HIBS v ST MIRREN LOTHIAN BUSES ON STRIKE

LOTHIAN BUSES ON STRIKE

Hopefully might be resolved but Lothian Buses are due to go on strike on Friday 2/8/2019 coming for maximum effect to hit the Edinburgh Festivals and might disrupt services on the day of the big match

Lothian Buses advise customers to keep up to date on their Facebook page

We could have an unofficial car share. People with spare seats could arrange to pick up and drop off those toiling for transport.

With the various social media platforms available to Hibs fans it could work.

Got 3 spare seats coming fae stirling 😂🤣

Left by mutual consent! Turnbullsmate's Avatar
    We could have an unofficial car share. People with spare seats could arrange to pick up and drop off those toiling for transport.

With the various social media platforms available to Hibs fans it could work.
    good thinking there

Thanfully the privatisation of the bus services introduced much needed competition, like the Tories promised it would, so there's loads of alternative bus companies we can use instead.

👍

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Thanfully the privatisation of the bus services introduced much needed competition, like the Tories promised it would, so there's loads of alternative bus companies we can use instead.

👍
    Bit political there Keith...go sit on the naughty step and put your tin helmet on

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post

👍
    Ok name them in Edinburgh...especially those who get you to ER

@hibs.net private member Alex Trager's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibbyfraelibby View Post
    Haha. I am confident the post was a piss take.

Think you have been whooshed

I think it will all be fixed today! Plans are afoot to resolve the situation this morning.

Is it an ongoing strike then and not just for one day?

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    Says it’s a discontinuous strike so I would assume a series of 1 day strikes until agreement is reached.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Are the trams still on?

Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post
    Think you have been whooshed
    But I need to know if I can catch a charabanc to the game on Saturday or if I shall have to engage a hansome cab🤔

Assuming first buses, borders buses and east coast buses still running plus trains and trams.

And i would walk 500 miles............. erm nah i'll wait for the buses to get back runnin

At the moment it is all out from Friday at 3am

Quote Originally Posted by BS44 View Post
    At the moment it is all out from Friday at 3am
    Cheers B. I might just stay in town all week then

Do you think it'll be smoothed over by the end of this week?

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Assuming first buses, borders buses and east coast buses still running plus trains and trams.
    East coast is part of Lothian Buses I think so they might be on strike as well.

United we stand here....

Cheers B. I might just stay in town all week then

Do you think it'll be smoothed over by the end of this week?
    Unless the council get involved I think industrial action will go ahead.

Quote Originally Posted by BS44 View Post
    Unless the council get involved I think industrial action will go ahead.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    East coast buses are running.

Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    East coast buses are running.

The two services an hour* they provide from Abbeyhill to the Ciy Centre are gonna be pretty busy, though.

* I'm probably exaggerating, they might have as many as three.

Whoosh! :

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    LRT East Coast buses are not affected by this .... Not yet anyway>

I recall something similar when i was a youngster.
    Buses off. Snow or strike, i cant remember.
    But we couldnae get a bus fae Clerry
    So a gang of us walked it ;)

Shanks Pony for you younger guys

Easy Peasy !!

Ma Grandad and his pals from The Market once walked to Glasgow for a game.
    Left the day before and camped overnight on the way !!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 29-07-2019 at 12:56 PM.

The late Sammy Martinez once got left after a game at Montrose or somewhere like that and walked back to Edinburgh.

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Are the trams still on?
    Yes

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    LRT East Coast buses are not affected by this .... Not yet anyway>

I recall something similar when i was a youngster.
    Buses off. Snow or strike, i cant remember.
    But we couldnae get a bus fae Clerry
    So a gang of us walked it ;)

Shanks Pony for you younger guys

Easy Peasy !!

Ma Grandad and his pals from The Market once walked to Glasgow for a game.
    Left the day before and camped overnight on the way !!
    Anything that takes you out of Clerry is worth the walk....bunch of pretend ****bos there. Methinks i might know you Mick, did you peeve in the Oak, Mid Yoken or The Pub (Barnton Hotel dirty bar) ?

Quote Originally Posted by Turnballsmate View Post
    Anything that takes you out of Clerry is worth the walk....bunch of pretend ****bos there. Methinks i might know you Mick, did you peeve in the Oak, Mid Yoken or The Pub (Barnton Hotel dirty bar) ?

No many pubs oot this way i did not use over the years.
    The Oak and Barnton public bar were mostly jamboes.

Ma wee pal Tattie wiz a jambo regular in the Barnton.
    Some guy Tattie (RIP)

Andy Goram used to pop in theref or a game of dominoes.

And of course Eddie Turnbull popped in now and then.
    I once aked him that oft asked question.

Why did you release Jimmy ?
    He had mellowed a bit by then and agreed with what most other Hibernians thought at the time .
    Too soon.

Ma brothers Billy and John used the Oak more than me back in the day.
    They didnae get any grief fae jamboes in there !
    (or anywhere else for that matter)

The Clerry Inn now is mainly Hibby's and a few Celts.

I was in the Mid last Thursday afternoon.(heatwave day)
    Sitting ootside wae some regulars.

All bar one a Hibernian, including 3 ST holders.

OoPs...Off Topic

Haud the bus, driver !!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 29-07-2019 at 03:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by southsider View Post
    The late Sammy Martinez once got left after a game at Montrose or somewhere like that and walked back to Edinburgh.
    I'm going to need more on this story before I believe it... Montrose? Really?