Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Cheltenham 2019

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Just watched the coverage from yesterday, It's hard to explain what's so good about certain moments in racing, particularly NH racing to "non" racing folk but, Briony Frost's post race interview sums up what it's all about for me. Great stuff by horse and jockey.
    My "certain moment" was Istabraq winning third Champion hurdle. It was good for me cos I won a fortune but I understand I shouldnt have said that so I'll say no more 😀😀😀😀

Oh and Arazi winning Breeders cup juvenile. can't remember year just now but google it. Like something from a movie

Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    Oh and Arazi winning Breeders cup juvenile. can't remember year just now but google it. Like something from a movie
    I still feel unwell when thinking about Dayjur, the costliest loser I ever had.

Free bet on French Made for a grand today.
    Last edited by Killiehibbie; 15-03-2019 at 10:59 AM.

My "certain moment" was Istabraq winning third Champion hurdle. It was good for me cos I won a fortune but I understand I shouldnt have said that so I'll say no more 😀😀😀😀
    It was more to do with things that unite the viewing public rather than winning or losing a bet. Things like the reaction Persian Punch received whenever it entered the winners enclosure for example.

Or Dessie 😀

Or Dessie 😀
    Indeed.

Just watched the coverage from yesterday, It's hard to explain what's so good about certain moments in racing, particularly NH racing to "non" racing folk but, Briony Frost's post race interview sums up what it's all about for me. Great stuff by horse and jockey.
    Totally agree. Despite not having a penny on Frodon yesterday, having been a follower in the past, I absolutely loved watching the horse get back up after being headed. The hairs were up on my neck at the race alone, then the passion and emotion from BF and connections after were brilliant. It's moments like that I manage to convince myself I'm not just in this for my punting habit, but for a love of the game. Similar to the time I was out my seat roaring Kauto Star to a 5th King George without betting a penny, and those around me not understanding how I could be so excited without a bet.

As far as other certain moments go - I always remember Annie Power falling at Cheltenham (2015?) and bursting many bets (including my 4 fold) but the biggest roar of the day apparently being for a fallen horse with curtains round etc, getting back on its feet and running off fit and well. And rightly so.

I backed him in that race too, paid for a fair chunk of my w-end @ The London Hibs Burns Supper. 🍻

3 winners from that day won yesterday, a few placed horses with good form from that day too.
    Birchdale won that day too and is being well backed to win The Albert Bartlett.

Hutchy, what are you backing today?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I've backed Birchdale ew, I'm struggling to decide about The Gold Cup, I can't see Native River being out of the first four but, something tells me it won't win. 🏇

Last day, so I’ve gone for an E/W Lucky 15.

2.10- Monsieur Lecoq 15/2
    2.50- Derrinross 10/1
    3.30- Bellshill 9/1
    4.10- Shantou Flyer 8/1

Quote Originally Posted by Hibeesmad View Post
    Last day, so I’ve gone for an E/W Lucky 15.

2.10- Monsieur Lecoq 15/2
    2.50- Derrinross 10/1
    3.30- Bellshill 9/1
    4.10- Shantou Flyer 8/1
    What's a lucky 15?

4 singles, 6 doubles, 4 trebles and an accumulator. Treble odds for 1 winner.

Quote Originally Posted by LustForLeith View Post
    Cheers mate

The morning of that race in January it was 12’s!

Brilliant story for the trainers as well.

Anyone taking Tiger Roll for the National at 11/4?!
    I get the impression Tiger Roll won't run in the National having listened to Gordon Elliots interview.

He would have a real shot if he did though as his allocated weight is only 2lbs higher than when he won last year.

Terrible outcome of the first race.
    Unfortunately, that's the game.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I ended up backing Clan Des Obeaux.

I've backed Birchdale ew
    Oh well!

Oh well!
    Cannae win them all, mate.

Couldnae have backed that, incident filled race though.

Bellshill and Presenting Percy

@hibs.net private member Liam89's Avatar
    Kemboy didn't give me much to cheer about in that one!

Quote Originally Posted by Liam89 View Post
    Kemboy didn't give me much to cheer about in that one!
    My old man backed it too 😢

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Disappointing end to the week, but more fun this week that the last time

I just about broke even overall, after a terrible day today.

4 losers but broke even. Worse weeks have been had.

Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    4 losers but broke even. Worse weeks have been had.
    Having Paisley Park ante post has saved my bacon! Terrible last day!

One of my mates had seven winners over the last two days include Pentland Hills today!

I got a text from Ladbrokes telling me I was in front with bets on Pentland Hills, wasnae tempted to back it though. 😪

Had quite a bad week overall, maybe best to stick to the football!

@hibs.net private member MagicSwirlingShip's Avatar
    Was waiting on Native River for a treble. Gutting seeing it fall away

All in all a fun week had though!

Got my 1st ante post be on for next year already,Envoi Allen to win any race at next years festival at 8-1 with Skybet,this horse could be the real deal.