Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Pat McGinley’s wife @erm Pat McGinley

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    They're just idiots, Sean, and it's their 'type' that has no place at Easter Road

Well done on calling them out

You can support a united Ireland and recognise Hi s links to it without shoving it down the throats of what is now a very diverse fan base. Most in Edinburgh of Irish descent do not actively support so what chance the majority if our fan base.

My dad tells a story of being at a game many years ago, when Marshall’s Chickens were a thing (may still be ), where the referee was coincidentally and unrelatedly called Marshall.

an older fella along from him had been giving the ref dogs abuse the whole game, never stopped. At some point in the second half, the ball goes out for what should have been a Hibs throw close to where my dad is, but is given to the opposition by said ref. This guy is bright red and losing the plot by this time, shouts “you’re sh**e ref”, then, in struggling to find something else to shout, resorts to “...and...and...and...and your chickens are pish by the way!”

Perhaps not worst moaning but certainly the most moderate, middle class moan ;
    Heard at Dumbarton away during the promotion struggle;in an educated Irish voice behind me;-

"Hibernian--that's MEDIOCHRE!"

Then there's that woman in the Lower West with the regular strident shout "Come on HIBERNIAN; show some GUMPTION!"

Quote Originally Posted by Hutchie View Post
    Every time he scored though he would have a big beaming smile on his pus and point to Margaret in the Centre Stand and she would always stand up and be applauding with the rest of us as if to say “That’s My Patrick!”

Quote Originally Posted by Hutchie View Post
    You daren't criticise Pat McGinley in the hearing of Mags without having a death wish!

Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post
    The moaning my wife did when she came out of her work and realised I'd taken her car to go to Kilmarnock for a game on valentines day will take some beating.

Had about 15 phone calls giving me abuse in the second half! Few years ago now mind.
    nice one

Quote Originally Posted by hughio View Post
    Heard at Dumbarton away during the promotion struggle;in an educated Irish voice behind me;-

Then there's that woman in the Lower West with the regular strident shout "Come on HIBERNIAN; show some GUMPTION!"

Wifie was in the FF for years. Wondered what happened to her.

First Team Regular scm70nyd1973's Avatar
    Not that I found it funny (well I did TBH coz I was a v silly young boy at the time and didn’t think there was any injury or distress caused) or condoned it but the worst moaning I ever heard from the terraces was from the linesman when he was “escorted” into the south enclosure by Bobby Thompson on 19/11/1983 🤭
    Last edited by scm70nyd1973; 19-07-2019 at 10:37 PM.

Like the singing section, can we not get a designated moaning section ? It could be enclosed in glass and they could show reruns of the 2014 Hamilton game, that 2012 final, the 7-0 Huns game at Ibrox and many more - they would be in heaven but might self combust as they couldn’t complain about getting cold and/or soaked🤭😬

That ex Cowdenbeath player Dean Brett sometimes sits in my vicinity at the bigger games. For a professional-ish footballer I've never heard someone talk so much pish about the team.

It's true when they say not all footballers are cut out to be coaches.

Quote Originally Posted by scm70nyd1973 View Post
    Like the singing section, can we not get a designated moaning section ? It could be enclosed in glass and they could show reruns of the 2014 Hamilton game, that 2012 final, the 7-0 Huns game at Ibrox and many more - they would be in heaven but might self combust as they couldn’t complain about getting cold and/or soaked🤭😬
    What pies would they get?

Quote Originally Posted by scm70nyd1973 View Post
    Like the singing section, can we not get a designated moaning section ? It could be enclosed in glass and they could show reruns of the 2014 Hamilton game, that 2012 final, the 7-0 Huns game at Ibrox and many more - they would be in heaven but might self combust as they couldn’t complain about getting cold and/or soaked

This is part of the infrastructure I would consider helping fund, but only if we put all the seagulls in it as well.

Wasn’t myself who heard it or at one particular game it was in fact across a full season or two, my uncle always tells the story how him and his mates had two elderly women who sat behind him for the season must have been mid 90s and they just constantly shouted all game every game “taaaaaackle taaaackle”

Quote Originally Posted by The young one View Post
    Wasn’t myself who heard it or at one particular game it was in fact across a full season or two, my uncle always tells the story how him and his mates had two elderly women who sat behind him for the season must have been mid 90s and they just constantly shouted all game every game “taaaaaackle taaaackle”

Was it a desperate old biddies sexual request? As in, "Go on big boy, show us yir......"

I can’t remember what game it was last season, but we were playing like absolute *****, and had to do something in a game.

Whittaker was getting subbed on - I was genuinely happy, so cheered him loudly on to the park.

Auld boy behind me thought I was being sarcastic, and telt me I’m no Hibs class for abusing players like that. Couldn’t believe it 😂😂

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Falkirk semi when we were 3-0 down at HT. You'd have thought Fenlon had killed the granny of the guy infront of me. Realy bad stuff. Had to tell him to behave himself. Same guy was jumping around celebrating at 4-3 though.
    Must admit i was also guilty this day. We were brutal first half

Quote Originally Posted by hughio View Post

I sometimes shout “Away the Hibernians”in a mock posh voice, to annoy my laddie 😁

Quote Originally Posted by Silent Boatman View Post
    I sometimes shout “Away the Hibernians”in a mock posh voice, to annoy my laddie 😁
    You should get a rattle and shout Hibernian, hibernian, ra, ra, ra. That would get him going.

Quote Originally Posted by KingFlo View Post
    I can’t remember what game it was last season, but we were playing like absolute *****, and had to do something in a game.

Whittaker was getting subbed on - I was genuinely happy, so cheered him loudly on to the park.

Auld boy behind me thought I was being sarcastic, and telt me I’m no Hibs class for abusing players like that. Couldn’t believe it 😂😂

Quote Originally Posted by The_Horde View Post
    That ex Cowdenbeath player Dean Brett sometimes sits in my vicinity at the bigger games. For a professional-ish footballer I've never heard someone talk so much pish about the team.

It's true when they say not all footballers are cut out to be coaches.
    To be fair he isn't the brightest of folk.
    I felt sorry for him when he was at the centre of the betting storm.
    Ill equipped to defend himself.

Well I have to say I heard an absolutely outstanding shout today, “why are we wasting 300k on doidge, we should have signed stevie May” this was at half time. Same person was last person to sit down after the goal and high fiving his pals. The fickle life of a football fan

Quote Originally Posted by saltandsauce View Post
    If your on about Nigel then I was stood next to him,couldnt believe he never celebrated whilst everyone else was going daft
    He used to trave! on the Aberdeen bus in the 90s picked up at Dundee
    Now stays in edinburgh

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Trapper View Post
    Heard a few fans over the years hurl abuse at a player who's not even on the park.
    Never hurled abuse but made a similar mistake, penalities away to Brondby and I was that bevvied after a full day on the pints I was at one point shouting 'Come on Otso'

Laidlaw was in goals
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    Never hurled abuse but made a similar mistake, penalities away to Brondby and I was that bevvied after a full day on the pints I was at one point shouting 'Come on Otso'

Laidlaw was in goals
    After a few pre-match beers at Tannadice one season I was oblivious to the fact that we had swapped sides at half time and cheered when the ball hit the net for an Arab goal. My attempts to convert the cheer to a cry of despair fooled nobody.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    What pies would they get?
    The pies that are ordered up before the game but which arrive late in the second half and are the wrong type - returned and when the correct ones are delivered they are cold and get there just after any random wee Diddy team equalise against us at the same time as the Poppy Thieves take a late but undeserved lead - that would be the perfect fitba day out for these dudes 👍🤭

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    Anyone going to admit to their moaning coming back to bite them on the arse? I had was giving David Gray pelters after the falkirk play off 2nd leg. Wanted him and about 7 others released so we could start afresh again

Yup guilty your honour , but I cant for the life of me remember who I was having a pop at think it may have been The Porn star " Dirk your absolutely rank rotten come and stand next to me and watch how crap you are " I just got the e out of ARE when he with his back to the defender flicked the baw of his right heel turned to his left dipped the shoulder and bent it in the bottom left hand post round the advancing keeper , super goal ,super skill. Guy turned round 2 rows down "good shout big man" felt such a prat just started chuckling as did the surrounding Hibees

Left by mutual consent! Turnbullsmate's Avatar
    many moons ago my eldest and i took our seats under the tv gantry in the old seated East........My drunken brother in tow. We were playing Raith as i remember but my brother insisted on shouting abuse at what he thought were Dundee players.

He then turned on Hibs and Michael O'Neill in particular...who to his credit when hearing my brothers tirade as he was taking a throw in around the half way line area..turned and told my brother to **** off. Cue me (to my "big" brother) "if you don't shut the **** up i'm gonna knock you out"...he was last seen scurrying up to the top off the terracing and out the ground.

Never attended another match with him ever again

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    Anyone going to admit to their moaning coming back to bite them on the arse? I had was giving David Gray pelters after the falkirk play off 2nd leg. Wanted him and about 7 others released so we could start afresh again
    I remember when we were playing ICT and Lewis Stevenson was lining up to shoot from outside the box. "FFS don't hit it from there". Back of the net for (I think) only his 2nd goal.

Similarly when we were playing Gretna (think we won 4-2, or 4-0) Zemmama was lining up a free kick and I made similar complaints about him never scoring free kicks. 20 Seconds later, ball was in the back of the net.

Delighted to be proved wrong both times!

Left by mutual consent! Turnbullsmate's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post
    I remember when we were playing ICT and Lewis Stevenson was lining up to shoot from outside the box. "FFS don't hit it from there". Back of the net for (I think) only his 2nd goal.

Similarly when we were playing Gretna (think we won 4-2, or 4-0) Zemmama was lining up a free kick and I made similar complaints about him never scoring free kicks. 20 Seconds later, ball was in the back of the net.

Delighted to be proved wrong both times!
    Wacko Jacko v Dee Ut'd...my mate cries out when Jackson kills the ball on his thigh, back to goal..."what ye dae'n ye rubber heid"..we all know how that ended !!!
    What a strike