Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Tam McCourt

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    Starting point has to be someone with experience of Scottish football.

Stubbs and Lennon got it, and got us too, which was a bonus.

Calderwood, Fenton and Heckingbottom had never set foot here before.

There has to be a lesson in there somewhere!

I’ve left Butcher out for obvious reasons.
    Absolutely this. I think this is what is doing for PH right now.

Gary Holt has impressed me. I think he would do a good job.

When we failed to get Appleton, am i right in thinking he could not agree a severance package?

It was rumoured that we wanted a 3 month package incase he was potted, if this is correct, Heckingbottom 6 would hopefully have the same contract, and it wont be such a big pay off when he's sacked.
    I dont know but heckingbottom has the same agent as Appleton. So he wouldve known exactly what was offered and what terms the club were offering before negotiations began with heckingbottom

You know, I feel like managers who come up from down south, who have never either played or managed in Scotland, are a big risk. Barnsley may well have more money, but the expectations of their support (I'd wager) are in keeping with their relative place in the national food chain. As a result, I expect (though obviously can't know for sure) that PH's brand of percentage football would go down okay there, as long as it was delivering WDLWDLWDL sort of form; and conversely why it didn't go down well at Leeds, who are in a "false position" as it were.

The expectations at Hibs however are more in alignment with, say, a Tottenham, Arsenal or an Everton, but within a Scottish context: ie challenging the pre-eminent two, and expecting to have shots at the cups. We also have a DNA that expects to attack and entertain, and that must be respected - even if it delivers inconsistent results, I feel pretty confident in saying that our support is happy to back that through good times and bad. And it's that DNA that underpins the howls of derision surrounding Allan's misuse and then substitution.

I guess what I'm saying in essence is that a Barnsley-style mid-table attitude will simply not fly up here. If PH is to have a hope of turning this around, he'd do well to learn those facts, and learn them quick.

Hate to say it but I honestly don't think it'll improve. I hope I'm wrong.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BlackSheep View Post
    Not winding folk up with this question but who is actually available should the manager walk or get the sack in the coming weeks?
    I know this has been the topic in lots of previous threads on here, but I'd like to see Stubbs given another chance with us.

Yep he made some mistakes while he was with us last time, but even the best managers make mistakes. Stubbs signings were mostly good and I enjoyed his brand of football too

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    Why do we need to replace the manager three games in?
    Where are we getting those three games from?

We had the last six from last season when we didn't play well & the league cup games this season and before we get the pre-season nonsense, some of the best performances I've seen from Hibs have been in the Dryburgh Cup and League Cup section games and those were after longer previous season's [competing in Europe] where we would have been playing more matches with far fewer players playing on far worse pitches than today.

We were dominated again by a team with a far lower budget than us, he needs to accept responsibility rather than blaming the fans.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Gordon Strachan.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Quote Originally Posted by coldingham hibs View Post
    Gary Holt has impressed me. I think he would do a good job.

I mentioned him in another post. Seems to get the best out of average players of which we appear to have many.

Imagine what he would get out of our better players with organisation.

A yes from me.

I'd love stubbs but won't happen . think heck is too stubborn to change his methods system etc

Starting point has to be someone with experience of Scottish football.

Stubbs and Lennon got it, and got us too, which was a bonus.

Calderwood, Fenton and Heckingbottom had never set foot here before.

There has to be a lesson in there somewhere!

I’ve left Butcher out for obvious reasons.
    The obvious reason being that it doesn't suit your argument??

Scottish football isn't some mystifying beast.

If we're not getting the results come October/November time this will become a valid thread, not before.

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    Someone who doesn't value job security would be ideal.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    The obvious reason being that it doesn't suit your argument??

Scottish football isn't some mystifying beast.

If we're not getting the results come October/November time this will become a valid thread, not before.
    I’m not making any argument at all. That’s why you’re confused.

Quote Originally Posted by SRHibs View Post
    Someone who doesn't value job security would be ideal.
    If you're into job security then I'd suggest it's best to consider a career other than football management.

I’m not making any argument at all. That’s why you’re confused.
    You said the starting point had to be experience of Scottish football, which is in itself debatable, and then listed some managers to back this up but deliberately left out the one clear example that would have highlighted the fact that prior experience of Scottish football is no guarantor of success so shouldn't be a "non negotiable" characteristic of any hypothetical new manager.

If you're into job security then I'd suggest it's best to consider a career other than football management.
    Only a few games ago we were worried about Hecky getting poached by Hull. Now we want to sack him after 3 league games. All football fans are fickle, but this forum takes the absolute cake at times. It borders on delusions of grandeur. The reality is that we have the 5th biggest budget in the division, so anything around that should be a satisfying finish. I'm confident Hecky can deliver that plus a decent cup run.

The football is a bit iffy at the moment, and I'm by no means his biggest fan, but he 100% deserves more time to develop the team. The players have raved about him, so I'm more than willing to trust their judgment.

Shelley Kerr...gets tore in about the players, even when its not their fault the tactics and subsitutions were mis-timed or non-existant.

Oh wait a minute...

Inconsequential
    Quote Originally Posted by hibbyfraelibby View Post
    Shelley Kerr...gets tore in about the players, even when its not their fault the tactics and subsitutions were mis-timed or non-existant.

Oh wait a minute...
    Cherie Lunghi has previous managerial experience....

stubbs would be the obvious choice, but won’t happen due to acrimony with the board over his departure.

Not sure why Strachan wasn’t number one target after Lennon left.

After 3 games - surely you can't be serious.

England have just won a Test Match in the cricket from an impossible position - that's what is possible in sport - never give up - there's plenty of time for Hibs to come good.

Quote Originally Posted by YanYansen View Post
    You know, I feel like managers who come up from down south, who have never either played or managed in Scotland, are a big risk. Barnsley may well have more money, but the expectations of their support (I'd wager) are in keeping with their relative place in the national food chain. As a result, I expect (though obviously can't know for sure) that PH's brand of percentage football would go down okay there, as long as it was delivering WDLWDLWDL sort of form; and conversely why it didn't go down well at Leeds, who are in a "false position" as it were.

The expectations at Hibs however are more in alignment with, say, a Tottenham, Arsenal or an Everton, but within a Scottish context: ie challenging the pre-eminent two, and expecting to have shots at the cups. We also have a DNA that expects to attack and entertain, and that must be respected - even if it delivers inconsistent results, I feel pretty confident in saying that our support is happy to back that through good times and bad. And it's that DNA that underpins the howls of derision surrounding Allan's misuse and then substitution.

I guess what I'm saying in essence is that a Barnsley-style mid-table attitude will simply not fly up here. If PH is to have a hope of turning this around, he'd do well to learn those facts, and learn them quick.
    Good post.

Quote Originally Posted by SRHibs View Post
    Only a few games ago we were worried about Hecky getting poached by Hull. Now we want to sack him after 3 league games. All football fans are fickle, but this forum takes the absolute cake at times. It borders on delusions of grandeur. The reality is that we have the 5th biggest budget in the division, so anything around that should be a satisfying finish. I'm confident Hecky can deliver that plus a decent cup run.

The football is a bit iffy at the moment, and I'm by no means his biggest fan, but he 100% deserves more time to develop the team. The players have raved about him, so I'm more than willing to trust their judgment.
    Thank goodness that you're not the manager with this type of thinking.
    Delusions of grandeur???
    Any Hibs manager should be challenging for top 3 minimum, not settling on 5th!
    At least Lennon understood this and went for it, rather than meekly deferring to our rivals.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 660 View Post
    Not sure why Strachan wasn’t number one target after Lennon left.

AIUI Strachan was/has been spoken to about the job.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Do you mean prior to Hecky or now?

Is he not working for Dundee atm? So compo for strachan and then paying off PH and I would assume Robbie Stockdale?

What does AIUI mean. Given he’s director of football at Dundee, we didn’t try hard enough.

Quote Originally Posted by Hi Heid Yin View Post
    Thank goodness that you're not the manager with this type of thinking.
    Delusions of grandeur???
    Any Hibs manager should be challenging for top 3 minimum, not settling on 5th!
    At least Lennon understood this and went for it, rather than meekly deferring to our rivals.
    Top 3 minimum, on the 5th biggest budget? You do the math. It will happen now and then, but unless we increase the budget it will never happen with consistency.

Aye, born winner Lennon understood this and left us 8th in the league.

@hibs.net private member jeffers's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 660 View Post
    What does AIUI mean. Given he’s director of football at Dundee, we didn’t try hard enough.
    As I understand it would be my guess. Another guess would be that director of football isn't a full time job. I seem to remember him being quoted as not wanting to be a manager again.