Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: best hibs goal

@hibs.net private member malcolm's Avatar
    It’s is hard to disassociate the emotions and context of a goal when remembering the best but trying to ignore the obvious big game goals..

I loved every goal super Ally scored and Ralphy’s meandering stroll to score against Dundee was a sight to behold but I also loved the completely unexpected superb volley by Gordon Hunter to spark a comeback against St Mirren I think in a 4.3 victory. Though Boyles volley was one of the best I’ve seen live or otherwise.

Quote Originally Posted by deekster View Post
    Michael O’Neil v Motherwell 1994 for me
    Great finish from a quick break
    Great game as well as far as I remember
    Watch from about 2:45 onwards
    https://youtu.be/dvgDNxueTtA
    That brought back memories. I don't think I have seen that goal since the highlights were on 20 odd years ago. How were we so crap to watch so often when you see the players we had at that point. O'Neill, Crunchyand Jackson would all walk into the current Hibs team imo

Agathe v Dundee, nothing for me has even come close!

Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    ..but tempered by the fact he's only been given a three month (?) deal, Martin O' Neil was in the stand that day, and we lost him a few weeks later to Septic for tuppance!

Quote Originally Posted by EVENTUALLY View Post
    I agree 100%. The thing I remember about it was the way Ralphie delayed opportunities to knock the ball into the net, he just kept beating Dundee players with the same drag back trick as they arrived to challenge him before finally slipping the ball home. Fantastic skill and so exciting to see a certain goal coming 7 or 8 seconds before it eventually happened. Great goal that had Messi written all over it.
    Yeah I read recently Messi said he owed all his success to studying Ralph's game and modeled his play on Ralph

Stokes 2nd prayed to my departed grandad and dreams do come true.

Shout out to Le God at Tynie and John O’Neil inn6-2
    Last edited by Sauzee16; 01-03-2018 at 10:27 PM.

Tortolano goal v Clydebank in 1986

Few years ago now but remember Mikey Stewart scoring a screamer of a volley against the sheep at Easter Road in a cup replay, don't know if there's any footage. Sparky's free kick at tynie was insane as well. Was there that day standing right in front of the goal and remember as soon as he hit it I knew it was going in!

Quote Originally Posted by deekster View Post
    Michael O’Neil v Motherwell 1994 for me
    Great finish from a quick break
    Great game as well as far as I remember
    Watch from about 2:45 onwards
    https://youtu.be/dvgDNxueTtA
    I was going to say the very same myself. I bumped into the man himself on a train into Berlin from the airport recently and said hello - he and McAllister were making a habit of scoring some magic goals at that time but that one always stood out for me. Absolute peach and the East went mental as I remember.

There's been a load of beauts over the years before and since then that I could mention from the likes of Archibald, Sauzee, Latapy, Griffiths, Riordan, Zemama, of course Gray and (Yes!) Townsley, but I'm glad you mentioned that one cos it saved me looking it up

... and Cummings' header at the Pink Palace on our way to cup glory is also worthy of mention.

Edit - but dang - I wasn't there - watched it on the telly so doesn't count for me.

If I had to choose one at Tynie when I was there it would have to be Archiegoals' wonderful effort in a 2-1 vicory back in nineteen-canteen under Lexo Miller - we finished the match with 10 men from what I remember after Hibs captain Gordon Rae got the red for sending some random Yam into the air in a proper blooter of a tackle. Ah the memories ....
    Last edited by basehibby; 02-03-2018 at 02:49 AM.

Agree

Quote Originally Posted by RagingReality View Post
    Boyle's volley v Livingston.
    Joe T’s v Falkirk at Brockville late 80’s was a belter of a volley

Quote Originally Posted by TelaStella View Post
    Few years ago now but remember Mikey Stewart scoring a screamer of a volley against the sheep at Easter Road in a cup replay, don't know if there's any footage. Sparky's free kick at tynie was insane as well. Was there that day standing right in front of the goal and remember as soon as he hit it I knew it was going in!

Was Mikey’s goal not at Tynie? Then threw up or am i mixing memories?
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

@hibs.net private member proud_and_green's Avatar
    Difficult to choose, but De la Cruz versus Hearts at ER was a cracker. He took the ball on the right, around the half way line beat a couple players then faded inside and struck the ball so neatly from around 25 - 30 yds that there was only one outcome.

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by VivaPalmeiras View Post
    Was Mikey’s goal not at Tynie? Then threw up or am i mixing memories?
    Definitely ER. But he did throw up and I think has to come off

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Malongas goal vs the Sheep to close the game out

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Definitely ER. But he did throw up and I think has to come off
    Aberdeen in the cup replay, Killen got injured in the first game. I’m sure he was being sick with thhis side of the pitch too and might have been his last game for us. Killen

Ralph Callaghan vs Dundee in the season we got relegated

drops mike*

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    Ralph Callaghan vs Dundee in the season we got relegated

drops mike*
    Picks poor Mike up.

Agrees.

Takes Mike off with him, since there can be no further discussion.

8th jan 1972 john brownlie in a 3-0 home win against dundee united. I only know this because I used to award 1 - 5 stars in the programme for every goal scored and I gave this goal 6 stars it was so good! - cant remember it now though.

Otherwise boyles volley v livingston or that michael stewart goal v the sheep.

Sauzee’s goal in the millennium derby stands out for me as was probably the first time I had witnessed us win at Tynecastle and should have been 7 or 8 that night.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Most of my all time favourites have been mentioned but Sauzee's screamer in the last game of the 1998-99 season at home to Falkirk deserves a mention.

Free kicks - take your pick between Riordan away to Falkirk or Griffiths at the pbs in the 2-1 win.

George Best beating about 5 men and the keeper in a meaningless midweek game at home to Dundee, similar to Ralphie's goal already mentioned.

Also remember a ridiculous Freddie Arpinon strike at Tannadice.

Quote Originally Posted by DarlingtonHibee View Post
    Steve Archibald at tynie pouring rain, hibs end went berserk!!

Still get goosebumps thinking about that day. Mental

Joe Harper's goal against Liverpool. The occasion was part of it of course but he covered some ground for a wee fat guy.....

Chic against Celtic in 97 was decent.

Quote Originally Posted by Ricky Bobby View Post
    Chic against Celtic in 97 was decent.
    Remembering that goal fondly thinking “‘this was
    Gonna be a good year “ 😔

Quote Originally Posted by David_D View Post
    Remembering that goal fondly thinking “‘this was
    Gonna be a good year “ 😔
    iIt should have been. The wheels completely fell off.

Deeks vs Dundee early 00's. Whitty pings a cross field ball fae right back, Deeks lashes it in wi his left foot from about
    35 yards. Best goal I've ever seen, regardless of of being ruled offside...