Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Quote Originally Posted by NthCarolinaHibs View Post
    Well....it was definitely nine for the good guys 😂
    If it was 9-1 it was against St Johnstone.I came down for the game but decided to go shopping with my wife instead and missed the game.Silly man.

Night game at Tannadice. I missed my bus so caught the train on my own. Got in with about twenty-five minutes played, soaked to the skin on a typically dreich Dundee night. I think we won 1-0 and I got my bus back. I'm sure the game was on telly too, but, having a ticket, decided I wanted to be there. It would have been much easier to watch at home or in the pub.

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Tarrahib View Post
    If it was 9-1 it was against St Johnstone.I came down for the game but decided to go shopping with my wife instead and missed the game.Silly man.

Wrong... It was 9-2. It was 9-1 against Rosenburg.

4.26pm every second Saturday at Tiny 1962-67

I was brought up in Gorgie and we used to go to the local flea pit (Tivoli) to watch the Saturday Matinee

Back in the day they would open the gates 20 minutes from the end to let the long suffering yams oot

First time my young ears ever heard the sash

LTYF.
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 10-08-2019 at 11:00 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

I was brought up in Georgie and we used to go to the local flea pit (Tivoli) to watch the Saturday Matinee

Back in the day they would open the gates 20 minutes from the end to let the long suffering yams oot

LTYF.
    This revelation has shaken me to my boots!

A couple of games I was a couple of minutes late. Missed Archibald scoring against Aberdeen. And our goal in a League cup game at home to St Johnstone which we lost to.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

I was brought up in Georgie and we used to go to the local flea pit (Tivoli) to watch the Saturday Matinee

LTYF.
    I don't suppose you were there when Killie won the league.

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    Naw but remember the huge crowds walking along the auld railway at Hutchy from their buses parked at Chesser to Tiny at first I thought they were Huns so me and ma gang o rebels started chucking stanes at them as you do 😁

Mid-90s v Clyde in the Scottish Cup. Hardly any cash machines were working so got there after about 40 minutes and didn't realise we were 1-0 down. Thought our equaliser was the winner and left early, which in turn made us miss our actual winner.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by green with envy View Post
    [/B]
    Wrong... It was 9-2. It was 9-1 against Rosenburg.
    Neither of which were end of season either but I came out of Macs Bar a few times myself not knowing what day it was

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Turnbullsmate View Post
    https://www.scotsman.com/sport/class...1965-1-1197434

Missed all four cos my old man fancied one more pint in the Wheatie... i was 9 yrs old and left standing outside while he had his swallae'

Just got our place in time at the school end to see corky volley the first of 7 on THAT day. Otherwise usually in to see the green emerge from the tunnel. Feeling and excitement of that has never left my old bones.....oops nearly said boner there
    My first ever Hibs game I missed the first goal for the same reason.

The old boys wanted another pint. Game was against Aberdeen 1988.

Celebrated in the queue to get into the ground.

First Team Regular NthCarolinaHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Neither of which were end of season either but I came out of Macs Bar a few times myself not knowing what day it was
    I came out of Mac's bar a few times,not knowing what bar I'd just come out..😉

@hibs.net private member Stuart93's Avatar
    Turned up 15mins late at the home tie of the brondby game.

Thought we were doing really well at 0-0 half time. To realise we were actually 1-0 down

League game against Stranraer around 98 or whenever it was. 4 of us drove down. On the way we stopped for a comfort break at the side of the road. I leapt over some bracken to go into the trees a bit, but realised someone had chucked rancid yoghurt over it which was now down the back of my jeans from arse to ankle. Due to poor navigation and probably not leaving early enough we got to the game after halftime (we got let in free), but I was stinking so bad it was giving me the boke. I had to breathe through my mouth all the way home with the window open. We won 1-0 Stuart Lovell scored.

Artisan bus on way to Ibrox, 1983. Driver suddenly turned off the M8 shortly before the Kingston Bridge and started driving in the direction of Clydebank (I think).

Once we persuaded him that the game was actually at Ibrox, he drove via some some back streets and through the clyde tunnel .only to get lost again and arrive at the Copeland end of the ground.

I think we got in just before half-time.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    I had a prior engagement and turned up in a taxi to a midweek home game v Dundee Utd at the start of the second half. Andy Watson got sent off, we got stuffed and I think we ended up with 9 men on the park.

Cappielow late 70's League Cup game got there about half an hour gone, about an hour before we had a shot at goal and Jackie Mac also got sent off. Parked in the docks sent the long way out and cost my dad an exhaust.
    Or even later Skol Cup semi 1991 got in weeks late to find we were playing Dunfermline.

Left by mutual consent! Turnbullsmate's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    I was at the game that lost them the league Rab, Dundee 7 > **** 1.... Kenny Cameron hat-trick. At Swinie it was. Twice i have witnessed 7 against them on their home turd...i mean turf, silly me.

Left by mutual consent! Turnbullsmate's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I drove from York to Tannadice via South Gyle in the early 80s abd turned up for the game at half time.

We were losing 5-0.
    Funny diversion via South Gyle Hradge....were you bangin my Mrs while i was settting sail for green pastures ?

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    In the mid 60’s for a midweek game in Kilmarnock.

Turned up at the supporters club but couldn’t get on the buses leaving as ithey would only take their own branch members.

Had the brilliant idea of getting a train to Glasgow and a bus to Killie

Mate and I raced up to the Waverley and put the plan into action.

Got in with about 10 minutes to go to find out we were getting beat and that Big John MacNamee had already been sent off.

Return trip was worse.

By the time we got to Glasgow the last Edinburgh train had gone, so being only 15 we went to the polis station, and they locked us up for the night in protective custody.

Got out next morning and between us we were just short of two train fares (lyesterday’s ticket not valid)
    And made a long convoluted series of bus rides to eventually get into Edinburgh on Thursday afternoon.

Lesson certainly learned!
    Wasn't late for the Hibs /Dundee SC replay at Dens . 33,000 in attendance and Jocky Scott tore us a new one that night. As if that wasn't bad enough my "mates" pissed off before the final whistle and effectively abandoned me. Last train gone so i basically slept rough and caught first train home next day,

I was 15 i think and thinking back not a soul worried about me not arriving home from the game, No questions asked when i did eventually get home. Just another day for my parents who saw every Hibs game as an adventure for me and never knew how it would end.

Turnbulls mate emptied. What happened there?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    You need to check out some other threads!! Car crash

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post

for TM. Over and oot.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post

turnbull dumped him, he needs a new mate

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    I only just took time to read his 'Mentalist' thread. Well that was awkward.....

I was working in London and was flying back to attend the replay of Hibs v Cowdenbeath in the Scottish Cup sometime in the early 1990s. My son would have been around 12 at the time and made his own way to the ground.

My flight was delayed and I jumped in a taxi from the airport to Easter Road. I arrived just before half time and while I was trying to find a way in, I heard the roar that suggested Hibs had scored, Pat McGinlay, if I recall correctly.

I eventually got into the Main Stand in time for the second half. My son was in the North Paddock so it too some further work to find him. Had he not have been at the match I would probably have gone home from the airport.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Turned up at half time for a few games through work.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Turned up a day early once game was on the Sunday, bollox.
    Also went to school on a bloody Saturday and went to work when it was a holiday FFS.
    Brain just goes into autopilot.