Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Maradona

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey09 View Post
    Wasn't really on about his celebrations. Was more to do with snorting **** loads of coke in his VIP lounge, acting like a complete twat and being racist. But hey, he's a character so bash on Diego.
    What did he do that was racist? Or are we just throwing words like that around to score points?

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    Carry on
    Nae need , you bit earlier on and that's all i wanted

Quote Originally Posted by Easter Rising View Post
    He was also a joy to watch and was blessed with football genius the like of which England has never produced. Or Scotland for that matter.

Northern Ireland could maybe lay a claim to something comparable.
    King Kenny a better man all round.

Regardless of the cheating low life ****'s ability he was/is a bellend

King Kenny a better man all round.

Regardless of the cheating low life ****'s ability he was/is a bellend

A bellend that won the world cup though

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Nae need , you bit earlier on and that's all i wanted
    That wasn't a bite that was my long held opinion of lowlife ****. Happy to share it anytime you ask

And nothing to do with his hand baw ? cmaaannnnn

Wusnae that when England Cheated the world cup in 66 ;-)

Wasnae born in 66 so means nothing to me

Brilliant G.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    You started with the strange offended sarcasm.

So are you now saying alcohol abuse is OK but cocaine is wrong? I'm confused AND offended

No you're not.
    You are just continuing as before by deliberately taking words out of context and making a sound bite because you don't have a proper response. Do you not understand the words combined or combination? I think you do, you just choose to ignore what doesn't fit with your hero worship.

@hibs.net private member WeAreHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Corstorphine Hibby View Post
    I'm offended that you take the trouble to give Maradona a capital M but God only gets a small g.
    Maradona exists!

Quote Originally Posted by gloryhunter View Post
    No you're not.
    You are just continuing as before by deliberately taking words out of context and making a sound bite because you don't have a proper response. Do you not understand the words combined or combination? I think you do, you just choose to ignore what doesn't fit with your hero worship.
    No hero worship, I just have a different opinion to you. Sorry if that offends.

Quote Originally Posted by stoneyburn hibs View Post
    A thread about a Legend giving the bird at a football match ?

No. It was to do with his cocaine snorting sessions in his wee luxury VIP lounge. Out his face making an absolute tit of himself. Obviously some posters on here think that's big and makes him interesting. Also the Racist gestures directed at a group of fans. Could you imagine the meltdown some folk would be having if that was Gazza in an England shirt firing coke up his beak and downing whiskey, making racist gestures towards supporters? Place would be in uproar.

How did England cheat exactly? The disputed goal was given by the officials and they scored another one anyway so no cheating involved there at all not like a certain Argentinian goal. If they had used VAR in 1966 and it had gone against England then they would have won 3 - 2 instead of 4 - 2. If they had VAR at the undisputed Maradonna handball goal then it would have been disallowed and he would have been carded and maybe changed the result, who knows.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    This thread is descending into fantasy. Scotland in the knockout stage?
    It's much worse than you think NSF, Scotland at the World Cup Finals?

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    It's much worse than you think NSF, Scotland at the World Cup Finals?
    Indeed. I like a bit of surreal fiction, but these things can be taken too far.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Quote Originally Posted by gloryhunter View Post
    How did England cheat exactly? The disputed goal was given by the officials and they scored another one anyway so no cheating involved there at all not like a certain Argentinian goal. If they had used VAR in 1966 and it had gone against England then they would have won 3 - 2 instead of 4 - 2. If they had VAR at the undisputed Maradonna handball goal then it would have been disallowed and he would have been carded and maybe changed the result, who knows.
    Argentina goal disallowed - changed course of game

England goal disallowed - disnae matter, we scored another on a breakaway

Sound logic that

What did he do that was racist? Or are we just throwing words like that around to score points?

Score points? Are we playing a game?

He made a racist gesture towards a group of young South Koreans. I'll let you guess what he did since you think we're playing for points...

This thread should delete itself.

https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/...-a8402626.html

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    This thread should delete itself.

Why?

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    No hero worship, I just have a different opinion to you. Sorry if that offends.
    Don't do the meek bit it doesn't suit you and it doesn't work. I'm not offended by your opinion, maybe annoyed at how you express it and refuse to acknowledge that anyone else can have an opinion. The opinions on here are roughly divided into three camps. One says he's a great footballer and that absolves him from criticism. One says he's a great footballer but severely deficient as a person. The third one says he's a great footballer who abused his talent through his lifestyle and his cheating. That's three opinions and there may be one or more that I missed but they all have a sponsor so they are valid opinions. They can all be challenged of course which is why we are on here. None of these opinions are fact or gospel - they are just opinions. So believe whichever one you want and defend it if you wish. On this website their are thousands of opinions which I think are tosh - but that's just my opinion.

Love the guy to bits. Mental - yes, obnoxious - yes, disrespectful - yes! But a wonderful footballer who has led a most extraordinary life and at the age of 25 achieved his life's goal - winning the 1986 world cup. I love his passion for his country and for his team. Feel lucky that I grew up to love Football while watching him in his prime. He has more flaws than most I guess - but who cares! Not me.

Don’t know about raspiest but I’m pretty sure he shouted ‘Puto’ when he was giving the bird which is Spanish for faggot or fag, so not very PC.

Quote Originally Posted by Mikey09 View Post
    Why?
    It's a bit crap, it's a candidate for the Holy Ground, the whole episode is debased in relevance because of the state the guy is now in - very like anything Gascoigne does - and frankly while I do think both that he's the greatest player in my book and that his behaviour is clearly wrong and unacceptable, I also find the media's prurient obsession with his decline pretty distasteful and largely an irrelevance that's best ignored.

Quote Originally Posted by StirlingHibee View Post
    Love the guy to bits. Mental - yes, obnoxious - yes, disrespectful - yes! But a wonderful footballer who has led a most extraordinary life and at the age of 25 achieved his life's goal - winning the 1986 world cup. I love his passion for his country and for his team. Feel lucky that I grew up to love Football while watching him in his prime. He has more flaws than most I guess - but who cares! Not me.
    Boak

Quote Originally Posted by StirlingHibee View Post
    I would agree totally with this. Maradona was an extraordinary gifted player just surpassed in my opinion by both Messi and Ronaldo as the best ever attacking player ever seen.

Its quite refreshing to see his passion for his country in all sports not just football and he is rightly revered by most of the football world.

The English you can quite understand have never quite felt comfortable with his genius as they have been completely owned for 30 odd years by both the cheated goal,the wonder goal and the Hand of God quote.

They have every right to be bitter but they are in an absolute minority in world football and a country of very little international football significance despite having such a vibrant and exciting domestic league.
    Last edited by The Baldmans Comb; 27-06-2018 at 08:15 PM.

Boak

I'm pretty new to this forum stuff and never really had an adverse reaction to anything I've posted before. In light of the above comment what do I do now??

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Don’t know about raspiest but I’m pretty sure he shouted ‘Puto’ when he was giving the bird which is Spanish for faggot or fag, so not very PC.

Puta means whore in Spanish.