View Poll Results: Will Brexit happen on 31st October?

105. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

45 42.86%
  • No

60 57.14%
Page 14 of 272 FirstFirst ... 412131415162464114 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    This is the point we've now reached: the brave new world of limitless possibilities we were promised were waiting for us outside the EU has shrunk to 'British Bulldog spirit'.

Hey we* survived 2 world wars you know!

* give or take a million or so.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Hey we* survived 2 world wars you know!

* give or take a million or so.
    We had Hong Kong before we joined the EU, and now look at it.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/f...3_VT5w.twitter

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Good read, thanks for sharing.

For those with Netflix, ‘The Great Hack’ is an interesting watch.

https://amp.theguardian.com/politics...mpression=true

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    So the British government couldn't be arsed claiming the money they were entitled to from individual EU countries but now find it worthwhile to claim from individual people after Brexit. A non story but a vote winner amongst the Gammons. Strap yourself in, there's an election on the way.

https://www.businessinsider.com/nhs-...19-8?r=US&IR=T

For those with Netflix, ‘The Great Hack’ is an interesting watch.

I watched it the other week. Carol Cadwalladr is very enlightening.

Cambridge analytica, had their paws all over Brexit.

Brittany Kaiser's part in the whole affair is extremely worrying.

What's next.
    Last edited by ronaldo7; 14-08-2019 at 04:05 PM.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Collaborators everywhere. Shouldn't she be getting her head shaved?

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    UK must accept USA food standards for any trade deals, says Zippy.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-49353220
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    UK must accept USA food standards for any trade deals, says Zippy.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-49353220
    Let's see what Prime Minister Bungle has to say about this.

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    Let's see what Prime Minister Bungle has to say about this.
    I’ve just caught up with this thread, and I’m so annoyed that someone beat me to the Bungle joke.

As an off topic aside, I’m going through cold turkey with Edinburgh beer prices after 10 days in Slovenia. 😱

Tory mp ready to back Corbyn’s plan.

And Grieve, Boles, Letwin, the Greens, Plaid and SNP all willing to at least engage.

Wtf are the Libs on? Actually, what is the point of the Libs anyway? When was the last time they achieved anything "liberal"?

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    And Grieve, Boles, Letwin, the Greens, Plaid and SNP all willing to at least engage.

Wtf are the Libs on? Actually, what is the point of the Libs anyway? When was the last time they achieved anything "liberal"?
    They’ll cave under pressure. Swinson has misjudged the situation.

Just watched Swinson being interviewed on c4, she's all over the place.

Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by stoneyburn hibs View Post
    The usual then. Channel 4 seems to be the only British broadcasting network that asks politicans and leaders the questions that they should all be asking them.

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar

As self-serving now as when they propped up Cameron. They were given a 2nd chance at the Euros and it's given them ideas way above their actual station. I can't stand the man, but if the best way of stopping the current clown in chief from hurtling us over the cliff, is to unite under Corbyn, then so be it. Swinson needs a wee reality check

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar

Do you think her proposal of an anti-Brexit temporary government under Harriet Harman or Ken Clarke is worse than Corbyn’s proposal where he leads things?
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    Do you think her proposal of an anti-Brexit temporary government under Harriet Harman or Ken Clarke is worse than Corbyn’s proposal where he leads things?
    If it's a temporary position with the sole purpose of steering the UK away from Brexit, then why does she care if it's Corbyn?

If she wants it to be Ken Clarke so badly, then why doesn't she give up her own leadership to him, instead of expecting Corbyn to give up his position to a tory?

The lib dems can do a direct swap, one tory leader for another.

If any vote of no confidence fails by a margin that the Lib Dems could have influenced then Swinson will decimate their vote more than Clegg ever did in a fraction of the time. Hopefully their MPs will disobey any whip and vote with their conscience.

Quote Originally Posted by Fife-Hibee View Post
    If it's a temporary position with the sole purpose of steering the UK away from Brexit, then why does she care if it's Corbyn?

If she wants it to be Ken Clarke so badly, then why doesn't she give up her own leadership to him, instead of expecting Corbyn to give up his position to a tory?

The lib dems can do a direct swap, one tory leader for another.
    You are falling for sectarian politics I suspect.

There are many Remainers on either side who could stomach Harman or Clarke if it meant avoiding the cataclysm, but crucially what also unites them is a complete lack of trust in Corbyn.

That mistrust is less about his competence, though he has repeatedly shown he is incompetent, it is more to do with him being happy to allow Brexit to happen in the first place.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

No, I think her proposal is much better. The problem is she has to recognise the fact that she has a much smaller amount of mp’s.
    I can see why they are wary. The GE would be fought with Corbyn as PM and labour being presented as the remain party. This would kill the Lib Dem revival.
    She should not rule out Corbyn leading the temp govt but she would be mad not to get some major concessions from Labour including a non aggression pact in seats where Lib Dem’s are biggest challenge to the Tories or where Lib Dem’s have a sitting MP.
    It would take a lot of horse trading to get to a situation where the remain parties could say they have a deal but they have to start somewhere and they need to start now.

Quote Originally Posted by stoneyburn hibs View Post
    My son has just described her as a female Macron. Fair comment?

No, I think her proposal is much better. The problem is she has to recognise the fact that she has a much smaller amount of mp’s.
    I can see why they are wary. The GE would be fought with Corbyn as PM and labour being presented as the remain party. This would kill the Lib Dem revival.
    She should not rule out Corbyn leading the temp govt but she would be mad not to get some major concessions from Labour including a non aggression pact in seats where Lib Dem’s are biggest challenge to the Tories or where Lib Dem’s have a sitting MP.
    It would take a lot of horse trading to get to a situation where the remain parties could say they have a deal but they have to start somewhere and they need to start now.

Good analysis. My fear is the swivel heads like Seamas Milne will stick rigorously to the purity of their ideology and pull Corbyn’s strings in whichever way they want. Which will be Brexit in whatever form, but hey, it is ideologically pure.........
    Yip, I still think Labour is the biggest problem for a deal.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    My son has just described her as a female Macron. Fair comment?
    Haha, well she is beginning to get rather gauling 😁

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    It’s crap like that that lost the Republicans the Civil war in Spain. Strong parallels.

The Left being unable to unite themselves against a galvanised Fascist leader.

Quote Originally Posted by Bristolhibby View Post
    It’s crap like that that lost the Republicans the Civil war in Spain. Strong parallels.

The Left being unable to unite themselves against a galvanised Fascist leader.

Sheer honesty, I replied to your post because I interpreted it one way and then when I posted my reply I read your post differently, so I deleted my post!

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Sheer honesty, I replied to your post because I interpreted it one way and then when I posted my reply I read your post differently, so I deleted my post!
    Fair play. (I didn’t see your first post).