Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Scott Allan

Scott Allan

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...turn-1-4937499

Apparently in the best shape of his career and took up yoga in January to make sure he is in top condition before pre season starts.

@hibs.net private member The Spaceman's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post

Apparently in the best shape of his career and took up yoga in January to make sure he is in top condition before pre season starts.
    Follow him on Instagram - he has definitely been putting in a shift at some private football training complex. If he still has the same brain, then we are in for one hell of a midfielder next season.

Very excited at the prospect of seeing Allan and Boyle back on the pitch.

Think he could have a great understanding with Sparky mcnulty who makes great off the ball runs.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Think he could have a great understanding with Sparky mcnulty who makes great off the ball runs.
    That could take a hoof of Berra proportions if he's still at Reading 😀

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    Looking forward to seeing him ping one straight into touch from the kick off. Think he’ll have great accuracy to gain some good territory.

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post

Follow him on Instagram and yeah he's been working on his fitness a lot

@hibs.net private member jeffers's Avatar
    Hopefully another season with us playing as we know he can and he’ll be in the Scotland squad where his talent belongs. Getting a player of his ability at 27 on a three year deal is a fantastic bit of business. Really excited to see him again next season along with hopefully McNulty up front and Omeonga beside him.

Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post
    That could take a hoof of Berra proportions if he's still at Reading 😀
    Hoping he wont be.

The consensus among professionals seems to be that there's no substitute for game time, so fit or not it will probably take him a wee while to get up to speed.

Can't wait for Saturday and he's back in the right shade eh green

Quote Originally Posted by Easter Rising View Post
    Looking forward to seeing him ping one straight into touch from the kick off. Think he’ll have great accuracy to gain some good territory.
    Ho ho!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian32 View Post
    Can't wait for Saturday and he's back in the right shade eh green
    Emerald or Bottle :)

Quote Originally Posted by The Spaceman View Post
    Follow him on Instagram - he has definitely been putting in a shift at some private football training complex. If he still has the same brain, then we are in for one hell of a midfielder next season.
    As long as Marty Feldman isn't handling his affairs he will probably come with the same brain.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    The consensus among professionals seems to be that there's no substitute for game time, so fit or not it will probably take him a wee while to get up to speed.
    Plenty of friendlies and cup ties to get everyone up to speed before the league season starts

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
    As long as Marty Feldman isn't handling his affairs he will probably come with the same brain.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Follow him on Instagram and yeah he's been working on his fitness a lot
    Good to hear he's not been doing a Vanecek.

Marciano

Gray Porteous Hanlon Stevenson

Boyle Allan Omeonga Horgan

Kamberi McNulty

Would do for me

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Cocaine&Caviar View Post
    Marciano

Kamberi McNulty

Would do for me
    That midfield would be unbelievable going forwards but would get absolutely pumped defensively.

Marciano

Kamberi McNulty

Would do for me
    Definitely need a more defensive midfielder in there in place of Boyle/Horgan/Kamberi/McNulty IMO.

PSN ID: pesus-ab
    Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    That midfield would be unbelievable going forwards but would get absolutely pumped defensively.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Aye a tend to agree with this, so I think fans are going to have to show a bit of patience it may well take him half a season to get up speed, when he has game time under his belt we'll see the real SA don't forget he was player of the year in a championship that included hertz and the rangers that's what got him the move to celtic an unquestionable talent and a great bit of business to get him at 27 on a 3 year deal.

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 147lothian View Post
    Aye a tend to agree with this, so I think fans are going to have to show a bit of patience it may well take him half a season to get up speed, when he has game time under his belt we'll see the real SA don't forget he was player of the year in a championship that included hertz and the rangers that's what got him the move to celtic an unquestionable talent and a great bit of business to get him at 27 on a 3 year deal.
    Disagree with that part.

He may not have played competitive football for a year however he will be starting on the same foot as every other player next season.
    He will have a full pre-season under his belt so I don't expect him to have any problem getting up to speed.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by KeithTheHibby View Post
    Disagree with that part.

He may not have played competitive football for a year however he will be starting on the same foot as every other player next season.
    He will have a full pre-season under his belt so I don't expect him to have any problem getting up to speed.
    Agreed, I think it gets longer every time someone mentions it. Used to be "a couple of games", then "a couple of weeks", then months and now its half a season.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    Agreed, I think it gets longer every time someone mentions it. Used to be "a couple of games", then "a couple of weeks", then months and now its half a season.
    Yup. If a player needs more than one or two games to get up to speed then there’s something wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    Yup. If a player needs more than one or two games to get up to speed then there’s something wrong.
    How long til someone blames his diabetes for a poor performance?

Marciano

Kamberi McNulty

Would do for me
    McGeouch for Kamberi (with the obvious formation adjustment) and I'd take it along with some competition/back-up for McNulty and wide positions.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    We need Mallan in our starting eleven IMO. Swapping Kamberi for McGeouch would remove goals from up front and if we were to drop Mallan that’s another 20-30 goals from assists or goals from him we’d need to replace.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

First Team Regular ArmadaleHibs's Avatar
    Steve Mallan is the players player and fans player of the year. His goals in a semi decent side have been invaluable. In a better side he will get even better. I have no doubt. He should and I would imagine will start every game. I can’t wait to see him alongside scotty allan

Luckily Scott is a confident boy as the pressure on him is incredible.

He’s one of my favourite players though, in terms of style, vision and flair. He should be one of the best midfielders in the league and is yet to discover his best form as he’s made some poor career moves.

From January to end of last season he was absolutely brilliant and had added a real work rate and goals to his game, think he scored 4? I can see him playing in the hole for heck or potentially on the left of a 4 as Omeonga done for us.

No way should Mallan be dropped and I don’t expect him to, I think people have got too carried away with what Heckingbottom has said about pace, power etc. If you look at his Barnsley team it was a relatively small midfield, they were however fit and competitive all over the park with real drive and directness out wide.

I expect us to sign a sitting midfielder with legs to get about the park and put pressure on players with the tactical knowledge of when to sit etc.

I think he is more concerned about 1 vs 1 positions out wide and up top, being able to pin teams back and drive at them or go over the top. If you have that out ball teams get scared and sit off, leaving more space in the middle for guys like Allan, Mallan etc.

Lloyd Isgrove. Connor Hourihane. Josh Brownhill Adam Hammil

That was his midfield at Barnsley when they won the final. Not one of them is over 6 ft.