Thread: Can't complain

Can't complain

Missing chances like that

Ultimately that's 6 times we have played Aberdeen since promotion and the stats done lie

One victory

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    Quote Originally Posted by cleanyman View Post

Ultimately that's 6 times we have played Aberdeen since promotion and the stats done lie

One victory
    Bolt. We were great tonight, and 0 goals isn’t exactly a common number for us. We have quality throughout the squad and it will show over the course of the season.

Sometimes it just isn’t your night. 9 times out of 10 we will win when we play like that. Don’t think there’s any reason to read too much into this result.

Quote Originally Posted by SRHibs View Post
    Bolt. We were great tonight, and 0 goals isn’t exactly a common number for us. We have quality throughout the squad and it will show over the course of the season.
    Great tonight and we still can't beat them

That's why we should've signed another striker!!

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Aberdeen are a jammy team

Always seem to get the bounce of the ball

Nothing in the game. When it goes to sudden death after 120 minutes

That Joe Lewis saying Aberdeen deserved to win? Aye good one pal, but they’re through

Well done boys you did us proud

Not clinical enough. Had 5 or 6 chances to win that but we simply weren't good enough in the final third. An opportunity blown.

Sometimes it just isn’t your night. 9 times out of 10 we will win when we play like that. Don’t think there’s any reason to read too much into this result.
    Far superior team yet we failed. Very poor finishing and decision making all night. If we play like that we may win more than we lose but to lose with that amount of possession and chances it is poor.

What a game.. we Hammered them and lost on penalties.... Well Done Hibs.. i feel proud and robbed

Its not Real Madrid we are playing

We've just been pumped out on our home patch in the quarters of the league cup which is one of the only two trophies we can win

I'm not getting the proud comments. Aye we played well but its Aberdeen FFS

Woeful record against them

Quote Originally Posted by SouthMoroccoStu View Post
    Aberdeen are a jammy team

Always seem to get the bounce of the ball

Nothing in the game. When it goes to sudden death after 120 minutes

That Joe Lewis saying Aberdeen deserved to win? Aye good one pal, but they’re through

Well done boys you did us proud

He knows he got away with it tonight as Mallan's penalty should've been retaken, Lewis was at least 2 yards off his line when the ball was actually kicked !

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar

That sums it up for me.

A very good display against one of the better teams. We dominated and lost a lottery at the end.

It's not as if our finishing is usually letting us down - we were just unlucky tonight with it.
    Mon the Hibs.

First Team Regular Billy McKirdy's Avatar

Gamertag: N?A Wii Code: N?A
    Some you win some you lose, we absolutely battered them yet failed to get a winner, on that basis we can’t conplain, gutted we’re out but can’t fault the effort

Not getting people saying they are feeling proud after that. After Dundee United beat us on pens I felt significantly more pride than I do tonight. I'm pissed off because we should have won that and only have ourselves to blame for not. I'm pretty sure Lennon will be raging too that we haven't won that.

We should be beating Aberdeen at home in 90 mins. Very dissapointed

@hibs.net private member FitbaFolkKen's Avatar

One victory
    Second highest scorers in the league so I’m not overly concerned. Hopefully just a blip in front of goal tonight.

@hibs.net private member Stuart93's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SallyCinnamon View Post
    Yep. Worst of it is Aberdeen are nowhere near the team they have been recently.

We've just been pumped out on our home patch in the quarters of the league cup which is one of the only two trophies we can win

And yet they hadn’t beaten us in 30 years at ER in the League Cup...
    Until that jammy goal at the death they just couldn’t beat us at
    Hampden - and that was if they didn’t get pumped out in earlier rounds by their bogey team - st Johnston or some other horror show results they’ve had over the years. Niggly-fouls-are-us I’d be disinclined to watch a team that played like that. Each to their own tho.
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

I've got absolutely no complaints about that performance, thought we played some of the best football I've seen from a Hibs team in many years and I'm a hugely critical "naebody could play fitba like the Tornado's" sort of a c....hap. Just tonight was one of those " couldn'y score in a barrel of far knees" nights.

Aberdeen should be embarrassed by that performance. They were like a lower league team. Came to the game looking to foul, punt the ball forward and defend like crazy. Pathetic from a team of their means.

I'm incredibly frustrated with the result but bar our finishing we were fantastic. A fit McLaren and we would have won that by a couple of goals.

Shaw was the only one of that starting 11 who looked out of their depth. Thought he really struggled 2nite but fair play to him for stepping up for the his penalty.

I would hardly say we were 'pumped out'.

One victory
    Quite sad when you think a human took the effort to type that.

Quote Originally Posted by SquashedFrogg View Post
    Silly comment imho

All this "you did us proud" patter is rather pre Lennon mentality.

It was Aberdeen we were playing and we blew a trip to Hampden and the income involved by passing up chance after chance after chance.

I see a lot of positives from tonight in how we played but let's calm down on the back patting.

Quote Originally Posted by SquashedFrogg View Post
    Thanks for contributing to the discussion

Sometimes we don't get what we deserve. Hibs were excellent tonight. Some lovely football. Aberdeen fear us. They always set up negative against us. Frustrating but proud of the team. Back to league business now.

Quote Originally Posted by SallyCinnamon View Post
    Do you just copy and paste posts when Hibs get beat?

So predictable. Why 'should' we be beating them? Please explain why. A team who have consistantly finished higher than us for years.

I know why I'm dissapointed tonight.. but I'm at a loss to know why we 'should' beat them.

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Deansy View Post
    He knows he got away with it tonight as Mallan's penalty should've been retaken, Lewis was at least 2 yards off his line when the ball was actually kicked !
    Make that 3 yards of his line how that diddy assistant standing watching it let that go

Quote Originally Posted by eastterrace View Post
    Make that 3 yards of his line how that diddy assistant standing watching it let that go

It was a poor penalty

Whilst I'm not in favour of the back patting, cup football with ties settled on the night throw up different challenges and results. At sudden death someone will miss. Yes we should have taken our chances, but the same could have been said for Aberdeen. They won't win this trophy and in all honesty we may well have struggled next round because this team rebuild is a work in progress.
    Scottish cup is a better opportunity this season.

Quote Originally Posted by heid the baw View Post
    Whilst I'm not in favour of the back patting, cup football with ties settled on the night throw up different challenges and results. At sudden death someone will miss. Yes we should have taken our chances, but the same could have been said for Aberdeen. They won't win this trophy and in all honesty we may well have struggled next round because this team rebuild is a work in progress.
    Scottish cup is a better opportunity this season.
    If we had won 2-0 which is not a huge leap what makes u think we would struggle in the next round.