Page 20 of 27 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast
    Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Carlsberg football weekends.

A post match meal in La Favourita in LeithWalk. There’s better restaurants in Edinburgh, but just after a game it’s the perfect place to have something to eat.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member Radium's Avatar
    Malky Mackay’s tears

Liverpool reeling Citeh in

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    A post match meal in La Favourita in LeithWalk. There’s better restaurants in Edinburgh, but just after a game it’s the perfect place to have something to eat.
    I'd tend to go to Vittoria's but would agree that both are the quintessential pre/post football dining experience.

Hits that sweet spot between casual and quality and is remarkably consistent with great service. Plus you get 20% off!
    Mon the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    I couldn't see any recent threads on the quality of catering at Easter road so I'll pop it here - I thoroughly enjoyed my first taste of ER food for quite some time.

The macaroni pie was lovely. Very cheesy and a well baked pastry. The chips (if that's what they are - v-shaped hollowed wedges) were also a big step up and enjoyable.

I'd forgotten ST holders got a discount but the girl promoted it from me and when I flashed my card the price for both items came down to £4.86 which I think is great value.

Eating them in the sunshine was the highlight of the first half.
    Mon the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Seeing the result of hard work and trying to improve.

In an attempt to shift a bit of timber I signed up to one of the Man Vs. Fat football leagues a few months back. The league hasn't started yet as the training grounds we're playing on are undergoing redevelopment so we've started playing fives on a Tuesday evening. Hadn't played in over ten years so when I first went and was embarrassed to how far I'd regressed. No first touch, couldn't finish a fish supper (scuffed into the keepers hands or blasted miles over), passing awful, cardio awful, defending awful - no redeeming qualities whatsoever.

Injured myself second week in (partially torn calf) and was out for a few weeks. Back three weeks, groin pull. Back two weeks, turned my ankle.

Been combining jogging with cold water swimming to strengthen my cardio and started off with being better at closing people down, putting in more unseen work in the Matty Jack role and seen an improvement that way.

Started watching a lot of YouTube videos on drills I could try to improve on first touch and passing. Started seeing an improvement in two touch passing. One touch stuff still a bit iffy but will work on that soon.

Bought a ball from the shops and gone down to the local park with goalposts in the evening when it's dark and practised shooting and getting both power and placement. Took my partner's hula hoop down a couple of nights and practised longer passing.

I'm still in no way a good footballer (I was half decent at centre back at schools level but that was a couple of decades ago and quite a few stones ago as well) but gone from being by a mile the worst footballer there to somewhere approaching the middle of the pack, despite three injuries.

Left last night with a genuine feeling of excitement, a bit of pride and buzzing for next week. Love seeing the work at quite frankly anything pay off.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post

Injured myself second week in (partially torn calf) and was out for a few weeks. Back three weeks, groin pull. Back two weeks, turned my ankle.
    Carry that on & you'll get a deal with Hibs in no time!

PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

When you buy a book about your old army unit and find you've got a mention.

Sent from my SM-A505FN using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    I'd tend to go to Vittoria's but would agree that both are the quintessential pre/post football dining experience.

Hits that sweet spot between casual and quality and is remarkably consistent with great service. Plus you get 20% off!
    Sorry to interrupt the thread but what's the 20% for - being a season ticket holder?

I'm thinking of going in for a meal for the first time in quite a while so was just curious.

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    Sorry to interrupt the thread but what's the 20% for - being a season ticket holder?

I'm thinking of going in for a meal for the first time in quite a while so was just curious.
    Aye you get 20% of the food at Vittoria’s and La Favourita.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Aye you get 20% of the food at Vittoria’s and La Favourita.

Thanks - I'm merely a walk-up punter so not one I'll be benefitting from, but a good incentive all the same

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post

That's pretty cool

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Brilliant. Anti gravitational training looks a lot like falling off the roof of a van.

Quote Originally Posted by Craig_HFC View Post
    Carry that on & you'll get a deal with Hibs in no time!

If it helps, as well as being perma-injured I'm also ***** at scoring goals

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    That's pretty cool
    Thanks, it was a nice wee surprise, put a well needed smile on my face.

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Brilliant. Anti gravitational training looks a lot like falling off the roof of a van.
    You sussed us out, we were hoping to scare the Soviets a wee bit.

I thought it was Aussie troops doing manoeuvres! 😉

that’s brilliant mate

@hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar

Very good.
    It reminds me of reading about David Stirling's special forces guys during the second world war leaping from the back of a fast moving lorry onto hard stoney ground during paratroop training to simulate a hard parachute landing. Lots of broken bones and sore bits, but it worked 😬

Ps, you must be quite an auld fella if those pics of you are in black and white,before colour photography was invented 🤔

😁👍

Last edited by Eaststand; 03-03-2022 at 10:19 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I thought it was Aussie troops doing manoeuvres!

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    that’s brilliant mate
    One for the scrapbook.

Quote Originally Posted by Eaststand View Post
    Very good.
    It reminds me of reading about David Stirling's special forces guys during the second world war leaping from the back of a fast moving lorry onto hard stoney ground during paratroop training to simulate a hard parachute landing. Lots of broken bones and sore bits, but it worked

Ps, you must be quite an auld fella if those pics of you are in black and white,before colour photography was invented

Ancient codger. I used to bore Percy Sugden with military yarns.

Edit: You're probably too young to have a clue about what I'm waffling on about.

@hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibrandenburg View Post
    ancient codger. I used to bore percy sugden with military yarns.

Edit: You're probably too young to have a clue about what i'm waffling on about.

Sent from my sm-a505fn using tapatalk
    👍🙂

Quote Originally Posted by Eaststand View Post
    Very good.
    It reminds me of reading about David Stirling's special forces guys during the second world war leaping from the back of a fast moving lorry onto hard stoney ground during paratroop training to simulate a hard parachute landing. Lots of broken bones and sore bits, but it worked 😬

Ps, you must be quite an auld fella if those pics of you are in black and white,before colour photography was invented 🤔

😁👍

My dad and his mate went for that near the end of the war when they joined up, he told me he watched the guys doing it and thought **** that, ended up at Glencourse in the Royal Scots.

Me and my daughter were in Livingston today to go to St John's to have her bandages and stitches removed from an op she had last week (op No 30!). It was an ear reconstruction op and meant she has had bandages round her head for 9 days now and hasn't been able to have a proper shower or bath. Anyway we were in the Amondvale centre and went into Lush to get her a bath bomb for her bath. So she chose one and when we were paying for it the lady who served us asked her about having a nice bath and my daughter told her the story about the op and no bath etc. The woman asked her if there were any other bath bombs she liked and when she said yes and told her which one the women went over and gave her one of them for free and told her to enjoy her bath. A lovely gesture and almost had me in tears. Always great to see human kindness when uts unexpected

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Me and my daughter were in Livingston today to go to St John's to have her bandages and stitches removed from an op she had last week (op No 30!). It was an ear reconstruction op and meant she has had bandages round her head for 9 days now and hasn't been able to have a proper shower or bath. Anyway we were in the Amondvale centre and went into Lush to get her a bath bomb for her bath. So she chose one and when we were paying for it the lady who served us asked her about having a nice bath and my daughter told her the story about the op and no bath etc. The woman asked her if there were any other bath bombs she liked and when she said yes and told her which one the women went over and gave her one of them for free and told her to enjoy her bath. A lovely gesture and almost had me in tears. Always great to see human kindness when uts unexpected
    Quality! Sorry to hear your daughter has had such a rough time of it lately, hopefully she now enjoys two well-deserved baths 👍

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Was out for a nice walk yesterday, half way through my right side of my foot started to get a bit sore by time I got home I was limping and still am, never went over on it or anything like that and no bruising or swelling just when my foot goes a certain way a nasty pain, is this just wear and tear and heal with a bit rest.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Was out for a nice walk yesterday, half way through my right side of my foot started to get a bit sore by time I got home I was limping and still am, never went over on it or anything like that and no bruising or swelling just when my foot goes a certain way a nasty pain, is this just wear and tear and heal with a bit rest.
    And that gave you pleasusre?

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    And that gave you pleasusre?
    The nice walk did sore foot didn’t