Page 5 of 15 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    Without wishing to speculate as to how deep, twisty etc things might get - isn't it nice to see friendships develop across class borders?
    It warms my socialist cockles.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Clerrie
    Derry

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Or more to the point .... Is there a double standard where some posters criticism of the club or certain players will be tolerated only up until the point where they start to disagree on the matter with certain long established contributors to the site at which point they get punted by the admins?

This is not my experience personally ... but I have read more than once, the latest being this morning, on other social media sites complaints from folk saying that all they were doing was disagreeing about the merits of a particular player or managers performance and they have ended up being banned, in many cases according to them before any accusations of personal abuse could be levelled against them.

In practically every case the complainants cited their own low post counts and the fact that the cut off point came when they started disagreeing with long established posters as giving credence to their theory that there is a certain amount of cronyism on the site between the folk running it and some site members who if not admins themselves are known to the admins personally.

As a long standing poster but one who doesn't know anybody running Hibs.Net or any of the other long established site members I have no axe to grind with anybody, but I have to say that there does appear to be a certain disdain for Hibs.Net amongst a fair proportion of Hibs fans who feel that it is over sensitive in its approach, too quick to ban folk and very much a forum where who you know or who you are makes a big difference when it comes to how the admins treat you.

I don't have to be in MENSA to know how the admins are going to react to this thread, but I would be interested to see if folk with low to moderate post counts agree with the perception of it which seems to be prevalent elsewhere.

Top post. Clique you bet. Spelling who cares.

Just looked at the first few posts and for me a definite clique although I would say it’s like all fitty forums if u don’t post on a regular basis. Been a season ticket holder for over 30 years and was chucked out Hibs Net and have had returned. Probably get wellied again after this.

I like turtles.

What was the question?

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Only a few folks posts I read and generally digest.

1. Jonnyboy...big respect for his postings and knowledge

2. Cat...has some decent chat but sometimes can be a cant 😀

3. Hibbradge...talks utter baws the majority of the time and should have a keyboard ban for his amount of postings but it's like a weird voyeuristic thing for me

4. Prettyboy...well thought out interesting and knowledgeable chat

5. Skyler...educated

But aye massive clique 😀
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

Small clique on the Holly Ground that ultimately put other posters off from posting due to their virtue signaling

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Quote Originally Posted by TheReg! View Post
    Small clique on the Holly Ground that ultimately put other posters off from posting due to their virtue signaling
    They are generally ****stains, wouldn't let it put you off
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

I’ve been a member and a PM on here for a number of years, and a reader/lurker going back to the rivals.net days.

There are a number of posters who have been here longer than me and/or have a much higher and prolific post count than I do. Many of these are people whom I take an interest in their opinions and thoughts, even if I disagree with them. I’d also add that many of those opinions (across a great many topics) have caused me to pause and consider my own opinion, based on something they’ve said which I hadn’t thought of.

Many of those long term posters know each other, and many share similar opinions. There’s nothing wrong with that. If you walked into a pub that has long term regulars who discuss fitba, and join the conversation, you’re likely to find a differing opinion may draw responses of disagreement. There’s nothing wrong with that either, and like most civilised places and people, individuals will accept that others will disagree, and will listen their reasoning and share their own resasoning for their own point of view.

I’ve never had a warning on here, and would actually be annoyed at myself if I’d overstepped and put any admin in a position of having to address it. Ive never witnessed anything that I would characterise as a clique, simply people who spend a chunk of their time on here (as we all do), and enjoy chatting and discussing a broad variety of things with others.

Anyone banned has in all probability deserved it, being abusive or trolling is asking to be warned or worse imo. If you aren’t capable of being civil and respectful then you can’t take offence when the majority don’t want you to be a part of the group. No one puts up with ********s in their lives, why should anyone expect it to be different on here?

Admins, you do a great job of a thankless task, keep up the good work

Quote Originally Posted by Wembley67 View Post

3. Hibbradge...talks utter baws the majority of the time and should have a keyboard ban for his amount of postings but it's like a weird voyeuristic thing for me

5. Skyler...educated

But aye massive clique 😀
    Hard to argue with this 😁👍🏼

5. Skyler...educated

But aye massive clique 😀
    Never noticed you before Wembers but cool clique none the less.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Derry
    Jungle #1 🤘

Quote Originally Posted by Clerie Green View Post
    I couldn’t give a flying Donald Duck about this snowflake generation Lilian Gish .
    I have followed and spent more cash watching the first team in Green , than many of you have earned as wages. Fact .
    Admittedly this does include sons and grandsons .
    I have been driven to despair by some of the lily livered crap that has been spouted on here ,
    but thankfully although getting older and dafter can still profess my point of view .
    If you can’t stand the heat GIRFUY
    Turnbulls Tornadoes
    Mature Hibees deserve more
    Happy St Patrick’s Day to you all . God Bless You one and all .

‘Mature’ Hibbys are the worst. Always banging on about Tornadoes. Nothing that has or will happen since will ever be good enough for them.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    I’ve posted on here for about 15 years. Although I post “fairly” regularly, I don’t have the same presence as some. I don’t think there’s any clique. Yes, some folk know each other from years of posting turning into meeting, but I’d say that’s all it is. I’ve been lucky enough to get to know a fair number of posters on here over the years. After growing up in England, then moving back to Scotland in 2004, I didn’t know any hibbys except for family so this place helped me interact with fellow Hibs fans. There’s plenty folk out there desperate to have a go at this site - I just don’t understand it. When you look at the money that’s been donated from this site over the years to support the clubs youth development, it’s crazy to see one person describe this site as a “waste of bandwidth”. We’re all hibbies, and yes, we’re not all gonna like each other, that’s just the way of the world, you’d like to think we could at least respect each other.

Monylt was another apparent username that said they’d been banned for nothing but I’ve had a wee search and can’t find them at all.

Just watched Filth

Fitting

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by sideburns View Post
    and if that disnae work? My confidence is already seriously eroded, though my paranoia is at an all time high!
    ltyf

5. Skyler...educated

But aye massive clique 😀
    Reported.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Reported.
    You write reports too?

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    Reported.
    Deary me

Quote Originally Posted by CallumLaidlaw View Post
    I’ve posted on here for about 15 years. Although I post “fairly” regularly, I don’t have the same presence as some. I don’t think there’s any clique. Yes, some folk know each other from years of posting turning into meeting, but I’d say that’s all it is. I’ve been lucky enough to get to know a fair number of posters on here over the years. After growing up in England, then moving back to Scotland in 2004, I didn’t know any hibbys except for family so this place helped me interact with fellow Hibs fans. There’s plenty folk out there desperate to have a go at this site - I just don’t understand it. When you look at the money that’s been donated from this site over the years to support the clubs youth development, it’s crazy to see one person describe this site as a “waste of bandwidth”. We’re all hibbies, and yes, we’re not all gonna like each other, that’s just the way of the world, you’d like to think we could at least respect each other.

Monylt was another apparent username that said they’d been banned for nothing but I’ve had a wee search and can’t find them at all.

I 💚 paragraphs.

Quote Originally Posted by Sauzee16 View Post
    You write reports too?
    Too?

Quote Originally Posted by TheReg! View Post
    The Holy Ground can be...'robust'. If you're going to discuss politics though you should expect to both give and get it tight, that's the nature of almost every political debate I've ever been party to in virtual and real life.

Too?
    Twit

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    The Holy Ground can be...'robust'. If you're going to discuss politics though you should expect to both give and get it tight, that's the nature of almost every political debate I've ever been party to in virtual and real life.
    Splitter.

Quote Originally Posted by Clerie Green View Post
    Depends on wether your from left or right side of the Drum Brae Drive .

Either way lots of established families from the Leith slum clearances and all Mental Hibees !

ps The posh side is Clerie , the dark side is Clery . Lol

The Piper Kid, from Clermiston. Met him about 35 years ago. Anyone know him?

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    cliquebait thread title...

Reported.
    He's right though. Weird. Voyeuristic.

Surely we all have favoured posters we enjoy reading or think similarly to?

I'm a fan of Pedantic and Non Shiny Finish among others. I respond well to irreverence and stupidity. Draw your own conclusions.

But that's not being in a clique surely?

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    Deary me
    Surely it's dearie me? Or is it actually deary me?

Yours,

Confused and not in a clique
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

yes there is

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    Surely it's dearie me? Or is it actually deary me?

Yours,

Confused and not in a clique
    Clery, Clerie or Clerrie then? These things are important.