Thread: Gullan

Gullan

So has he jumped up the pecking order and now ahead of Shaw and Allan? Sounds like he did ok, albeit briefly and when we were cruising.

Don't know the lad or how he plays and wasn't at the game today but curious to know if he plays closer to Jamie Mac's style, if Shaw and Allan are more like understudies to Kamberi.

PSN ID: hibeeg
    First time I’ve seen him, did ok but didn’t really stand out enough to say he’s ahead of Shaw.

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    He's more of an winger I thought?

Quote Originally Posted by 500miles View Post
    He's more of an winger I thought?
    Jamie’s a striker but has played mostly wide left in a front 3. He’s 2 footed as well and can strike a ball, hence his nickname “Hammer”
    He can however play anywhere along the front line. Good player

For me he didn’t look out of place when he came on

Loved how he went to go daft at Flo at the 6th goal before realising it had been cut back. Would’ve been too late to get to the balk had it not been turned in I reckon (to be fair I was calling Flo all the greedy *******s under the sun for trying to go past the defender instead of square it also!)

A mate said that's probably a warning shot to Shaw after missing a few good chances. Fair statement imo. If you're not doing it others will..

Not any better than Shaw

He did alright but to be honest by the time he came on I thought most of our players had come back down a gear or two, so it was tough to judge him.

(I realise we scored 2 after he came in, but at times it was harder to not score!)

Quote Originally Posted by cleanyman View Post
    Not any better than Shaw
    Poor comment. Lennon goes to all the development games, so he knows all the boys. Completely different players. Oli and Hammer played well at Development level last 2 seasons
    The more home players we get to 1st team level the better for our club

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Poor comment. Lennon goes to all the development games, so he knows all the boys. Completely different players. Oli and Hammer played well at Development level last 2 seasons
    The more home players we get to 1st team level the better for our club
    It's no really

I'm judging him on the mere 20 minutes I saw him for today and based on that he's no better than Shaw

Quote Originally Posted by DexterStJock View Post
    A mate said that's probably a warning shot to Shaw after missing a few good chances. Fair statement imo. If you're not doing it others will..
    Not sure about that. Shaw must have been injured or surely would have been on the bench?

I thought for his first appearance he had good movement and a few decent touches. Not watched the highlights and was quite far away but I thought Kamberi could’ve played him in for his flrst goal at the end.

Too early to say yeah or no but def showed promise

It's no really

I'm judging him on the mere 20 minutes I saw him for today and based on that he's no better than Shaw
    Entitled to your opinion. He’s a year and a half younger than Oli, and plays a different position and style, so shouldn’t be compared like for like.

For what it’s worth I’m a huge Oli Shaw fan

@hibs.net private member offshorehibby's Avatar
    It's no really

FFS we can't give a young 18 year old a bit of game time in a game where we're cruising in without out him getting slated. He's a bairn gaining a bit experience for God's sake
    TOP CASH BACK
    The easy way to make money

Development and if anyone can’t see that stop comenting on football let the young lad enjoy it. His time will come

Quote Originally Posted by SMAXXA View Post
    Development and if anyone can’t see that stop comenting on football let the young lad enjoy it. His time will come
    Couldn't agree more. Good to see the kid getting a chance. Must be a huge boost to his confidence to get a run out at ER.

It's no really

Well on the mere 20 minutes I saw he was constantly involved in every attacking move we had. The boy could’ve had a couple of goals today if other players hadn’t been so greedy. I thought he looked really good.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by offshorehibby View Post
    FFS we can't give a young 18 year old a bit of game time in a game where we're cruising in without out him getting slated. He's a bairn gaining a bit experience for God's sake

When he steps across that white line there's no place for bairns. Silly comment.

Spoke to my mate at Hibs before the game today and he told me about Jamie before the team was named.

He trained exceptionally well the past few weeks and Oli’s form and training has dipped a bit in the same time so that’s why Jamie got his chance today. Being clear of Hamilton by a few goals allowed Lennon to give some fringe and youth players some game time.

All the best to them, give them a chance and see if they force their way in.

When he steps across that white line there's no place for bairns. Silly comment.
    Wasn’t a silly comment.He came on to experience playing in the first team.Nothing was expected of him and he wouldn’t be blamed if he made a mistake.Looks like he will do ok.

Thought he done well. Future star.

Whenever I have seen him play, he has always impressed me.

Looks a brilliant young player. Hope he gets plenty of chances in the 1st team.

Did well when he came on today.

I was delighted to see another of our talented Development players get a few minutes exposure, heard good stuff about him from Billy Whizz who goes to all the development games, always raving about the Hammer, the lad looks well solid and didn't look out of place at all.

@hibs.net private member offshorehibby's Avatar
    Silly comment, i right. If you can't see why we would bring a youngster on when the games won then there's no point in having a youth set up and giving them a bit of experience and game time.
    TOP CASH BACK
    The easy way to make money

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    What if stepping across the white line is part of the growing up process? Hasn't the manager been quite clever to do that with the minimum of pressure?

Its good to see players from the development squad getting a chance, some get on the bench put not on to play. Hopefully with Gullan getting on it will give others a boost to try harder and get a chance.

christ its no like Hibsnet tae slate a player who only got a few minutes.
    I also believe that Lennon would NOT have played Shaw if he thought he was crap. lennon doesnt play or sign crap players.

I've seen him a few times in the developement team and he always stands out as one of the better players, quite a bit determination about him. For me he's definitely a very good prospect !

Cracking wee player. Great attitude and deserved his chance.

total bellend behind me said a few times i dinnae rate that boy.