You'll never walk alone v SOL.

Had the pleasure of being at anfield yesterday in the kop.YNWA sent shivers down my spine.2nd only to SUNSHINE ON LEITH.2 fantastic football songs.💚❤

Might be wrong but didn't we sing this in the 90s? (YNWA)

Quote Originally Posted by Greencore View Post
    Remember being with my dad in the late 80s singing it

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Libertine View Post
    Remember being with my dad in the late 80s singing it

Back in the day i think most clubs sung it. Its iconic Liverpool tho and SoL is totally unique/

Sunshine on Leith - is ours..

Sunshine on Leith is in a class of its own compared to the other football anthems, including YNWA.
    So glad to have it as our own.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Harp View Post
    Sunshine on Leith is in a class of its own compared to the other football anthems, including YNWA.
    So glad to have it as our own.
    Agreed. SOL is streets ahead of YNWA. Two teams (possibly more?) sing YNWA for a start

YNWA is utter cringe , even our 'speeded up' 80's disco version (You'll Never Walk Again) was better :) SoL is tops just ahead of 500 miles, YNWA maybe possibly scrapes in to the top 10(just) FACT
    Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 25-03-2018 at 10:59 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    YNWA is utter cringe , even our 'speeded up' 80's disco version (You'll Never Walk Again) was better :) SoL is tops just ahead of 500 miles, YNWA maybe possibly scrapes in to the top 10(just) FACT
    Bit harsh like.ridiculous post

Yet again new posters on here get the ****ing pish ripped oot them.

sue me

oh oh, a bit touchy

SOL is specific and can't be effectively used elsewhere, and therefore is better.
    SOL is always at the end of my marathon (or half) playlist and there is no better song to hear at tht moment.

Can think of Liverpool, Celtic and Dortmund that sing it before games. There's probably more.

Quote Originally Posted by KingDomofFife84 View Post
    Can think of Liverpool, Celtic and Dortmund that sing it before games. There's probably more.
    I'm sure I've seen a Dutch team sing it as well.

We sang YNWA up till the 90s. I think it was sung at Hampden during Skol Cup final celebrations 1991. I'm guessing we probably stopped singing it shortly after that , maybe mid 90s, but till then it was certainly sung at big games and to celebrate big wins.

SOL is uniquely ours and its impossible for any other club to hijack it. The response from other fans worldwide to it says it all. There is no contest with YNWA, SOL every time.

First Team Breakthrough esjorto's Avatar
    YNWA was recorded in 1963 by Gerry and the Pacemakers, was played at half time couple of times and very quickly was adopted by Liverpool fans as "their song".

Quote Originally Posted by Greencore View Post
    Remember singing it in the 70's. Fast version.

Quote Originally Posted by esjorto View Post
    YNWA was recorded in 1963 by Gerry and the Pacemakers, was played at half time couple of times and very quickly was adopted by Liverpool fans as "their song".
    It is a bloody awful piece of mawkish musical theatre! Sunshine on Leith trumps it in every way and glad we have such a unique and genuine song that we can emotionally connect to that means something about our team and it's place in the world and not a borrowed Rogers and Hammerstein show tune...

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    Think you need to stop being so precious.

You posted something, someone disagreed with it.

Do you really think before doing so they looked at your post count and though "ha, ha 200 posts I will show this novice how the big boys play"

They just didn't agree with you, I am 70/30 against your viewpoint on the topic but that's my response to the topic not you.

All depends on your roots and your associations with a particular anthem.SOL is fantastic, YNWA is better. 😁

Yip silly post YNWA is a very good anthem when sung by the Kop

Always embarrassing when fans of any club other than Liverpool sing YNWA. Means nothing other than they’ve ripped off a decent football anthem. Glad we stopped that nonsense.

Come on now, if you expect everyone on here to agree with everything you post then you have no place on an internet forum. I can't even see your post count on my phone. Lighten up and join In, if you think the pish is being ripped (which it isn't in this case) then just dish it back out.

YNWA is as much Liverpool's as SOL is ours. Always cringe when the most unoriginal team in world football (Celtic) sing it. Even worse when they do the cheesy sing along with Liverpool with the half and half scarves etc. Leave it for bloody Liverpool.

kaiserslautern sing it too

YNWA is as much Liverpool's as SOL is ours. Always cringe when the most unoriginal team in world football (Celtic) sing it. Even worse when they do the cheesy sing along with Liverpool with the half and half scarves etc. Leave it for bloody Liverpool.
    Yeah, have to admit for a club who talk themselves up so much, their very obvious and brass-necked appropriation of anothet club's anthem always makes me cringe a wee bit.

Great song though, and would love to visit anfield for a big game to hear it in its natural setting.

Quote Originally Posted by hibs#1 View Post
    I'm sure I've seen a Dutch team sing it as well.
    Im sure ive seen Ajax seen it

oh come on...they have been singing it for decades...it is not as if they have recently adopted it..

Everyone sang YNWA back in the day. It's a classic football anthem and gets the colours displayed to good effect.I bet even Everton fans sang it a few times.

Quote Originally Posted by esjorto View Post
    I'm sure some celtc fans would disagree 😊