Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Joe Newell

Joe Newell

I’ve not seen him play, is he a fast winger what’s he like?

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    This could be a long and angry thread 😂

Quote Originally Posted by Hiberniankb View Post

if youve got a tin hat, you better look it out now.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiberniankb View Post

Someone on the terracing today suggested he should piss off back to Love Island

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    The Super Joe song could make a comeback. So could the f****** Joe comments.

He had a run in the first half where he showed a couple of nice touches, apart from that it was hard to tell of he is good or not as he was never involved. Newel and James didn't seem to link very well but then it is the first time they have played on the same side. Didn't seem to want to get stuck in and looked like he would rather be anywhere else. Poor performance overall for me and rightly hooked

Alan O’Brien with a punctured tyre.

I felt he was the pick of Heck’s signings tbh. He has played in the championship as a regular for the past 3 seasons.

The remaining signings have all been operating at a lower level.

If he’s not cutting it then is surprises me more than it would Heck’s other signings.

Are we sure we can say he is bad after only 1 competitive match?!?!

Didn't look at all interested, should have been hooked long before half-time.
    If that's ment to be an improvement on the players we already have, God help us.

Plays like he won a cereal packet competition to join the club for a week. Just don't see what he offers at all.

Quote Originally Posted by judas View Post
    I felt he was the pick of Heck’s signings tbh. He has played in the championship as a regular for the past 3 seasons.

The remaining signings have all been operating at a lower level.

If he’s not cutting it then is surprises me more than it would Heck’s other signings.

I agree with this, just need to find a system that suits Hibs and Joe best

Sounds harsh I know after only 90 minutes but what I seen today it’s a no from me

Couldnae lace Super Joes boots

How bad does Hecky think the standard is in the SPFL Premiership?

Didn’t impress me today. But willing to give him and the rest of the new boys a chance.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    I agree with this, just need to find a system that suits Hibs and Joe best
    I thought we had signed players to play a specific part in a system Hecky wants us to play?

Quote Originally Posted by SON OF PADDY View Post
    Didn't look at all interested, should have been hooked long before half-time.
    If that's ment to be an improvement on the players we already have, God help us.
    My worry is that PH doesn't appreciate genuine pace worries teams and if he thinks players like Newell will offer that (or genuine wing play) he's mistaken in Newell - I think he's awful so far.

Alan O'Brien's arthritic tortoise, but with less heart.

I don't like writing players off at the first showing, but I'd be amazed if he cuts it in the SPL. Amazed, but delighted.

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Alan O’Brien with a punctured tyre.
    Alan O'Brien on a motor bike, with a sidecar?

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    In the brief time I saw him at Dunfermline I was amazed to see that he just wasn't interested in tracking back. If you're low on confidence (the only excuse I can think of) then at least try to put a shift in.

Quote Originally Posted by judas View Post
    I’m sure folk can say he was bad in his only competitive match so far

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    I’m sure folk can say he was bad in his only competitive match so far
    I think the criticism is also there because he was dreadful against Dunfermline last week too.

Think I read a post about him being really bad against Carlisle but I may be getting mixed up there.

Sounds like he needs a wee spell out the firing line, I’d love to say he was possibly trying too hard but I don’t think that’s a criticism that could be labelled at him today.

The Super Joe experience is making a comeback to our screens like Toy Story, what a time to be alive

He is going to struggle due to his body language. He simply doesn't look interested. He also plays on the wing so he is at close quarters to the fans and there was one challenge that was a 60-40 in his favour in the first half he bottled out of completely. Fans just don't accept a player who isn't giving it their best. It looks a grim signing at the moment but he is settling into a new home, probably missing mates and working with different colleagues. There have been a few moments in games where he has shown some quality so let's hope he settles and becomes a useful member of the team.

Doidge is getting good reviews from fans simply because of his effort imo. He reminds me of Bryan Graham who was slated on here. Doidge certainly put a shift in but he looks far from clinical and I'm not sure he can play up to on his own. The same applies to him as Newell and he might end of settling and battering goals in for fun. Totally ok to be concerned with Hecks signings but they need a month or two to settle in. Very different moving from the midlands etc to Scotland than coming to us from central Scotland as many of our signings have recently.

Joe Newell

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    My worry is that PH doesn't appreciate genuine pace worries teams and if he thinks players like Newell will offer that (or genuine wing play) he's mistaken in Newell - I think he's awful so far.
    Yet P H when he met fans at the Hibs Club said he knew he wanted pace and strength in the team

Quote Originally Posted by Ronniekirk View Post
    Yet P H when he met fans at the Hibs Club said he knew he wanted pace and strength in the team

Unless Newell is just lacking sharpness/fitness, he contains neither of the qualities of pace or strength.

Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    He is going to struggle due to his body language. He simply doesn't look interested. He also plays on the wing so he is at close quarters to the fans and there was one challenge that was a 60-40 in his favour in the first half he bottled out of completely. Fans just don't accept a player who isn't giving it their best. It looks a grim signing at the moment but he is settling into a new home, probably missing mates and working with different colleagues. There have been a few moments in games where he has shown some quality so let's hope he settles and becomes a useful member of the team.

Doidge is getting good reviews from fans simply because of his effort imo. He reminds me of Bryan Graham who was slated on here. Doidge certainly put a shift in but he looks far from clinical and I'm not sure he can play up to on his own. The same applies to him as Newell and he might end of settling and battering goals in for fun. Totally ok to be concerned with Hecks signings but they need a month or two to settle in. Very different moving from the midlands etc to Scotland than coming to us from central Scotland as many of our signings have recently.

No being funny mate! But it's the midlands,hardly the other side of the world?

No its not but to your average 20 something English person, Scotland seems like it might be.

Quote Originally Posted by Renfrew_Hibby View Post
    No its not but to your average 20 something English person, Scotland seems like it might be.

I'm sure he had access to Google maps before he signed on the dotted line.

Either he's good enough or he's not. It's far too easy to say IMO but some folk have made their minds up already it seems. Which is great.

It is still a big move. Nowhere near as much as someone from overseas but still worth taking into consideration.The new signings haven't impressed me but I'll give them some time to settle

Quote Originally Posted by Renfrew_Hibby View Post
    Absolutely correct moving from Porty to Leith seemed like a big move

Quote Originally Posted by Ronniekirk View Post

Aye but Heck likes to improve players. Signing a slow *****bag gives him something to build on.