Commonwealth games

I guess since there's no thread on this, I'm not the only one wondering if this is well past its sell by date?

I saw Eilidh Doyle the ****bo yoon mutant was the flag bearer and ignored it since.

Quote Originally Posted by IGRIGI View Post
    I saw Eilidh Doyle the ****bo yoon mutant was the flag bearer and ignored it since.
    Oh god, forgot about her. Is she still doing cringey 5-1 signs?

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    I guess since there's no thread on this, I'm not the only one wondering if this is well past its sell by date?
    Ye ken the baws burst when Scotland beats Sri Lanka at beach volleyball!

Quote Originally Posted by Greentinted View Post
    Get in there.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    This is very low key isnt it? I would consider myself a huge sports fan but didnt realise this was on until day two of the event. Anyway, enjoy all those competing and all those watching with interest.

Quote Originally Posted by Greentinted View Post
    That’s what training on an icy Portobello beach and in a farmer’s barn does for you.

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post
    This is very low key isnt it? I would consider myself a huge sports fan but didnt realise this was on until day two of the event. Anyway, enjoy all those competing and all those watching with interest.
    apart from it being advertised on the radio and tv everyday for the last few weeks!

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by allant1981 View Post
    apart from it being advertised on the radio and tv everyday for the last few weeks!
    Im clearly living in my own little world then. If said ads are on BBC or ITV then its quite possible I have missed them to be honest. Hardly watch those channels at all.

Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post
    Im clearly living in my own little world then. If said ads are on BBC or ITV then its quite possible I have missed them to be honest. Hardly watch those channels at all.
    yeah the bbc have been advertising it lately

the Basketball team are doing well, 2 from 2 including beating the Auld Enemy on Thursday.

another win and they are in the semi finals

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Is it just me or does the swimmer Peaty come across as an utter cockwomble with his comments about his gold medal winning performance being substandard?

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    Is it just me or does the swimmer Peaty come across as an utter cockwomble with his comments about his gold medal winning performance being substandard?
    He certainly does, but he's not normally like that or didn't used to be. Dotes on his gran, she was the main reason he took up swimming apparently. I see Duncan Scott won a gold medal for Scotland in the 100m freestyle.

He is putting pressure on himself ( peaty) to be the first swimmer to go under 57 seconds for 100m. The only thing what’s annoyed me so far is the non impartiality from the beeb. Been an enjoyable games so far

I wish Claire Balding would gtf!

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    I thought it was the mark of a winner tbh. He knows that he's better than that performance and is annoyed that he underperformed. Not settling for 'good' is just part of the make up of world class athletes.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I wish Claire Balding would gtf!
    She is hopeless,but I can't see that, she ticks too many boxes. Apart from that I cannot understand why she is the main presenter these days. At least gabby Logan competed.

On a gender equality note,how come 3 women presenting the games yesterday. Imagine the uproar from the equality brigade if it was 3 men.

Quote Originally Posted by beensaidbefore View Post
    She is hopeless,but I can't see that, she ticks too many boxes. Apart from that I cannot understand why she is the main presenter these days. At least gabby Logan competed.

On a gender equality note,how come 3 women presenting the games yesterday. Imagine the uproar from the equality brigade if it was 3 men.
    Nae idea, I only watched it on the telly in a boozer in Dunbar for an hour before the Liverpool Derby.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Nae idea, I only watched it on the telly in a boozer in Dunbar for an hour before the Liverpool Derby.
    😂I'm having one of those days. IL get off my high horse😁

@hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    The Commonwealth Games just seems very pointless, athletes are competing to be the best in their chosen sport but in a restricted field!

Plus it will cost a huge amount to hold and it surely cant bring that much to the economy or future tourism to justify holding it.

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Godsahibby View Post
    The Commonwealth Games just seems very pointless, athletes are competing to be the best in their chosen sport but in a restricted field!

Plus it will cost a huge amount to hold and it surely cant bring that much to the economy or future tourism to justify holding it.
    No more so than Scottish, British or European events.

It's good for things like Bowls as well that aren't at the Olympics.

Quote Originally Posted by Godsahibby View Post

you could say that for loads of events, why only have a european championships in football, or the African nations cup

I watched the ladies singles squash final this morning - really good match. Incredible to think squash doesn’t qualify as an Olympic sport.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    I’m missing my old sport, judo, not being in it this year. It’s usually a sport Scotland does well at as well. I believe it’s being upgraded to a core sport at the next games though.

My daughter just watched the blind runners going the 100 meters. She couldn’t get her head around why they had another runner running alongside them. When I explained it, she asked why they didn’t use guide dogs. Children can be so cute sometimes.

United we stand here....

Probably and I believe she’s failed to win her race yet again. Failed football supporter and failed trumped up athlete.

She did it when she failed to win gold again yesterday, cringetastic.

They should have football at the C Games. We might win it.

She did it when she failed to win gold again yesterday, cringetastic.
    She got horsed this morning, not even close.

Anyone see the Paralympic 100m female final? Lassie won by a country mile with a world record. I’m wondering how they categorise them though cos some there looked to be a big discrepancy between her and her competitors.

Quite liking the fact that a fat, baldy auld boy has become Scotland’s most decorated Commie Games ‘athlete’.
    Fair play tae the booler supreme...nae silly wristbands or inane sign lingo - take note fi a winner Mrs Doyle!