@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar

If you could have any player in history play for Hibs in his prime, who would it be?

Based on this season's team, which player would you add from history to add to this team?

I'd probably add Dennis Bergkamp. The thought of him playing off passes from Scotty Allan and Stevie Mallan is just the stuff footballing dreams are made of.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Patrick Gordon Stanton

If it's past history I'd see if I could find a place for Ronaldenhio 😁

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Patrick Gordon Stanton
    Having seen King Paddy in that era I concur.

I'd find a place for George Best though.

Socrates, imagine him conducting the midfield then going out on the lash every weekend......

Joe Baker. Capped for England at. 18 whilst at Hibs. Took them 40 years to cap another player whose debut for England was by a player who did not play in any English team.

Quote Originally Posted by southsider View Post
    Joe Baker. Capped for England at. 18 whilst at Hibs. Took them 40 years to cap another player whose debut for England was by a player who did not play in any English team.

Yes indeed !

First Team Breakthrough huggie1875's Avatar

PSN ID: huggieedin
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Patrick Gordon Stanton

Gordon?? that's the worst spelling of god ever

Any Hibs player - Gordon Smith. Heard so many stories about him that I would love to have seen if they were true
    Any player - Diego Armando Maradona. Genius who single handedly won a league for Napoli and a world cup for Argentina

Left by mutual consent! Turnbullsmate's Avatar
    Absolutely... an extra fiver a week would have kept him at ER, Scandalous....having said that my pick would be wee Mickey Edwards ...total genius in my eyes

Maradona 1986.

Quote Originally Posted by huggie1875 View Post
    Gordon?? that's the worst spelling of god ever
    Naw that’s Alan Gordon but King Paddy was slightly better

The poster that said George Best at his height had a valid point

Messi 2012

Ronaldo (Brazilian) in his Barcelona prime.

Best and Baker are great shouts. I’ll go with a player who never wore our shirt though.
    This team needs a striker so for me it would have to be Denis Law.

Conrad Logan.....

John McGinn 2019

Lionel Messi, the best player of all time playing for the best club of all time.

For players I really recall watching it would be Ronaldo from his time at Barcelona, for that season he was practically unplayable. Had he stayed fit there would be no contest who the greatest player ever was, even with knees that were shot to pieces he lit up the 2002 WC.

Ronaldiniho There is s clip on u tube where he does keepie upie and gets 33 BLINDFOLDED. Amazing
    Last edited by southsider; 03-08-2019 at 08:18 AM.

Ronaldo, either of them to be fare. Best or Le God in their prime would have been amazing though. Oh aye and erm...........Maradona as well I suppose.

[QUOTE=yonder1875;5868286]Lionel Messi, the best player of all time playing for the best club of all time.[/QUOTE]

i always regarded our club as the best of all time............................

[QUOTE=Turnballsmate;5868294]
    Quote Originally Posted by yonder1875 View Post
    Lionel Messi, the best player of all time playing for the best club of all time.[/QUOTE]

i always regarded our club as the best of all time............................

Although he's wrong about Messi, I think you've picked him up wrong .

Gabriel batistuta. Would be perfect striker for our current system.

[QUOTE=DH1875;5868301]
    Quote Originally Posted by Turnballsmate View Post

Although he's wrong about Messi, I think you've picked him up wrong .
    quite possibly DH...i think he meant best team but in no way would surmise his thoughts or assume

[QUOTE=Turnballsmate;5868305]
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post

quite possibly DH...i think he meant best team but in no way would surmise his thoughts or assume

I'm pretty sure he means Messi playing for Hibs

Ronaldinihi. There is s clip on u tube where he does keepie upie and gets 33 BLINDFOLDED. Amazing
    Up there with Messi as the best player I have seen play football

With Squirrel out, gotta be Messi to play on the right.

But the player I think would bring it all together would be peak Viera. Our midfield would dominate everyone.

Zemmama

Levein.... so he can at last pick up a cup final medal (unused sub) and finally retire.