David White and David Reid, 1978 signings ?

Remember being on holiday and reading that we had signed these 2 laddies from Leeds Utd IIRC. Don’t think I remember them playing for the first team, anyone else recall them ?

@hibs.net private member surreyhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by crewetollhibee View Post
    Remember being on holiday and reading that we had signed these 2 laddies from Leeds Utd IIRC. Don’t think I remember them playing for the first team, anyone else recall them ?
    these guys?

http://www.ozwhitelufc.net.au/player...s/W/WhyteD.php
    Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...

Quote Originally Posted by crewetollhibee View Post
    Unfortunately I do remember them. Actually its the kind of signing i enjoy, a shot to nothing really as was Johnny Hamilton & the Dobster! I remember Jimmy O was going to get them to play for our Corrie Inn team but wasnt sure they were an improvement on our 43 yo holding midfielder!

Think it was year we were relegated . 1980 . Seem to remember them making debuts in final games of season when we`d already been relegated . Strange as their free transfers had already been announced . Tiny crowds at those games - about 1000 v Partick Thistle .

Quote Originally Posted by IberianHibernian View Post
    Think it was year we were relegated . 1980 . Seem to remember them making debuts in final games of season when we`d already been relegated . Strange as their free transfers had already been announced . Tiny crowds at those games - about 1000 v Partick Thistle .
    Nae wonder, nae chips available!

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    We had not half lost it.

That Partick game was the same night as the Iranian Embassy siege. I remember ‘Radio Hibs’ announcing the news to a thoroughly disinterested Enclosure, that and parts of the Centre Stand being the only areas open to the public.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Just checked iHibs, yep it was that hellish season. Reid made 1 sub appearance late in that season, White didn't appear for us at all. I vaguely remember them both being dire for the reserves, but the main thing I recall was them being on the front of a programme early that season in a photo with Jimmy Brown

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    We had not half lost it.

That Partick game was the same night as the Iranian Embassy siege. I remember ‘Radio Hibs’ announcing the news to a thoroughly disinterested Enclosure, that and parts of the Centre Stand being the only areas open to the public.
    I remember the game S but not the announcement....although it's the sort of thing that a 22 year old me would indeed have been thoroughly disinterested in

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Just checked iHibs, yep it was that hellish season. Reid made 1 sub appearance late in that season, White didn't appear for us at all. I vaguely remember them both being dire for the reserves, but the main thing I recall was them being on the front of a programme early that season in a photo with Jimmy Brown

I remember the game S but not the announcement....although it's the sort of thing that a 22 year old me would indeed have been thoroughly disinterested in
    Some of us were 17....

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Some of us were 17....
    Bet ye were a wee radge

I was J, and became much, much ****ing radger

The good old days, eh?

I've never heard of White or Reid.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    The good old days, eh?

I've never heard of White or Reid.
    Those are the facts though friend.

I remember meeting Eddie Turnbull in the Ben Loyal hotel in Tongue and he told my dad and I that he was going south the next day to sign these 2and he was really excited about their prospects. Somehow it just did not work out.

the main thing I recall was them being on the front of a programme early that season in a photo with Jimmy Brown
    You're spot on about the programme mate, great memory

01 - St Mirren.jpg
    "The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.

Quote Originally Posted by Bobo View Post
    You're spot on about the programme mate, great memory

01 - St Mirren.jpg
    Ah, well done! That is the one alright.