@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar

Players who made the right move from Hibs at the right time

Seeing Cummings struggle to find a manager up north who'll take him and Fyvie signing for Cove (although that's largely down to having some bad injuries), it struck me how much rarer it is for a player to make the right move at the right time to the right club.

The obvious one is John McGinn. Could have moved a season earlier but stuck with us and got his big move. Was ready to play at a bigger club and is now being talked about going to Man Utd for £50m.

On the other end of the scale, James Collins and Mark Oxley both found themselves struggling by being on the wrong end of the boo boys and got out after one season each. Both doing well at their new clubs and their careers are undoubtedly back on track.

Eoin Doyle as well - good striker for us, made a move to Cheltenham, scored a ludicrous amount of goals and although it didn't work for him at Cardiff, he got a good pay day from it.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Des Bremner to Aston Villa european cup winner

Scott Brown

Andy Goram

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Seeing Cummings struggle to find a manager up north who'll take him and Fyvie signing for Cove (although that's largely down to having some bad injuries), it struck me how much rarer it is for a player to make the right move at the right time to the right club.

The obvious one is John McGinn. Could have moved a season earlier but stuck with us and got his big move. Was ready to play at a bigger club and is now being talked about going to Man Utd for £50m.

On the other end of the scale, James Collins and Mark Oxley both found themselves struggling by being on the wrong end of the boo boys and got out after one season each. Both doing well at their new clubs and their careers are undoubtedly back on track.

Eoin Doyle as well - good striker for us, made a move to Cheltenham, scored a ludicrous amount of goals and although it didn't work for him at Cardiff, he got a good pay day from it.
    Oxley was here for 2 seasons.

In answer to the question. Steven Fletcher has had a good career. Not going to Celtic the season before he did leave worked out well for him.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by KWJ View Post
    Scott Brown
    I disagree with that one, he could have gone much further and been a much better footballer.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member mayo hibee's Avatar
    I disagree with that one, he could have gone much further and been a much better footballer.
    Would have been a good move if he'd stayed two or three years in Glasgow and moved on from there. That he is still at Celtic all these years later shows that serious underachievement that his career turned out to be. Loads of silverware but a virtual unknown outside of Scottish football.

John McGinn

Eoin is now plying his trade with Swindon Town and on his debut earlier today scored the equalising goal against Exeter City. A point which kept The Town top of division 2.
    Last edited by Hi Heid Yin; 17-08-2019 at 08:39 PM.

Ricardo Vaz Te

Colin Stein

Peter Cormack

Gordon Durie

Gordon Smith

Big Fletch. Whitty too.

I disagree

Fantastic career

Kevin Thomson. 1st move to Rangers

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    De La Cruz did no bad when he was sold to Villa ( Think )
    Played in the premiership for a good few seasons .
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Clayton Donaldson wasn’t getting a look in.

Dobbie going part time saved his career.

Quote Originally Posted by erin go bragh View Post
    De La Cruz did no bad when he was sold to Villa ( Think )
    Played in the premiership for a good few seasons .
    He was bought and sold for the WC 2002.

Testimonial Due Stokesy's on fire's Avatar
    Hartley.....sorry

First Team Breakthrough Risboro Hibby's Avatar
    John Collins

Players I could not understand leaving us :

Gordon Chisholm to Dundee

Willie Miller our radge full back to Dundee

I mean......

@hibs.net private member bawheid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Players I could not understand leaving

Willie Miller our radge full back to Dundee

I mean......

Jumped off the sinking ship alongside Darren Dods.

[QUOTE=bawheid;5893644]Jumped off the sinking ship alongside Darren Dods.[/QUOTE

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Pat Stanton. Got his League and Scottish cup winners medals and no tickets ne would grudge that.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Pat Stanton. Got his League and Scottish cup winners medals and no tickets ne would grudge that.
    No Hibby would grudge him that

Legend!

Quote Originally Posted by bawheid View Post
    Jumped off the sinking ship alongside Darren Dods.
    Dods, Miller and Andy Dow will forever be the rats who jumped the sinking ship. Dods and Dow in particular were far from our best players.

A bit out of character for Miller tbh who was a good, wholehearted player for us and disappeared after leaving us.