Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc
    Agathe wasn’t against one of the Dundee teams scored 2 with lightning breakaways .

Marc Librra sure he scored a few from debut onwards

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian Verse View Post
    Zemmama made his debut in August that year against Inverness away, Hearts game was in October...but a good Edinburgh Derby Debut!

Benji made his debut against Hearts, yes, but best we don't discuss that game.
    See I had this conversation with someone the other day and I was convinced that in a old hibs dvd with random goals they had zemmama and benji down as debut goals alongside ian dowie against hearts. Possibly home debuts for both.

Willie Paterson. Left winger in the mid 70s. Took McGrain to the cleaners.

Quote Originally Posted by NaturalOrder View Post
    Agathe wasn’t against one of the Dundee teams scored 2 with lightning breakaways .

Marc Librra sure he scored a few from debut onwards
    Agathe was hearts Libra Celtic Park I think scored too.

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    See I had this conversation with someone the other day and I was convinced that in a old hibs dvd with random goals they had zemmama and benji down as debut goals alongside ian dowie against hearts. Possibly home debuts for both.
    Zemmama was defo Inverness. Remember hearing about the free kick expert we had signed, then watched him shank a bunch over the bar or into the wall. Finished 0-0.

Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post
    Zemmama was defo Inverness. Remember hearing about the free kick expert we had signed, then watched him shank a bunch over the bar or into the wall. Finished 0-0.
    A 0-0 draw up there back then would've been a good result for us

Now you've mentioned that it's ringing bells. Only 2 times I've heard of us signing a dead ball expert was Mallan and Kujabi though

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    A 0-0 draw up there back then would've been a good result for us

Now you've mentioned that it's ringing bells. Only 2 times I've heard of us signing a dead ball expert was Mallan and Kujabi though
    Jarkko Wiss?

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    Ian Henry broke his leg within 20 seconds in his debut for Hibs at Berwick Rangers in 1981. That was his only appearance for Hibs and I can still remember the sound of the sickening crack
    I was going to post this....I was at Berwick that day. He actually made one sub appearance over a year later.

Quote Originally Posted by green.oracle View Post
    Gordon Durie scored the second with a header. Penalty saved by Roughie. At 0-0.

Henrik Larsson’s debut was pretty satisfying!

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Has to be Latapy against Ayr for me.

Think his first touch was when he received the ball, turned and ran at Ayr defence.

Knew we had something special.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Le Gods debut at the old Brockville sticks in my mind . We won 2-1 .
    I can remember quite a few of our signings scoring on their debut ,circa 85 .
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Paul Wright v Aberdeen I'm sure it was 1-1 think he scored

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Yip!

Remember that out on the right wing versus Ayr United ba came doon wi snow on it brought it under control first time and nipped past his man

Wonder what ever happened to him?

Im thinking Joe McBride Snr home debut versus Lokomotiv Leipzig hatrick or Johnny Graham King of Scotland double versus Old Airdrieonians

We thought he was the second coming but deemed surplus to requirements by Eddie Turnbull
    He was great at first but tailed off as the rest of the team took a dive after the sales of Peter Marinello & four months later, Peter Cormack. I think ET judgement was pretty sound at the time as he brought in Alan Gordon for around the same fee we got off Ayr for Johnny Graham & the same with Eric Stevenson with us getting Alex Edwards. This is not saying Eric Stevenson was anything other than an outstanding player in the Hibs team prior to that but Arthur Duncan's arrival had limited Eric's options in the first team, nowadays, 29, when he left Hibs he would have been in his prime, but injuries had taken their toll on a wonderful footballer.

Joe's Baker's second debut, I had the privilege to be at ER to see that, if not the great man in his prompt in a Hibs shirt and I also was privileged to be at the two wonderful debuts you mentioned, it all added to a great childhood.

Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    Has to be Latapy against Ayr for me.

Think his first touch was when he received the ball, turned and ran at Ayr defence.

Knew we had something special.
    Yip!

You could tell as soon as you clapped eyes on him that he was a class apart

Suberb touch and go player

His goal versus Hearts 6-2 summed him up

Shame it did not work out for him at Easter Road

Brilliant wee guy

Always played with a smile on his face

Quote Originally Posted by JohnMcM View Post
    My all time favourite debuts are:

1. Lewis (Mr Hibs) Stevenson -- League Cup against (Ayr, I think), anyone at that match could see there was a wee gem in the making.

2. Conrad! No explanation needed.

3. Peter Marinello (I think I remember his debut was in an away game (Dunfermiline or Raith Rovers) 1968/69.), but what I'm sure of was how much we were raving about him on the Bluebird coach on the way back to St Andrew's Square station.
    Lewis played against Shamrock Rovers in Dublin as a 16 Yo and punched the pitch in frustration as he conceded a last-minute penalty which made the score 1-1, we had beat St Pat's 6-0 the previous night. He still looked a player though

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Yip!

You could tell as soon as you clapped eyes on him that he was a class apart

Suberb touch and go player

His goal versus Hearts 6-2 summed him up

Shame it did not work out for him at Easter Road

Brilliant wee guy

Always played with a smile on his face
    It worked out brilliantly, it just didn't end well.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    It worked out brilliantly, it just didn't end well.

@hibs.net private member JohnMcM's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ray-in-ireland View Post
    Lewis played against Shamrock Rovers in Dublin as a 16 Yo and punched the pitch in frustration as he conceded a last-minute penalty which made the score 1-1, we had beat St Pat's 6-0 the previous night. He still looked a player though
    Cheers. I didn't know that, (I think), my memory is fast becoming a thing of the past. So to speak

Quote Originally Posted by JohnMcM View Post
    Cheers. I didn't know that, (I think), my memory is fast becoming a thing of the past. So to speak
    His proper debut would have been the competitive fixture and not the pre-season friendly

I'm much better with the past than the present lol

Pat Stanton scored in a 3-4 loss away to Motherwell

Steve Archibald a double in a 4-0 win at home to Stranraer in the LC

Stuart Beedie at home to Graeme Sounesss new Rangers team full of expensive England internationals in a 2-1 win

”Welcome to Scotland!”