison !!! Couldn't lace the wee man's boots.

jimmy
    jimmy o'rourke

73 is also when a massacre took place in scottish football, january 1973 that is

happy birthday Jimmy

@hibs.net private member JohnMcM's Avatar
    Happy Birthday Jimmy. Thanks for the memories.

Goals per game
    O'Rourke - 0.375
    Kamberi - 0.4

Oh dear!

Wee Corky

10 x hatricks for HIBS

Did you see Jimmy ORourke play?
    (Serious question)

Wee Jimmy didnae hobble aboot the park like a big Jessie he made things happen

No comparison

Dearie me!

Quote Originally Posted by Norrieg View Post
    In 1st 63 games Jimmy scored 53 goals
    Kamberi - 66 games and scored 27 goals.
    No comparison !!! Couldn't lace the wee man's boots.
    Definitely not the case. He scored 54 goals in his first 209 games for Hibs.

He had 2 great seasons after that.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

Oh dear!

Wee Corky

10 x hatricks for HIBS

Did you see Jimmy ORourke play?
    (Serious question)

Wee Jimmy didnae hobble aboot the park like a big Jessie he made things happen

No comparison

Dearie me!
    I didn't see him play no. His goal scoring record aside from his last 2 seasons at Hibs was nothing special though. Maybe he done more than that for the team, I don't know.

I cant argue as I don't know the facts however when JO' knocks in his first in the 7-0 game the commentator says that is his 21st goal of the season on 1/1/1973

@hibs.net private member Biggie's Avatar
    I didn't see him play no. His goal scoring record aside from his last 2 seasons at Hibs was nothing special though. Maybe he done more than that for the team, I don't know.
    He was a hell of a player mate....Jimmy O'Rourke, scored the winner in the league cup final, scored in the 0-7 game, scored European hat-tricks. Him and Alan Gordon up front was a joy to watch.
    "I don't have any regrets about not moving during my playing career. I was born a Hibee, my dad was a Hibee, I will stay a Hibee and I'll die a Hibee." -Lawrie Reilly

Nothing special?

You are definitely at it or you have lost your marbles

Last two “ nothing special” seasons:

1972/73 played 47 scored 34
    1973/74 played 28 scored 19

Totals for both :

Jimmy ORourke played 325 scored 122. 37.5%

Flo Kamberi played 66 scored 27 41%

If florian kamberi was anything like Jimmy o Rourke we'd be nearer the top of the league and probably not calling for hecks head. Comparing them is like comparing me - fat balding 60+ - with a Greek God.

Sorry misread your post

PRIOR to his incredibly successful last two seasons Jimmy ORourke played 250 scored 69 still decent

As others have said it is an unfair comparison because Wee Jimmy was light years ahead of Flo

It is like comparing me with Joe Harper well I suppose we are both the same shape

You will just have to trust us oldies

In 52 years watching Scottish football I can't think of a better front two than Jimmy and Alan G.
    For a spell in 1972 they were unplayable.
    I like Flo but not in the same league as Jimmy.

My all time favourite Hibs player, got to know him pretty well over the years and Hibs through and through. Happy birthday Corkie.

Sorry misread your post

PRIOR to his incredibly successful last two seasons Jimmy ORourke played 250 scored 69 still decent

As others have said it is an unfair comparison because Wee Jimmy was light years ahead of Flo

It is like comparing me with Joe Harper well I suppose we are both the same shape

You will just have to trust us oldies
    What was he lightyears better than Flo at? Genuinely asking. It wasn't goalscoring.

Quote Originally Posted by Biggie View Post
    He was a hell of a player mate....Jimmy O'Rourke, scored the winner in the league cup final, scored in the 0-7 game, scored European hat-tricks. Him and Alan Gordon up front was a joy to watch.
    I don't doubt it, his record was very impressive when surrounded by the other great players in the tornadoes. As I've said, it was nothing special before then. About 8 goals a season.

Jimmy played inside right(8) and was as strong as an ox. He wasn't an out and out striker but part of the 2 up top, his all round play was miles ahead of Flo and many others before Flo.

Well this thread has taken a typically depressing turn.

There was no need for the dig at the current team in the OP and no need for the petty squabble that developed afterwards.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Jimmy played inside right(8) and was as strong as an ox. He wasn't an out and out striker but part of the 2 up top, his all round play was miles ahead of Flo and many others before Flo.
    Thats fair enough, cant argue if his all round play was that good.

Sorry, my mistake. I was looking at the last two years. But still one of the best strikers I have seen, and as some one else pointed out he and Alan Gordon were deadly. I wish I could turn back the clock. Us oldies have a hard time watching what passes for football players nowadays. I think I'll go and have a wee lie down now.

What was he lightyears better than Flo at? Genuinely asking. It wasn't goalscoring.

I don't doubt it, his record was very impressive when surrounded by the other great players in the tornadoes. As I've said, it was nothing special before then. About 8 goals a season.
    Better than Flo at the following:

Taking the ball to feet without it bouncing a million miles off him, linking up play with others, taking the ball with his back to goal and still being able to turn, striking the ball with both feet, good in the air, being physical with opposition defenders without giving fouls away, not being petulant with officials and getting booked and sent off, not going in the huff, being able to beat a man, scoring the winning goal in a Cup Final, scoring ten hatricks, scoring twice against the Hearts at Tiny in ten minutes and last of all cut him he bleeds green

Many Happy Returns Corky

Better than Flo at the following:

Taking the ball to feet without it bouncing a million miles off him, linking up play with others, taking the ball with his back to goal and still being able to turn, striking the ball with both feet, good in the air, being physical with opposition defenders without giving fouls away, not being petulant with officials and getting booked and sent off, not going in the huff, being able to beat a man, scoring the winning goal in a Cup Final, scoring ten hatricks, scoring twice against the Hearts at Tiny in ten minutes and last of all cut him he bleeds green

Many Happy Returns Corky
    A joy to watch. He was superb.

Quote Originally Posted by Norrieg View Post
    Sorry, my mistake. I was looking at the last two years. But still one of the best strikers I have seen, and as some one else pointed out he and Alan Gordon were deadly. I wish I could turn back the clock. Us oldies have a hard time watching what passes for football players nowadays. I think I'll go and have a wee lie down now.

Made the the same mistake

Apologised to the OP away back to my People’s Friend

Happy Birthday Jimmy.

Happy birthday to my pal Jimmy. To put things into perspective, when we scored our 7th goal at PBS on 1/1/73 that was our 111th competitive goal of the season. We had won 2 cups, beating both of the uglies in both. The Hawrts game was the 5th time that season we had scored 5 goals in a half. Jimmy scored consecutive hat tricks in Europe, I believe that was a record at the time & remained so for a good few years after. A great player in an outstanding team that us old guys were privileged to watch.