Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Quote Originally Posted by green with envy View Post
    Did you used to get on at the Gunner?
    No we went up to Easter Road, but I did live two minutes down the road from the Gunner in West Granton.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Hi Fred
    Always, for some reason stuck in my mind that James scored in that game.
    Faint memory is we were sunbathing on the terracing ! It was a scorcher.
    It was indeed, and we got a mention in the Coventry evening paper for ‘making ourselves known’ with the noise we made.

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Vini1875 View Post
    No we went up to Easter Road, but I did live two minutes down the road from the Gunner in West Granton.
    I was talking in general as opposed to this particular game. I remember someone fitting your description that used to go with Billy Riley from the Pilton area?

This has been a brilliant thread

Back in the day from 1968 I followed HIBS home and away all the way through to the eighties

Many good laughs brilliant away days loads of scary stories a true Band of Brothers with one common interest Hibernian Football Club

As we journeyed through the early seventies my one abiding life long memory is watching the phenomenon that was Turnbulls Tornadoes

How good was that team?

I feel sorry for any Hibby that did not see that great team in much the same way as my Dad used to feel sorry for me because I never saw the Famous Five

Happy Fathers Day guys!

I was talking in general as opposed to this particular game. I remember someone fitting your description that used to go with Billy Riley from the Pilton area?
    Aye that's me. Vini from West Granton

Unreal, if it's the same Vini that knows Ian Robertson and Brian etc that used to or still travel on the Glasgow Hibs bus?

Great thread. I am enjoying reading all the stories.

Unreal, if it's the same Vini that knows Ian Robertson and Brian etc that used to or still travel on the Glasgow Hibs bus?
    The very same. I've been in Glasgow for about 30 odd years
    Last edited by Vini1875; 17-06-2019 at 11:21 AM.

The very same. I've been in Glasgow for about 30 odd years
    Ha, Even though I lived a mere 5/10 minutes from you (Royston) from your description earlier on in this thread I do remember you getting on the bus from time to time, I barely knew you back then but I now remember the Doc Martins, Levis & flight jacket etc. However I do know you a lot better nowadays and have done for a good few years but never made the past connection till now.

I'll be sure to put you out your misery to who this is the next time I see you.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Supporters buses wi the empty cans of Tartan and Skol rattling up and doon the bus bursting oan a pish

The whip roond for Wee Hughie that got lifted post match

The basic Football Special Trains that took you oot to the sticks and left you sitting for ages

Hibees!
    Most supporters in Germany still frequently use football special trains. And they can drink on them too.
    Its just all wrong over here in Scotland. Sad.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by EI255 View Post
    Most supporters in Germany still frequently use football special trains. And they can drink on them too.
    Its just all wrong over here in Scotland. Sad.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by JohnMcM View Post
    Worcesterhibby started a thread about Jambo cars. It got me to thinking.

In the 60's before we could all afford to buy and run a car, how did you get about for the nearer away day matches.

Our choice was mostly the match day buses from St Andrew's Square which you had to buy your ticket for the day before the match.

Fond memories of the singing, and drinking (within moderation of course) with frequent singing requests to the driver to "stop the bus we need a "wee-wee".

Many a a driver had the hat passed around for them, very often very profitably for them.

The trips on the old Bluebirds until the more modern buses came along were a simple joy.

Using the train for the further afield matches often gave the chance of being in the same or the next carriage used by the team and staff. Wish I still had all those programmes with all those autographs though.

Supporters bus from Hawick or my mates dad's old Austin packed with Hibbies and top speed 45 mph.