Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Scottish Cup Banana Skins

Some cup Memories before Saturday

Raith game on Saturday has a whole lot of danger signs for me , due to our current situation

That said, there have been many along the years

What’s your memories of underdog victories against us in the Cup..Or near misses...

One that stands out for me , was a Scottish cup defeat at old Kilbowie against Clydebank- who I’m sure where one or two divisions below us at the time - wasn’t a great Hibs side to be fair - think we went out to a meek 1-0 defeat.

Always liked going to that ground for some reason though !

Cup days used to have a real excitement and cache over the years - slightly changed now- with some obvious amazing exceptions... Any other mementoes against the smaller clubs ?
    Last edited by bigwheel; 08-02-2019 at 07:59 AM.

0-0 at home to Ayr and losing 1-0 in the replay through there to the most poorly defended goal in the history of the game

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    2-1 Stirling Albion in a replay was a shocker, as was the Ross County replay defeat.
    Last edited by Hermit Crab; 08-02-2019 at 08:05 AM.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    2-1 Stirling Albion in a replay was a shocker, as was the Ross County replay defeat.
    Was that the replay up there in circa 2010? That was a sore one indeed .. long journey home !

Not really a huge shock as such but a 2-0 defeat at home to Kilmarnock on a freezing cold day sticks in my mind. Jim Leighton had an absolute nightmare.

Was that when Paul Wright lobbed him from miles out after a bad kick out or something?

The falkirk semi final which we lost 1 0 was a shocker. We actually played well just couldn't score.

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    Was that the replay up there in circa 2010? That was a sore one indeed .. long journey home !

Yes it was they scored a stoppage time winner from being 0-1 down after Stokes had given us the lead. They scored 2 goals in the last 20 minutes, there was trouble after the game as a county fan invaded the pitch holding a Hearts top which led to fighting behind the main stand. Brutal journey home that.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Getting beat 3-2 by the same opposition at home under Butcher. I remember leaving that game thinking we had a problem for the first time.

To make it worse Celtic got knocked out that day.

Paul Wright scored two in the snow?

I was mascot that day!

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    that was a brutal drive back down the road

Half expected the Inverness replay to go the same way, especially after the final loss. One of the best journey's home from a game that was

Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post
    Paul Wright scored two in the snow?

I was mascot that day!
    Coldest day ever.

Losing 0-2 away to East Fife at Methil early eighties.

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Getting beat 3-2 by the same opposition at home under Butcher. I remember leaving that game thinking we had a problem for the first time.

To make it worse Celtic got knocked out that day.
    Said to my mate after that game that if We didn't buck up our ideas we would be in the play offs. Got told I was talking ***** and we would finish top 6.

As soon as that watmore started beating a couple of men they started kicking ***** out him and we never really seen him again apart from the odd performance

Quote Originally Posted by Waxy View Post
    I was in a crush trying to get in to that game - was only time my feet left the ground in a crowd ...was scared...iirc Durie destroyed us that night...we signed him soon after...

@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar
    Losing 1-3 to Montrose away, in the 70s, when we had a decent team!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by GreenNWhiteArmy View Post

Half expected the Inverness replay to go the same way, especially after the final loss. One of the best journey's home from a game that was

was the opposite experience that wasn't it...completely expected us to go out after the cup final just before...Was as good an away cup performance as I had seen in years - so important for the club that one..Very proud Hibee driving home that night.

Quote Originally Posted by linlithgowhibbie View Post

yes. League Cup Quarter Final that - wasn't there - but do remember it.....put out AET.. we won 1-0 at ER in a two legged game

Had a look at the Hibs team that day:

McArthur, Brownlie, Schaedler, Stanton, Barry, Blackley, Edwards, Higgins, Harper, Munro & Duncan - Decent 11!

Aye Paul Wright came back to haunt us one lob the ba came doon wi snaw oan it beat Leighton all ends up and it was bloody freezing

Quote Originally Posted by Waxy View Post
    Nightmare Alan Rough played on with a broken leg and kept the score down

They had a young Gordon Marshall in goals a young Juke Box and a young Stevie Kirk scored the winner

Our Supporters Bus got lost trying to find his way this guy on the bus said he was a bus driver and knew a quick way cue abandoning the bus and sprinting to the ground to make kick off.

Happy days!

Testimonial Due Stokesy's on fire's Avatar
    Raith pose a serious danger to any spfl side and we have to respect them before we can beat them. i fancy us to turn them over though 4-0 Hibs

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenNWhiteArmy View Post

That was horrible. Was still at Heriot Watt and went up on the supporters bus for the first time. When we finally arrived back in Edinburgh I just missed the first night bus, couldn't get on the second as I had no money (didn't realise it was £3) and finally got on the third after trading another guy my £10 note for slightly less money in change. Think I got back around 3am.

@hibs.net private member surreyhibbie's Avatar
    I was there... miserable journey home that was.....
    Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...

Quote Originally Posted by Stokesy's on fire View Post
    Raith pose a serious danger to any spfl side and we have to respect them before we can beat them. i fancy us to turn them over though 4-0 Hibs
    You fancy us to beat them 4-0 but think they are a danger ?

That dont make sense 🤷*♂️

@hibs.net private member Kojock's Avatar
    1976/77, Arbroath away where we scraped a 1-1 draw thanks to a John Blackley goal. Replay at Easter Road in a game played in torrential rain we managed to lose 2-1 after leading 1-0 through an Ally Macleod goal.

@hibs.net private member Sprouleflyer's Avatar
    Last 2 home Scottish Cup defeats to Raith saw us get relegated both seasons (97/98 and 13/14)

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sprouleflyer View Post
    Last 2 home Scottish Cup defeats to Raith saw us get relegated both seasons (97/98 and 13/14)
    Last SC win over Raith seen us win the cup.
    Mon the Hibs.

Went up in the Tranent Hibs supporters bus, after the match went into a small grocers shop in Montrose to get something to eat for the long trek home. The shop was invaded by Hibs supporters who began stealing everything in sight. The young girl behind the counter tried to stop them and ended up getting a sore punch in the face. To top it all somebody threw a carton of milk which exploded all over me. By the time I got home I was stinking of sour milk.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    Last SC win over Raith seen us win the cup.
    That was away from home tho.

First Team Regular NthCarolinaHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Kojock View Post
    1976/77, Arbroath away where we scraped a 1-1 draw thanks to a John Blackley goal. Replay at Easter Road in a game played in torrential rain we managed to lose 2-1 after leading 1-0 through an Ally Macleod goal.
    Can mind several shop windows getting tanned on Cockburn Street that night..🙄