Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by ZAGREB RED View Post
    Jacob's Ladder, first time round.
    Magnificent film 👏

The Twisted Nerve, a late 60s British film starring Hywel Bennett. I haven't seen it in years but I remember it really spooked me at the time.

I first seen The Exorcist on video at a pal's house when I was about 13-14. I remember it being dark when I left to go home - I sprinted all the way!

First Team Regular StevesFamau5's Avatar

PSN ID: ImFamau5nStuff
    A Serbian Film..... quite possibly the most disturbing thing I have ever witnessed. Could only stomach about half an hour of it but enough was enough...

Genuinely caused me massive fear and anxiety for a long time. Not for the faint hearted.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Magnificent film ��
    It is, found it really hard to work out what was going on, even at the end I had to have a little think before it sank in.
    Remake coming later this year -

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jacob%...er_(2019_film)

Quote Originally Posted by ZAGREB RED View Post
    It is, found it really hard to work out what was going on, even at the end I had to have a little think before it sank in.
    Remake coming later this year -

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jacob%...er_(2019_film)
    Nae remakes for me, films or tv series, eh no thanks! 🙄

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    I watched a horror film with Willem Dafoe in it, without knowing it was a Lars Von Trier film, Antichrist. I had to turn it off as it was too graphic for me. There’s a scene where he is either drugged or tied up and his wife gets him hard and hits his little one with a hammer, you see the whole thing and blood coming out the end of his little one. I was genuinely distressed and turned it off there and then and won’t watch another Lara Von Trier film again.
    Oddly enough, the scene with the fox for me was the most disturbing of the film.

This was back in my late teen stoner days so admitedly, my confused state of mind probably had something to do with me being terrified for a second, when the fox leaps up unnaturally.

* The linkes scene isn't really graphic or anything, for anyone wondering

https://youtu.be/4L2ooG_MX9E

Quote Originally Posted by StevesFamau5 View Post
    A Serbian Film..... quite possibly the most disturbing thing I have ever witnessed. Could only stomach about half an hour of it but enough was enough...

Genuinely caused me massive fear and anxiety for a long time. Not for the faint hearted.
    A total WTF film.

There really are no words that can do it justice.

Mullholland Drive, watched it years ago and can remember thinking wtf it was actually about.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Vanilla Sky was strange.

Very good indeed the second time you watch it.
    I've only watched this once all I can remember is being confused as hell with it. Might give it an other go again.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Not sure it counts as a strange film or even a WTF film but I remember the first time I watched the deer hunter I found myself getting more emotional than I’ve ever been at a film. I still think about it sometimes and think ‘wow, that was ****ing mad’

Not seen it for years and not sure I want to watch it again in case it doesn’t live up to how I remember it.

Quote Originally Posted by Keyser Sauzee View Post
    Mullholland Drive, watched it years ago and can remember thinking wtf it was actually about.
    It's David Lynch. You're not supposed to understand it. Just sit back and enjoy the weirdness and intensity.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Serenity. What the actual ****
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

I've had Jacob's Ladder explained to me several times and I still can't get me head around it

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    A total WTF film.

There really are no words that can do it justice.
    I’ve just read the Wikipedia entry for that film. WTF is all I can say.

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    I’ve just read the Wikipedia entry for that film. WTF is all I can say.
    Who even thought it was a story worthy of filming?!

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Haymaker View Post
    Who even thought it was a story worthy of filming?!
    Or even conceived the idea of it all? I’d be suspicious of the writer’s intentions.

Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    Shutter Island

Ive also watched Black Swan three times and I still don’t understand it!
    Di Caprio's radge and a prisoner on the island. Some have tried to argue with me that it's not conclusive and he might actually still be a sane detective... that's not the case.

Great film. Especially first time round.

Quote Originally Posted by Wembley67 View Post
    I count myself as an intelligent chap but for some reason Departed really messes with my head! Maybe it's because Di Caprio and Damon look similar? That's all I can think of...ok maybe I am more stupid than I thought 😁
    haha my folks are exactly the same - I think they gave up as they couldn't tell the difference. I laugh at them (the same way I'm laughing at you) as they are two of the most famous actors going about and do not look alike

Only the second time I've heard of that being an issue but clearly it is a legitimate one.

The Usual Suspects - or the final 5-10 minutes of it. Won't spoil it for anyone who hasn't seen it yet.

Henry, portrait of a serial killer. Couldn't finish it.

@hibs.net private member MagicSwirlingShip's Avatar
    Anyone who hasn't checked out Arrival, I'd strongly advise checking it out.

The last film that had me truly blown away.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Interstellar

Any of these animated films, supposedly for kids, that have bits where you're almost brought to tears.

You think "what the f is wrong with me? My bairn is coping ok. Am I mentally ok?"

That is until you realise that the filmmakers aren't stupid and they insert these bits deliberately. Still, it's a bit of a head-****.

Quote Originally Posted by Mixu62 View Post
    The Usual Suspects - or the final 5-10 minutes of it. Won't spoil it for anyone who hasn't seen it yet.

Spent a long time in the censors office. I wouldn't like to see the uncut version.

Quote Originally Posted by Mixu62 View Post

Absolutely terrific.

A star is born. But not in a good way .

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Interstellar
    X100. What the actual ****. Mind bending stuff

Excellent film tho
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Solaris was good but pretty heavy going. The American remake was a bit glossier but still not much clearer

I also found Requiem for a Dream to be outstanding but still disturbing. I first saw it at the cinema in an afternoon performance, came out into broad daylight and had to stop for a few seconds. Ellen Burstyn’s performance in it is horrible and tragic and utterly, utterly sublime.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Funny Games.

I’ve only seen the US remake, but it’s the same director and a shot-for-shot remake of the original. Highly recommended and some true WTF stuff in there.

Any Lars Von Trier film, although really enjoyed Melancholia, possibly more for the cinematography rather than the mental story though. Some of the scenes when the planet starts getting closer to Earth are epic and the final scene is just brilliant.

Requiem for a dream already mentioned but defo up there as a "WTF did I just watch, is this awful or is it genius?" type of film.

Human Centipede, no explanation needed.

Fight Club, Inception, Memento, Being John Malkovic, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind also all worthy mentions.

Us, the new Jordan Peele film is definitely worth a look. An allegory on modern America with some surprises and laughs thrown in. Wasn’t sure it would match Get Out, which I thought was brilliant but this is equally as good.

Wouldn’t want to say much more for fear of spoilers.