Thread: Jambos

Jambos

sorry about this being another thread about them, but curious.

Why did Hearts change their nickname from Jam Tarts to Jambos? Ive asked a few Hears fans and even they didnt know

Jam Tarts rhymes with Hearts but where does Jambo come from?
    Last edited by houstonhibbee; 18-09-2018 at 10:35 PM.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by houstonhibbee View Post
    sort about this being another thread about them, but curious.

Why did Hearts change their nickname from Jam Tarts to Jambos? Ive asked a few Hears fans and even they didnt know

It's an amalgamation of Jam Tart and Bubo, which is something to do with a plague. Most apt.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    It's an amalgamation of Jam Tart and Bubo, which is something to do with a plague. Most apt.
    this could be a whoosh moment. Did you just make that up?

Sorry, but that's an ultra whoosh! 😀

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Bluff. The real derivation is from 1986.

Its an amalgamation of Jam Tart and Boldly winning the League and Cup double in a single season
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Jambo derives from Jam tarts and BOttled-it....as in 1965 and 1986!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post

Sorry, but that's an ultra whoosh! 😀
    Is that good?

sorry about this being another thread about them, but curious.

The two aren't linked. Jambo is actually Latin for Dirtycheating****mytorypuddledrinkinggullibleminir angers. Far easier to say Jambo.

Still cannae get the images oot me heid fae the family club thread aw these brain washed delusionional young jambos coming doon the stairs at Motherwell singing the Billy Boys.

Dearie me!

What chance have ye got?
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 19-09-2018 at 06:22 AM.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    It's an amalgamation of JAM tart and the fact they’ve all got BO.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

I'm pretty sure it's to do with all the debt they built up over years, winning things they couldn't afford, so it was JAM today BUGGER OFF tomorrow.

Scottish Cup Winners 2016

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    ITT: Lots of incorrect derogatory explanations without the actual answer the OP is looking for.

Isn't it just a contraction of "Jam Tarts" with the suffix "-bo" at the end? Doubt any more explanation is needed than that. It's a common nickname variant.

The word is also an African greeting isn't it?

I remember speaking to an older yam a good few years ago who said he didn't like the word as he thought it was something derogatory that fans of other clubs had started to use. In his day they were always the Jam Tarts.

Out of interest, when did we become known as the Hibees? I used to have a 1970s penant on my bedroom wall with 'The Hibees' on it so it certainly goes back at least that far. My dad and grandad never remembered the word being used in the 50s.

I remember in the early sixties my Dad used to sing me this ditty

” Down in the jungle eating jam tarts
    The worst team in the jungle is the Hearts

Down in the jungle letting off squibs
    The best team in the jungle is the HIBS”

Childish I know but certainly in the sixties their nickname was “jam tarts”

I remember many Hearts supporters in the eighties saying to me that they considered the word “jambos” a deragatory term but they seemed to have adopted it as being their own moving into the 21st century.

Heard it a few times after the Cup Final we don’t talk about

Jambo is Swahilli for "hello". Their favourite song is Jambo, Jambo we are the Billie Boys

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    ITT: Lots of incorrect derogatory explanations without the actual answer the OP is looking for.

Isn't it just a contraction of "Jam Tarts" with the suffix "-bo" at the end? Doubt any more explanation is needed than that. It's a common nickname variant.
    I think you're having a whooosh moment.
    Of course it is derogatory, it's called ripping the p!5h

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    I remember in the early sixties my Dad used to sing me this ditty

” Down in the jungle eating jam tarts
    The worst team in the jungle is the Hearts

Down in the jungle letting off squibs
    The best team in the jungle is the HIBS”

Childish I know but certainly in the sixties their nickname was “jam tarts”
    In the 70's it was a bit more direct.
    " In the Jungle, the Gorgie Jungle,
    the Leith Team Rule Ya Bass "

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs07p View Post
    I think you're having a whooosh moment.
    Of course it is derogatory, it's called ripping the p!5h

In the 70's it was a bit more direct.
    " In the Jungle, the Gorgie Jungle,
    the Leith Team Rule Ya Bass "

Defo like your version better 😂

So no one seems to really know the answer

jam tarts I think has always been their nickname and hibees for hibs although I think strictly speaking it’s “ the hi- bees “ with the hyphen

Is that good?
    I think so

It's an mnemonic for C**ts.

First I heard the word Jambo in the Hertz context was in an interview with Joe Tortolano in the programme in about 1992.

My auntie had been saying it for a few years prior to that after going on holiday to Kenya, where jambo means hello.

Might be wrong but I think it started about the time the Rambo films came out???

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Hart RIP View Post
    Might be wrong but I think it started about the time the Rambo films came out???
    You might be on to something here. Sly Stallone character in bred social outcast no respect for authority grunts a lot wears camouflage sneaks around in long grass punches out opponents???

So no one seems to really know the answer

jam tarts I think has always been their nickname and hibees for hibs although I think strictly speaking it’s “ the hi- bees “ with the hyphen
    Pretty sure, as a poster above alluded to, it's just another shortened nickname. Unless I'm mistaken - there's no real explanation for Hibees, Hibs or Hibbies other than being short terms for Hibernian, and the same applies here.

Swahili Greetings practice

“Hello”: “Hujambo”, sometimes shortened to “jambo”. You can also use “habari” which has a rough meaning of news (i.e. “What’s the news about….?”). Use any of these, said with a smile, as you’re going in for the handshake. Or you can also say Fakdi Jambos.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    You might be on to something here. Sly Stallone character in bred social outcast no respect for authority grunts a lot wears camouflage sneaks around in long grass punches out opponents???

And has a glorious failure at the end.

I think it came out at the time when the likes of Ryan Giggs became Giggsy, it was like an endearment or notoriety of some one or something.
    But it could be they just used the name of Jambo the Gorilla that nurtured the wee boy in Jersey when he fell over the wall into the enclosure, he does look like many a Hertz player?????

It was definitely around in the late 70s, which predated Rambo. It was actually considered something of an insult then.

Not claiming to be an expert, but I thought Jam Tarts referred to the team and Jambos referred to the fans. So two different things.

I'm English though, so what do I know? :)