Dundee Utd appoint Robbie Neilson

Given a contract until the end of the season.

Thought he would get it, wish I had put money on him.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Given a contract until the end of the season.

Thought he would get it, wish I had put money on him.
    Wonder who only wanted the contract until the end of the season?
    Doesn’t show too much confidence from one of the parties

Contract to end of NEXT season. Seems a sensible appointment.

Quote Originally Posted by Del Boy View Post
    Contract to end of NEXT season. Seems a sensible appointment.
    Ok, OP said it was end of this season

Neilson seems a decent enough coach, although I’m sure the Arabs will be hoping he brings his money spinning abilities with him.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Ok, OP said it was end of this season
    Sorry guys.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Sorry guys.
    What do you know anyway😎

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    What do you know anyway😎
    Obviously nothing.

Should speak to my family more often.

Hibs legend.

Would love Neilson to get Hertz at Tiny and to knock them out of the Scottish Cup. Then to get hero worship at Easter Road in the next round for his team to get thumped.

I love Robbie. Can't thank the guy enough

Robbie did a decent job at Hearts,overall .
    He oversaw them winning the Championship at a canter and then finishing 3rd in the Premier the following season.
    What more realistically could they have asked for

But .....Yes... the big but.......!

The 10 minutes to go cup tie and the after match Money Spinner comments sent the not so noisy neighbour's over the edge,though.

They never ever forgave him for that
    They blamed Robbie for us winning the Scottish Cup !!

I think he spent his last few months at Hearts actively looking for another job, after all that he went through winning us the Cup !;-)

Good luck to him.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Decent enough appointment for United. One that makes sense.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    He oversaw them winning the Championship at a canter and then finishing 3rd in the Premier the following season.

The 10 minutes to go cup tie and the after match Money Spinner comments sent the not so noisy neighbour's over the edge,though.

I think he spent his last few months at Hearts actively looking for another job, after all that he went through winning us the Cup !;-)

Good luck to him.
    He still wants to know who hired the plane

@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar
    definitely a good appointment for united imo

Decent manager. United done well here.

Hertz cant, nevertheless the Dundee Hibernian have appointed well by recruiting Neilson. He's a St Mirren fan.

would be assuming to see him succeed there.

Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    Decent manager. United done well here.
    Has a bit more experience now. Will do well.
    Couldn't believe when they appointed Csaba Lazlo.
    Even the thicker fans wouldn't have been stupid enough to pick him.

Will always thank him for that Scottish Cup tie. 2-0 up with 10 minutes to go - what a pivotal moment.

Not only did we then go on to win the Scottish Cup, a boost we’re still reaping the benefits of today. But Hearts obsession with us meant that despite the incredible job Neilson did (winning the Championship at a canter and then taking them straight to third place), meant his job was untenable just because he lost to us. The thought that they let him go and endured the Cathro years all because of Hibs, well that fills me with glee.

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post

Good luck to him.
    Exactly this

Neilson achieved above and beyond at hearts

They performed extremely well in the championship and continued that form into the top flight the following season

Yet their obsession with their derby revivals clouded their judgement

When Neilson left hearts, I remember the STV news coverage, the reporter managed to find 3 jambos that were convinced he had to go because “he let hibs win the cup”

Obsessed

Neilson is a good coach who’ll do well at Dundee Utd

Maybe too late for this season but he should be given time
    Last edited by SouthMoroccoStu; 09-10-2018 at 09:49 AM.

@hibs.net private member Gettin' Auld's Avatar
    He'd probably have been better off going for the job at Partick Thistle, at least they give managers time to sort things out.

Quote Originally Posted by Gettin' Auld View Post
    He'd probably have been better off going for the job at Partick Thistle, at least they give managers time to sort things out.
    I would say that Thistle had already someone in mind when sacking the manager.
    The Lottery winner from Ayr bankrolling them must be having a say.
    They are in the throws of getting a new training facility near Torrance, so are getting everything in place and I think it will be a higher profile manager that they have in mind!!!

Oh another Jambo at the DU helm

Stay DOON

This could mean our names on the cup again.

I can see Dundee FC wining the SC this season

@hibs.net private member Gettin' Auld's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by where'stheslope View Post
    I would say that Thistle had already someone in mind when sacking the manager.
    The Lottery winner from Ayr bankrolling them must be having a say.
    They are in the throws of getting a new training facility near Torrance, so are getting everything in place and I think it will be a higher profile manager that they have in mind!!!
    Fair enough mate, time will tell i suppose.

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by LichtieHibby View Post
    I can see Dundee FC wining the SC this season
    Jambos would be even more raging if he won SC with utd after failing to win it with Hearts

Quote Originally Posted by ian cruise View Post
    Jambos would be even more raging if he won SC with utd after failing to win it with Hearts
    Hehehe, aye.

The Money Spinner Neilson deserves some sort of medal or official recognition for his involvement in our cup and the destruction of the Heart's fans songbook.