Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Well him and his mate Sven came over to us one winter from Norway......
    They were very good indeed. Made their debuts in the 2nd leg of a LC tie against Morton.
    Wee Isak got the winner to put us through. 2-1 aggregate.
    He was mobbed outside the players entrance after the game and even though I was maybe about the same height as him I reckon he was big enough to get my scarf. Des Bremner was alongside him IIRC and found this hilarious.
    Hope he still has it.
    The government later robbed us of him.
    Yes, remember him and Svien well and the buzz about them bringing some class and glamour to us when we were in post Tornadoes depression. The work permit situation was so disappointing - I kept thinking ach someone will sort it out and we’ll get them back.

Just wondered how he ended up with your scarf. Excellent. Well hopefully he still has it - think scarves were a bit more precious back then.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    Yes, remember him and Svien well and the buzz about them bringing some class and glamour to us when we were in post Tornadoes depression. The work permit situation was so disappointing - I kept thinking ach someone will sort it out and we’ll get them back.

Just wondered how he ended up with your scarf. Excellent. Well hopefully he still has it - think scarves were a bit more precious back then.
    They were certainly better.

'S' Form
    Quote Originally Posted by supershotmo View Post
    McLeish days

1st game in the 1st division. Sure we scored late on in a 1 nil win.

Barry Lavety was getting pelters
    from the Morton fans
    Scott Bannerman. Good player and big Hibby

II remember back in the early seventies watching the great Bobby Collins playing for Morton at Easter Road in the twilight of his careeer

The guy was quality oozed class had stacks of time on the ball and just strolled through the game spraying passes all over the pitch

Worth the admission money alone

Legend!

Quote Originally Posted by berwickhibee View Post
    Paul mcgovern scoring at cappielow.

And as mentioned goram scoring against them in a 3-1 victory at easter road, that day im sure duff and gray were in the east terracing.
    Was at Cappielow when McGovern equalised late on; have a feeling it might have been our first away goal in something like 9 games, during a particularly tortuous period of Alex Miller's tenure? Hibs crowd under the old shed went radio rental when the goal went in!

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    Gunni Torfason played for St Mirren. Think he played for St J too but never Morton. He did score a few against us though.
    Sorry for the duff info here. I had a lightbulb moment late last night that I was wrong. The 4-3 game was against St Mirren but Gordon Hunter's goal was wonderful though.

The smell when yi got aff the bus, place was honking, Im 52 and havent been there for over 35 yrs, I can still smell it. Yeuch

Myself, husband and son went through to Grenock for a midweek game roughly 20 years ago. Husband would be about age 40. Weather was miserable, freezing cold, heavy rain etc. Got to the turnstiles and he went through the father and son gate as it was cheaper. On the other side he thought he had been given too much change then realised that he'd been charged as an OAP!!. He blames the fact that he had on a ski hat, jacket hood up and scarf on. We just say he looked an old git. He will be 60 in a couple of weeks and is still be paying full price 20 years on. 😂😂

Quote Originally Posted by Phil MaGlass View Post
    The smell when yi got aff the bus, place was honking, Im 52 and havent been there for over 35 yrs, I can still smell it. Yeuch
    You'd be a bit surprised how the Riviera de Clyde looks now.

I remember them having a one man singing section in the shed.

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    Gunni Torfason played for St Mirren. Think he played for St J too but never Morton. He did score a few against us though.
    Aye, right enough.

Having read all the posts it's either been freezing, windy, sleet, pissing down with rain, the ground smelt, the place was honking, we got beat, we were crap etc etc, I'm surprised that we had any supporters turn up. Jeez it's almost as bad as Cowdenbeath.
    Last edited by iwasthere1972; 19-08-2019 at 09:40 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    Having read all the posts it's either been freezing, windy, sleet, pissing down with rain, the ground smelt, the place was honking, we got beat, we were crap etc etc, I'm surprised that we had any supporters turn up. Jeez it's almost as bad as Cowdenbeath.
    I remember a game in the winter and Tony Rougier looked like a sumo wrestler with the amount of layers he had on. Pitch was like an ice rink.

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    ...any Morton memories ?

Other than always seemingly to be cold and wet at games in cappielow

recall well their good team of the late 70s..Andy Ritchie, Dom Sullivan etc. What a player Ritchie was ..
    Only time I went there was late 1960s (?) and we had a lad called Jack Reilly in goals. Wasn’t a top keeper but he had a decent game that night. Rarely seen after that but heard some years later he was a millionaire due to the work he did. So there is life after football - and much more profitable. Anyone know if he is that rich?

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post

I don't think I have any sunny memories of Cappielow...possibly my mind playing tricks - but I only recall freezing, wet or snowy times there....

I remember a game at ER v Morton from about 1984 when we won 5-1. Must have been the coldest day in years. Absolutely Baltic. Even when the 5th went in I couldn’t be bothered taking hands of pocket to applaud. Think Colin Harris scored 2 IIRC

The hereto aforementioned 5-0 drubbing at ER circa 1968/69, Joe McBride (Snr) scored an absolute stonker. Volley on the turn from left hand corner of the !8 yard box.

I don't think I have any sunny memories of Cappielow...possibly my mind playing tricks - but I only recall freezing, wet or snowy times there....
    We played there just before getting promoted a couple of years ago.

Glorious sunny day, it was a braw day oot.

Iirc the first game of the "great adventure" relegation season was a nice, sunny August evening in Greenock.
    Last edited by Smartie; 19-08-2019 at 07:29 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post

Iirc the first game of the "great adventure" relation season was a nice, sunny August evening in Greenock.
    Cheers Smartie. Can’t recall that one Probably still had my gloves scarf and hat on

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Hibs fans wrecked a train after losing to Morton in a League Cup semi in 1963.

The Tons went on to lose 5-0 to Rangers in the final. Four goals for Jim Forrest in front of a 105,000 crowd at Hampden.
    I was at that game, train left from Leith Central Station IIRC

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Hibs fans wrecked a train after losing to Morton in a League Cup semi in 1963.

The Tons went on to lose 5-0 to Rangers in the final. Four goals for Jim Forrest in front of a 105,000 crowd at Hampden.

Went to Dumbarton for a game, early 80's. Glorious sunshine everywhere but a look across the Clyde showed one huge rain-cloud right above Greenock.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Went to Dumbarton for a game, early 80's. Glorious sunshine everywhere but a look across the Clyde showed one huge rain-cloud right above Greenock.

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    I was at that game, train left from Leith Central Station IIRC
    I don't think it did as Leith Central closed to passengers in the 1950s. Sorry for the pedantry.

Quote Originally Posted by Liberal Hibby View Post
    I don't think it did as Leith Central closed to passengers in the 1950s. Sorry for the pedantry.
    Were fitba fans not cattle class though?

Quote Originally Posted by Liberal Hibby View Post
    That's OK mate I'm probably having a senior moment 🤔👍

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post

Iirc the first game of the "great adventure" relegation season was a nice, sunny August evening in Greenock.
    Not sure if that was first game. I left before the end to get a flyer and missed Lavety's goal. Fun times.