Ibrox travel etc

Going to ibrox on me own and for the first time on the sunday and got a few questions, what trains would yous recommended to get? Which pubs are hibs fans in before the game and what's the best way to get to the ground? Cheers GGTTH

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Any train, doesn’t make a difference.

No pubs near the ground for us since The Albion closed down. My crowd usually drink in the city centre, or even in Edinburgh and get a later train.

Transport from city centre to the ground.....get an Uber. Costs about a fiver. DO NOT get the underground. It’s the most hideous experience you will ever have. Even without colours you will stick out like a sore thumb by not joining in with their bigot fest sing-along.
    Getting back after the game, walk. Takes about half an hour but make sure you’ve no colours in show.

Getting the subway to and from Govan isn’t too bad

Quote Originally Posted by Frazerbob View Post

No pubs near the ground for us since The Albion closed down. My crowd usually drink in the city centre, or even in Edinburgh and get a later train.

Transport from city centre to the ground.....get an Uber. Costs about a fiver. DO NOT get the underground. It’s the most hideous experience you will ever have. Even without colours you will stick out like a sore thumb by not joining in with their bigot fest sing-along.
    Getting back after the game, walk. Takes about half an hour but make sure you’ve no colours in show.
    Tall Cranes near Ibrox is fine for us. Craigton road, about 10 mins walk from ibrox

Subway is fine. They’ll probably march us back down to Govan station after the game and stick us on a single train which will go straight back to Buchanan Street without any stops.

Quote Originally Posted by 660 View Post
    Really? I hated it. Absolutely rammed, squashed up against those mutants, all belting out the most bigoted, racist and offensive bollocks I’ve ever heard. I would never choose to be surrounded so closely to those ****bags.

I used to always get the subway to Ibrox early doors and never had any bother. I never wear colours to games anyway so that wasn't a problem.

I believe the subway to Ibrox is not an option anymore so I'll have a couple of pint in the city centre then get the subway to Govan. To avoid the hordes it's sometime an idea to go the 'wrong way' on the subway. I'll be on the 12 midday Scotrail train to Queen Street and will likely head for a pint in the Counting House or similar then jump on the subway about 1.30.

I quite enjoy taking the Underground to Ibrox (get off at Govan); it's really convenient transportwise, and you get an anthropological glimpse into the opposition. Mutant roasters having a bigoted singalong, gruff Weedgie old boys, sons of Ulster on their day out to Glasgow, snide Southern English fascist types looking for some vicarious ethnic cleansing to join in with. And of course, a lot of more or less normal, decent folks just there to watch the fitba'. Only ever had colours on the once, but didn't get any bother when I did. You have to be a wee bit early on the subway because the later trains are often so packed it's hard to get on in the first place, and the inhabitants get a bit more malodorous.
    Last edited by Aim Here; 07-08-2019 at 12:04 PM.

Really? I hated it. Absolutely rammed, squashed up against those mutants, all belting out the most bigoted, racist and offensive bollocks I’ve ever heard. I would never choose to be surrounded so closely to those ****bags.
    If you go the opposite direction from the majority of those cretins it's better. I usually go from buchanan street or st enoch then go the direction where the govan stop is before the ibrox stop.

Thanks all will probably travel early get a few in the city centre then uber to the ground as I really don't fancy mixing with that lot, hope we get something from the game ggtth

Left by mutual consent! Turnbullsmate's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Aim Here View Post
    I quite enjoy taking the Underground to Ibrox (get off at Govan); it's really convenient transportwise, and you get an anthropological glimpse into the opposition. Mutant roasters having a bigoted singalong, gruff Weedgie old boys, sons of Ulster on their day out to Glasgow, snide Southern English fascist types looking for some vicarious ethnic cleansing to join in with. And of course, a lot of more or less normal, decent folks just there to watch the fitba'. Only ever had colours on the once, but didn't get any bother when I did. You have to be a wee bit early on the subway because the later trains are often so packed it's hard to get on in the first place, and the inhabitants get a bit more malodorous.
    Slightly off topic, but myself ,my eldest boy and an acquaintance made our way to St Georges X post Partick game some years ago. Train pulled in, crammed with Huns . My son and i boarded sporting our Hibs colours (our acquaintance decided to wait for the next one along).

All eyes were on my lad and i and i was bricking it big time i don't mind admitting. I somehow valiantly spoke up "how did ye get on the day?" "4-1 tae us " (Falkirk they had played on the day) "Aye" says I "whae' scored?" "McCoist got all four" someone responded "**** me, he's some banana " says i. Silence ensued and we made it to Queen Street in one piece>

The moral of the tale?..... Feigning that you give **** about the Hun can be good for your health.

Quote Originally Posted by Turnbullsmate View Post
    Slightly off topic, but myself ,my eldest boy and an acquaintance made our way to St Georges X post Partick game some years ago. Train pulled in, crammed with Huns . My son and i boarded sporting our Hibs colours (our acquaintance decided to wait for the next one along).

All eyes were on my lad and i and i was bricking it big time i don't mind admitting. I somehow valiantly spoke up "how did ye get on the day?" "4-1 tae us " (Falkirk they had played on the day) "Aye" says I "whae' scored?" "McCoist got all four" someone responded "**** me, he's some banana " says i. Silence ensued and we made it to Queen Street in one piece>

The moral of the tale?..... Feigning that you give **** about the Hun can be good for your health.
    I'd rather go home with a sore face tbh.

Quote Originally Posted by 660 View Post
    Always go by train & underground, best way to do it.

Any idea what time the car park opens at?

Wee bump, anyone know what time the car park opens today?

Quote Originally Posted by H18 SFR View Post
    Wee bump, anyone know what time the car park opens today?
    Usually around 1pm or so

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Usually around 1pm or so
    Cheers mate.

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Where is the car park? Is it usually a nightmare to get into and then out of at the end??

I’m taking my boy so this will be the first time I drive.

Considering getting the train instead.

Quote Originally Posted by Ritchie View Post
    Where is the car park? Is it usually a nightmare to get into and then out of at the end??

I’m taking my boy so this will be the first time I drive.

Considering getting the train instead.

It’s just opposite the section we go in
    Usually get held in it for a bit, but last time we got our a bit quicker

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    It’s just opposite the section we go in
    Usually get held in it for a bit, but last time we got our a bit quicker
    Thanks billy

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Are we likely to be out the car park by half past 5?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian Verse View Post
    Are we likely to be out the car park by half past 5?

Last couple of time it's been around that time. Both times I've literally flown onto the motorway no bother.

Police escort to the motorway theses days so best place to park now.

did you not get pulled up for landing your plane on the motorway??

@hibs.net private member Kojock's Avatar
    Usually around 1pm or so
    It's open before that. We head through for around 12.15 and it's open then and cars are already in there.

Quote Originally Posted by PolishHibby View Post
    Thanks all will probably travel early get a few in the city centre then uber to the ground as I really don't fancy mixing with that lot, hope we get something from the game ggtth
    Get a TAXI bud , least youll get taken to the right end and on time.

I took my sons through by train then subway a few years ago - assuming we’d be in a throng of hibees all the way to Ibrox. I got that wrong. Plenty green and white on train to Queen Street but we ended up the only Hibs on crammed subway. We were treated to the predictable caveman songs but no real hassle until we walked the gauntlet outside the station. A few badly aimed gobs in our direction to go with the shouts of ‘fenian bastirts’ . I think my sons being so young probably helped avoid a cowardly attack. Sharing a train with that poisonous mob is just not worth the risk but a life lesson for my boys who’d never seen adults so hateful and messed up.

Midday train has just left Waverley. Fair few Hibs fans and the usual east coast zombies as well. Enjoying a bottle of Elvis Juice, couple of cans to go then a pint before the subway.

Hope over expectation today, if we can keep it tight early doors I think we can nick something.

Quote Originally Posted by Johnny Clash View Post
    I took my sons through by train then subway a few years ago - assuming we’d be in a throng of hibees all the way to Ibrox. I got that wrong. Plenty green and white on train to Queen Street but we ended up the only Hibs on crammed subway. We were treated to the predictable caveman songs but no real hassle until we walked the gauntlet outside the station. A few badly aimed gobs in our direction to go with the shouts of ‘fenian bastirts’ . I think my sons being so young probably helped avoid a cowardly attack. Sharing a train with that poisonous mob is just not worth the risk but a life lesson for my boys who’d never seen adults so hateful and messed up.
    There’s 900 hibs fans to 50000 orcs. Hide your colours and you will be fine

Car park is open. Just met my first ever decent steward as well. It's a sign, we are pumping this lot.