Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Carlisle boozers

Any recommendations of where to go when arriving in Carlisle at lunch time?

Quote Originally Posted by H18 SFR View Post
    Back to Scotland?

Ps but if you like nice beer, I believe the interestingly-named Fat Gadgie is good. But I have never been there personally, and never been particularly inspired by trips to Carlisle ('though in fairness they have all been very quick passing-through/stopping off, so I could be being unjust) .

Gamertag: Rehabacrossthesea Wii Code: 4040
    Why, or how, would anyone know of boozers in Carlisle, unless they come from Carlisle?

Caley Hotel, cheap as chips on a Tuesday.
    Walkabout £2.50 a pint
    Border Rambler cheap
    Spoons and Lloyds about 100 yds apart v cheap

I'm not from Belinda so might be talking pish.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucy Brown View Post
    Why, or how, would anyone know of boozers in Carlisle, unless they come from Carlisle?
    Can you possibly be the bell end you come across as? If so well done.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Walkabout £2.50 a pint
    Border Rambler cheap

Thanks for that.

Went down for a friendly about ten years ago, police where brutal, we lost too.

Thanks for that.
    Nice to be of service to a fellow Hibs punter. 🍻

Hutchy knows plenty, he’s well known for his knowledge of boozers particularly Carlisle.

Nice to be of service to a fellow Hibs punter. 🍻
    I'm leaving a pint behind the bar for you in each of those pubs!

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Went down for a friendly about ten years ago, police where brutal, we lost too.
    Same here police escort out the boozer after the game after a few of the locals started their *****, me and Ma mate we’re fine we were standing next to the pool table so swiftly had a couple of cues in our hands before the police stormed the boozer. Good trip though 😂

Griffin outside the station is where most went the last time.

Just outside the railway station is a few wotherspoons and a lloyds on the corner, across from the first Wotherspoons there is a pub whose name eludes me, it has a cheap drink deal on a tuesday, its next door to the hotel, i was there recently and it could take a lot of fans, dont know how far from the ground tho
    B

The pub is along from the County Hotel, Griffin is on the corner,the William Rufus is the first Wotherspoons, its in an area called Botchergate

Anyone know a good place to park when getting there at 2pm. Ground is around 10/ 15 mins walk from the town so will prob park up there but not sure if there is street parking, anyone know?
    Cougars!!!

Walkabout £2.50 a pint
    Border Rambler cheap

I live in Carlisle and you are spot on. Caledonian also at top of Botchergate but no sports clothing allowed but cheap. Lots of choice on the Botchergate and only 10 to 15 minute walk to the ground. Arriving at lunchtime will miss any police escort as they are fond of these for visiting fans from the train station !

Quote Originally Posted by HH81 View Post
    Anyone know a good place to park when getting there at 2pm. Ground is around 10/ 15 mins walk from the town so will prob park up there but not sure if there is street parking, anyone know?
    Most of the street parking is disc zone between 1 and 2 hours. You can park at Stoneyholme Golf Course which is near the river and 10 minute walk to town or the ground.very easy to get to. Good for food and beer also and a pint is £2.70 i think and food cheap but large portions. Ignore the sign about being for golfers only as this is a very old sign and dog walkers and other sports people using nearby pitches never have a problem. My son in law is a traffic warden and they dont patrol there

Quote Originally Posted by h18eeynick View Post
    Most of the street parking is disc zone between 1 and 2 hours. You can park at Stoneyholme Golf Course which is near the river and 10 minute walk to town or the ground.very easy to get to. Good for food and beer also and a pint is £2.70 i think and food cheap but large portions. Ignore the sign about being for golfers only as this is a very old sign and dog walkers and other sports people using nearby pitches never have a problem. My son in law is a traffic warden and they dont patrol there
    That's very helpful, thanks.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Book of Kamberi View Post
    That's very helpful, thanks.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
    No probs. Just remembered that the road down to the car park at Stoneyholm , St Aidens Road is a free non disc parking area and usually a few spaces available . Quick access also on to Warwick Road which takes you straight out to the motorway

Still not sure if pay at the gate will be an option for the Hibs end. Might have to go in the home end . One of my neighbours works for Carlise United and she doesnt know. Not really a problem for a friendly ! Just good to have a 10 minute walk rather than a 2 hour each way drive to see the Hibees !

Can you possibly be the bell end you come across as? If so well done.
    I’m not.

It was a wee ‘tongue in cheek’ comment, hence the appropriate smiley.

No offence was intended and, if any was caused, I apologise.

I’m not.

It was a wee ‘tongue in cheek’ comment, hence the appropriate smiley.

No offence was intended and, if any was caused, I apologise.
    Nae bother. 👍 Bevvy might've made me a tad tetchy!

Ta.

I’d had a couple of refreshers myself, so that, plus the fact that sarcasm etc. doesn’t always work on the inter web, did make my post look a bit bad.

Note to self: Don’t post when half canned!

Good to see people make up and apologise on this site ! Far too much bitching and the odd inappropiate comment. Its a thumbs up from me for your humble responses

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    I can recommend a good hotel in Carlisle if Hutchy and Lucy need a room like. And I’m not from there or anything.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    I can recommend a good hotel in Carlisle if Hutchy and Lucy need a room like. And I’m not from there or anything.
    If there's room for my old man & uncle 😳

There are other websites for this sort of thing

Quote Originally Posted by h18eeynick View Post
    Good to see people make up and apologise on this site ! Far too much bitching and the odd inappropiate comment. Its a thumbs up from me for your humble responses
    Humble pie is sometimes quite a tasty dish.

I’ll take a PM.

Too far.

There are other websites for this sort of thing
    And most inappropriate they are too.

I worked in Carlisle many years ago when the still had the State Management Pubs. We often went to one called the Citadel(?).

The pubs in Carlisle were nationalised during the First World War because of the large munitions factory there. Somehow they state in state ownership right through to the 1970s. They were sold off to Greenall Whitley and went right down the pan.

Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    I worked in Carlisle many years ago when the still had the State Management Pubs. We often went to one called the Citadel(?).

The pubs in Carlisle were nationalised during the First World War because of the large munitions factory there. Somehow they state in state ownership right through to the 1970s. They were sold off to Greenall Whitley and went right down the pan.
    A couple of them display the evidence of the era. Sportsman’s bar is one of them and the lovely old Howard Arms is worth a visit if it’s still going.