Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: McGeough & Effe

Quote Originally Posted by bookert View Post
    You did see him when we got beat 4 zilch by Aberdeen. Mckay steven who he was marking scored three and made the other. Has the defence been our main problem since he left?
    Wasn't he playing right back that day?

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    You did see him when we got beat 4 zilch by Aberdeen. Mckay steven who he was marking scored three and made the other. Has the defence been our main problem since he left?
    As someone else said, he was playing full back that day. He did admittedly have a shocker although he’s never a full back. Rarely did anyone in our league get the better of Efe at centre half.

I did say mostly etc in my post aswell, players at our level will always have a stinker every so often

Im astonished that any Hibs fan wouldnt take Efe back. Probably our best defender since Sauzee was playing sweeper. Just goes to show you can be at the match but watch a totally different game.

Quote Originally Posted by Barman Stanton View Post
    Im astonished that any Hibs fan wouldnt take Efe back. Probably our best defender since Sauzee was playing sweeper. Just goes to show you can be at the match but watch a totally different game.

@hibs.net private member jeffers's Avatar
    If the decision was based purely on ability I'd agree.

Quote Originally Posted by jeffers View Post
    If the decision was based purely on ability I'd agree.
    Ability seems to be exactly the reason some wouldn't want him. Bonkers. The guy strolled through games.

While not judging our new signings yet, some will be hit or a miss. Effe & Dylan are a guaranteed hit.

Quote Originally Posted by munchar View Post
    While not judging our new signings yet, some will be hit or a miss. Effe & Dylan are a guaranteed hit.

Quote Originally Posted by Weegreenman View Post
    Except when he did have to go in for a tackle or a header and shat oot it.
    Ambrose cleared a large chunk of opposition corners out of the box. His role was clearly to judge the ball in and clear it away which he excelled at. I'm started to believe you have never actually seen him play. The fact he rarely had the chance to dive into a 50/50 tells you how good he was. He put himself in situations where a last ditch tackle or the like was not required. Towards the end of Lennons tenure was a crap time but Ambrose was consistently decent despite none of the other players playing well

@hibs.net private member Baader's Avatar
    Efe would improve our side no question. As many said he was one of the best defenders in Scotland when he left.

You did see him from July to December last season where he barely put a foot wrong?

In my opinion Efe was the clear frontrunner for POTY at the time he left. In fact his half season would have had him in the running for it if it'd been the 2nd half and not the 1st.

And it was 4-1 against Aberdeen, Stokes scored a late consolation goal.

I like watching rolls Royce footballers in a hibs Jersey and efe & Dylan are certainly that.

I will be pleasantly surprised if any of hecky's lads come close to the efe/Dylan level of football ability, wins v rangers, derby wins, cup runs & enjoyable football to watch.

I'd prefer Dylan & efe than 6 squad players with the budget

Quote Originally Posted by Springbank View Post
    I like watching rolls Royce footballers in a hibs Jersey and efe & Dylan are certainly that.

I will be pleasantly surprised if any of hecky's lads come close to the efe/Dylan level of football ability, wins v rangers, derby wins, cup runs & enjoyable football to watch.

Decent post this ...all for giving PH full support - but surely no one can say it looks like we have signed this sort of quality yet in this window ?

Quote Originally Posted by Weegreenman View Post
    Except when he did have to go in for a tackle or a header and shat oot it.
    Now you’re making up things to suit your argument.

Honestly if you don’t like to see cool as **** dudes like Dylan and Efe in your team then you don’t deserve football.

First Team Breakthrough My old man's Avatar
    I really really do hope wee Ron reads .net because he really could
    Show us a massive show of intent and go all out to try and
    Sign those 2 (maybe LG) too
    ST’s would smash all records and would pay for the salaries
    Now I’m not trying to sound as if I know how to run a football club
    But I think the maths may work

In Ron we trust

Ps I do know that they might not want to come back and LG
    Plays for sellick (in a long contract) but if you dinnae ask you
    Dinnae get
    Dinnae want any arguing BTW

Spot on 👏

@hibs.net private member Greenworld's Avatar
    Both players would be a massive asset to the team no question

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

Left by mutual consent! majorhibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by munchar View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Baader View Post
    Efe would improve our side no question. As many said he was one of the best defenders in Scotland when he left.

Efe Ambrose is a total class football player that Hibs were very fortunate to have! Dylan McGeouch was pretty much top drawer in the Scottish top league tae! Not wanting proven players of class & ability like that in yer team is madness beyond my reasoning I’m afraid!

Dylan yes. Efe no. Sorry.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Dylan yes. Efe no. Sorry.
    What is your rationale for that ststement?

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    It was a clause agreed between him and the club. Certainly not a loophole.
    Semantics. He still jumped ship when he didn't want to be here.

@hibs.net private member hibsforeurope's Avatar
    both players would improve what we finished the season with and what we have recruited so far. we need to be signing quality like this if we intend to close the gap and challenge for top 4.

Quote Originally Posted by Speedy View Post
    Semantics. He still jumped ship when he didn't want to be here.
    So did Scott Allan.

@hibs.net private member DarlingtonHibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by My old man View Post
    I really really do hope wee Ron reads .net because he really could
    Show us a massive show of intent and go all out to try and
    Sign those 2 (maybe LG) too
    ST’s would smash all records and would pay for the salaries
    Now I’m not trying to sound as if I know how to run a football club
    But I think the maths may work

In Ron we trust

Ps I do know that they might not want to come back and LG
    Plays for sellick (in a long contract) but if you dinnae ask you
    Dinnae get
    Dinnae want any arguing BTW
    Not going to happen.

Simple math's

Was gutted when both left and would love both back, Dylan more so than Efe if I had to pick one.

We’d be mental not to.

Quote Originally Posted by SingHibs View Post
    What is your rationale for that ststement?
    He was unreliable at the back as many on here have said. Actually, I thought he would have been better playing further forward as he made some good runs.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    He was unreliable at the back as many on here have said. Actually, I thought he would have been better playing further forward as he made some good runs.

He was not unreliable unless you expect to sign defenders who NEVER make a mistake (and we have never had one of those because they don't exist - even Le God made mistakes). It was because Efe was such a good player that when he did make a mistake it looked worse than it would have had it been a different defender. Too many people (maybe take a look in the mirror) watching his every move waiting (hoping?) for him to make a mistake. IMO he made fewer mistakes over a season than our other defenders (how many mistake free seasons/matches did Gray/Hanlon/McGregor/Stevenson have?. Realistically he is one of the best defenders we have ever had. I thought we had signed a "bombscare" but he won me over and never gave me cause to regret it. I was unhappy with the timing when he left mid season and that tarnished his reputation a bit with me but I was glad of the time he spent with us.

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    Blows my mind how some folk didn't rate Efe. Literally our best centre half since Sauzee and I'll argue that fact all day long. We were incredible fortunate to even sign Efe in the first place. A masterstroke from Lennon!