Thread: Bartley penalty

Hybrid View

Bartley penalty

Seen as we can't move up nor down on Sunday, if we get a penalty is big Marv on it? Would love to see him score for the cabbage

Testimonial Due Stokesy's on fire's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by steelendhibs View Post
    Seen as we can't move up nor down on Sunday, if we get a penalty is big Marv on it? Would love to see him score for the cabbage

surely!

No chance unless we were 2 or 3 up at the time. This isnt a pub league game.

I'd throw the game on the chance to see Marv score. I wasn't on the pitch at the cup final but if Marv scores I'd riot.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    I'd throw the game on the chance to see Marv score. I wasn't on the pitch at the cup final but if Marv scores I'd riot.
    That is the last thing the club needs.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    No chance unless we were 2 or 3 up at the time. This isnt a pub league game.
    0-0 in the nintieth minute and Hibs get a pen. I'm sure Marv would want the team to win in his final game, so there won't be any sentiment involved in who takes the pen.

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Definitely let him take it. Nothing game for us.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    Definitely let him take it. Nothing game for us.

We still want to win it though.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    We still want to win it though.

Of course. He’ll rip the net off.

If he doesn't even start on sunday we riot.

He'd probably still try and lay it off for someone else.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    I don't know if I've ever seen Marv strike a ball with his laces in all the years playing for us - not that you need to do so to take a penalty, mind you.

Like the idea and would love to see him score - think we'll be taking the game more seriously than that though.

@hibs.net private member Kojock's Avatar
    Don’t think Marv will start and will only get on the last 10 min or so. Good luck big fella it was a pleasure to have met you.

gie the baw tae Marv

I'm flying in from Zurich for this game, the team had better be taking it seriously. We should be finishing above Hearts on more than goal difference.

But yeah, Marv scores we riot.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Kojock View Post
    Don’t think Marv will start and will only get on the last 10 min or so. Good luck big fella it was a pleasure to have met you.
    He will still get booked.

I doubt very much he'll start or take any penalties but I certainly hope he gets on as he deserves a great send off - he's been a great servant to the Hibees

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Blurry Face View Post
    Ha ha ha ha ha ha.
    A penalty against Aberdeen, what an imagination.
    Or a memory from a year ago.
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by Blurry Face View Post
    Ha ha ha ha ha ha.
    A penalty against Aberdeen, what an imagination.
    Is Shinnie refereeing - err, sorry, playing? In which case, no pen!

He has to start and if we get a penalty he has to take it. It’s a meaningless game and it’s not as if he’s become a liability. He’s been brilliant for us and he’d be brilliant if he plays on Sunday.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    He’d probably miss it like Ian Murray did in his testimonial

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post

Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    I assume he'd pass it to the keeper's feet, then tackle keeper and ball into the net.

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    But would he also turn down the offer of the second one 5 minutes later?

First and foremost Hibs should be trying to win to the best of their ability. Unless we're out of sight Marv shouldn't be anywhere near a penalty. Don't even think he should start to be brutally honest. Hope he gets a brilliant send off though.

In the unlikely event of us getting a referee decision on our favour against them, one hundred percent Marvin should take the penalty.

No chance, it’s not a testimonial it’s a league game and I would hope Hibs will remain professional throughout and leave the sentiment until after the final whistle. He would never normally get near taking a penalty and there is no reason he should on Sunday either.

Love Marv as much as the next man but I'd rather give a player with a future at the club the game time. If he were to come on as a sub for some reason I'd absolutely love it though. There'll be a few supporters with something in their eyes i think.

Hibs get a penalty against Aberdeen?...good yin!

I'd much rather see big Marv empty Shinnie with one last bone cruncher than score.