@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar

Memorable Debuts?

Following on from the Conrad Logan thread, which debut(s) is the most memorable for you and why?

Hard to think back but Sol Bamba was having a great debut until he got sent off. You just knew he was going to come good.

Paul Hartley's first touch in a Hibs shirt was magnificent.

Shame he went on to do so little with his career.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Paul Hartley's first touch in a Hibs shirt was magnificent.

Shame he went on to do so little with his career.
    Yip!

Remember that out on the right wing versus Ayr United ba came doon wi snow on it brought it under control first time and nipped past his man

Wonder what ever happened to him?

Im thinking Joe McBride Snr home debut versus Lokomotiv Leipzig hatrick or Johnny Graham King of Scotland double versus Old Airdrieonians

We thought he was the second coming but deemed surplus to requirements by Eddie Turnbull

Gareth Evans scoring with a (sort of) diving header against Dundee.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Paul Wright scored the winner from 20 yards after coming on as a sub in a 3-2 victory v Aberdeen.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Isak Refvik .... the wee guy oozed quality and lit up a depressing Hibs team back in 1978. I still clearly remember his debut and 2 goals against Morton.

Pity his and Sven Mathiesen's time with us was cut short through no fault of their own.
    Last edited by Bobo; 16-04-2019 at 11:01 AM.
    "The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.

First Team Regular Topographic Hibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobo View Post
    Isak Refvik .... the wee guy oozed quality and lit up a depressing Hibs team back in 1978. I still clearly remember his debut and 2 goals against Morton.

Pity his and Sven Mathison's time with us was cut short through no fault of their own.
    Snap!! I was about to post that one too His goals took us through to a LC semi (which we lost).

Scored two on his debut then nowt after that.....

16 year old John Collins v Man City.
    Agree about Joe McBride and Johnny Graham.

Andy Dow debut and scoring at Tynecastle

Quote Originally Posted by Topographic Hibby View Post
    Snap!! I was about to post that one too His goals took us through to a LC semi (which we lost).

Scored two on his debut then nowt after that.....
    He only played five times because he couldn't get a work permit and had to return to Norway, strangely though a work permit was found a week later for Rangers to bring in a foreign player!
    Last edited by Bobo; 16-04-2019 at 11:19 AM.
    "The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.

Quote Originally Posted by MacGruber View Post
    Andy Dow debut and scoring at Tynecastle
    Likewise Brian kerr. Big maka had a great game that day too. Thought we were onto a good one with both.

Henrik Larsson's debut for Celtic at ER was quite memorable for his first touch being an assist for Chico's 25 yard winner. To be fair, he seemed to deal with that initial setback quite well.

Keith Houchen debut and scoring a back post header at the midden.

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Andy Walker

2 goals against Aberdeen on his debut

Less keen on him (and his punditry) now

Kamberi had a good debut.

Kamberi scored a belter
    Malonga scored
    Slivka first start at Ibrox scored

@hibs.net private member JoeT_WasTheBest's Avatar
    Graham Harvey, can't remember when that would have been! He went out with my sister's pal so I'd heard about him, remember reading the EEN with the headline 'Harvey hits debut goal'.

Did Paul Tosh not hit a decent volley on his debut?

gordon Chisholm? was his Debut not the time he scored v the old rangers in the skol cup Semi first leg at ER??

Pornstar, 2 goals on his debut vs Motherwell.

About as good as it got from him, apart from a certain goal at the PBS.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    As soon as we saw Murph and Boozy, we knew.

R10rdan's 2nd debut against the Accies was rather memorable too.

Agathe and Laursen at Tynie.

Special shouts to Gordan Petric and Fitzroy Simpson.

28/4/1941

Hearts 3 v 5 HIBS

Gordon Smith hatrick

Dirk Lehmann with two goals against Motherwell at Easter Road.

Jason Cummings? Not actually sure if it was his debut but scoring against Hamilton in the playoff first leg that seemed at the time like we had avoided relegation. Obviously not the case in hindsight.

Quote Originally Posted by bernz View Post
    Jason Cummings? Not actually sure if it was his debut but scoring against Hamilton in the playoff first leg that seemed at the time like we had avoided relegation. Obviously not the case in hindsight.
    First goals after sixteen starts without a goal but still should have been enough to put us through

Quote Originally Posted by Kevvy1875 View Post
    Pornstar, 2 goals on his debut vs Motherwell.

About as good as it got from him, apart from a certain goal at the PBS.
    I had fond memories off him, also the headlines in the paper after the hearts goal “ Dirky and all the Trimmings”

Brian Kerr AT tynie?

Zibi against some English team on a weds night! After Simon Brown thought we had cracked the keeper issue. Riordan at Tynie almost perfect too in the 1-1 John O’Neil game.

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    gordon Chisholm? was his Debut not the time he scored v the old rangers in the skol cup Semi first leg at ER??
    1985. The final is erased from my memory.