Page 84 of 115 FirstFirst ... 3474828384858694 ... LastLast
Results 2,491 to 2,520 of 3438
    Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Price of diesel is so high now that the self-serve pay at the pump hit the maximum £99 before my fuel tank was filled last night. Absolutely ridiculous.
    I'm trying to cut down my driving as much as possible. It's unsustainable.

Surely the government needs to step in and reduce the duty on the fuel? Or even supplement the cost.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Price of diesel is so high now that the self-serve pay at the pump hit the maximum £99 before my fuel tank was filled last night. Absolutely ridiculous.
    I'd flood the garage if I tried to get that high whilst filling up my wee Corsa. You must drive a beast!
    Mon the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    I'd flood the garage if I tried to get that high whilst filling up my wee Corsa. You must drive a beast!

I was devastated when it went above £60 for the first time last month.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Nissan Qashqai, not that big! The tank was virtually empty when i started filling it though

Snap. Qashqai filled up this morning stopped at £99. I'm sure £60+ of that goes to the government!!

£130 to fill my van up 🤕

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    The van driver right up to my back bumper last night who flashed his lights the second every single traffic light moved from red.

I’d happily kick him in the barse until I passed out from exhaustion.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by patch1875 View Post
    £130 to fill my van up 🤕
    It’s getting ridiculous, I’m leaving the Bentley in the garage and using the Lamborghini for a while.

Has fuel went up massively since 2 weeks ago?

I filled my motor up for £67 from empty, a MB GLC250.

I’d be surprised if it didn’t hold similar to qashqai but I’ve no idea not looking forward to filling up next time.

Like Jones28, I’m trying to avoid driving it as it’s ludicrous. I’d usually use a tank and a bit per month but I’ve only used about a quarter in 2 weeks.
    Last edited by Stubbsy90+2; 17-03-2022 at 05:59 PM.

Having just had a look online I’ve apparently got a 66l tank so I’ve no idea how I filled it for £67

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stubbsy90+2 View Post
    Having just had a look online I’ve apparently got a 66l tank so I’ve no idea how I filled it for £67
    Think how much fuel you must use lugging 66l around!

Quote Originally Posted by Stubbsy90+2 View Post
    Was it half full when you got there?
    Mon the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    If this fuel price fiasco keeps going I'm just not going to be able to afford running my car soon.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

My Kia has a 70 litre tank, it would cost £125 odd to fill which fills me with dread.

Like Hermit says, it’s going to be unaffordable.

I do 60 miles a day just on the commute, that can very quickly jump to over 100.

According to the gov website they take about 70p in duty for every litre of fuel sold. It’s a piss take. They would make such a difference by cutting that to even just half, and take the shortfall off the oil companies as a windfall tax.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    My Kia has a 70 litre tank, it would cost £125 odd to fill which fills me with dread.

Like Hermit says, it’s going to be unaffordable.

I do 60 miles a day just on the commute, that can very quickly jump to over 100.

According to the gov website they take about 70p in duty for every litre of fuel sold. It’s a piss take. They would make such a difference by cutting that to even just half, and take the shortfall off the oil companies as a windfall tax.

I drive from Dunfermline to Edinburgh and back for my nightshifts, its easily £20 of petrol a time and that can be 6 night a week some weeks if overtime is involved. I only have a 1.4 Auris but the fuel prices are killing me.

Was it half full when you got there?

I could have sworn it was £67 but I’m now thinking it can’t have been anything like that.

That makes me even more terrified to fill my car up next time!

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    Fill your car full £120
    Drive off without paying
    6 weeks later receive £50 fine through the post
    Saving £70

PM me for more financial advice.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    I drive from Dunfermline to Edinburgh and back for my nightshifts, its easily £20 of petrol a time and that can be 6 night a week some weeks if overtime is involved. I only have a 1.4 Auris but the fuel prices are killing me.
    You going via Dundee? I'd imagine you'd get 50 mpg.

Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    You going via Dundee? I'd imagine you'd get 50 mpg.

Its that E10 petrol, doesn't last at all.

I put E5 in and get about 20% better mileage than that pish stuff.

I just canny afford to keep filling up with E5, the prices are ridiculous.

It will save you money if you improve your mpg by more than the price difference.

Not a clue about this. Should I be filling up with E5 instead of E10?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    E10 is the new stuff that is cut with bioethanol which is less efficient than standard petrol, so you have to burn more to get to where you’re going.

Sir Alex Ferguson

Can't remember which is which but superunleaded is the dearer one but far better quality petrol which is better for your engine, it runs better on the dearer fuel, hence it can save you money in the long term.

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    I’m no mathematician but from what I’ve read, mostly on here, that when using E10 fuel mpg has dropped by about 10%.
    Ive seen E5, or premium fuel, priced at about 10% more expensive than E10. So does that even things out?
    Also I believe that if you are using E10 regularly, motoring organisations recommend that you occasionally give your car a fill of E5 for the benefit of your engine. There are extra additives in the premium fuels that help keep your engine clean and run more efficiently, allegedly!

In my unscientific studies I've found I get just over 500 miles out of a tankful of E5. When E10 was introduced I used it for a couple of tanks worth and got around 420 miles. Engine coughed and spluttered with E10 but no issues with E5.
    Not filled tank in a few weeks when price difference was around 5%.

I assume it's okay to mix the two standards of petrol?

I could be tempted to try the premium stuff to see if it makes any noticeable difference to MPG, but if I have 1/4 tank of the E10 in there already is it okay? Presumably it will be fine, but would mean the first run of premium was slightly cut by the cheap stuff and so wouldn't make as noticeable a difference until it's fully flushed out and I'm just running on the premium?
    Mon the Hibs.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    People who coast when reducing their speed rather than braking. I travel a road to work that multiple changes of speed limit and it's ****ing infuriating to not get the advance warning of a brake light.
    With fuel prices as they are and for the environment in general, I always either change down gear or coast before braking where it's possible to do so.

Sent from my SM-A505FN using Tapatalk

I assume it's okay to mix the two standards of petrol?

I could be tempted to try the premium stuff to see if it makes any noticeable difference to MPG, but if I have 1/4 tank of the E10 in there already is it okay? Presumably it will be fine, but would mean the first run of premium was slightly cut by the cheap stuff and so wouldn't make as noticeable a difference until it's fully flushed out and I'm just running on the premium?
    Both grades can be in your tank.
    Maybe get a bit E7.5 fuel consumption