Worst top flight side you've seen?

Okay, before anyone says Butcher's Hibs side (shudders) which sides would you say are contenders for the worst SPL/old Division One team you've seen?

As I kid, I remember a Hamilton Accies side of the late eighties (possibly 1988-89?) that was abysmal. My memory might be playing tricks on me, but I'm sure they only won a couple of games all season. Anyone remember that team?

What other truly awful sides has there been?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Okay, before anyone says Butcher's Hibs side (shudders) which sides would you say are contenders for the worst SPL/old Division One team you've seen?

As I kid, I remember a Hamilton Accies side of the late eighties (possibly 1988-89?) that was abysmal. My memory might be playing tricks on me, but I'm sure they only won a couple of games all season. Anyone remember that team?

Cathro's Hertz team

Quote Originally Posted by theonlywayisup View Post
    Cathro's Hertz team
    Garbage, but not the worst ever. Pains me to say it, but they would have beaten Butcher's Hibs.

Gretna. Didn’t they only pick up like 9 points one season?

I can remember they were in the 1989 panini sticker book so might be a way to find their team line up. I can just about recall the whole Hibs team though from that book and recall that John Collins was the young player of the year, which featured one page with Paul McStay as player of the year and the same for the English did 1. Imagine us sharing a sticker book with epl now. Can't see it somehow.

Quote Originally Posted by JJP View Post
    Did they? After their financial collapse? I vaguely reminder their having a terrible time in the SPL, but can't remember exactly.

I think they had a points deduction.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by beensaidbefore View Post
    I can remember they were in the 1989 panini sticker book so might be a way to find their team line up. I can just about recall the whole Hibs team though from that book and recall that John Collins was the young player of the year, which featured one page with Paul McStay as player of the year and the same for the English did 1. Imagine us sharing a sticker book with epl now. Can't see it somehow.
    I used to love the Panini books. Buying the packs (10p per pack) and the anticipation of opening them. The silver club crest and trophy badges shining like the golden ticket in a Wonka bar . Mind the world cup yins anaw? Swaps at school. Great memories.

Left by mutual consent! IlDiavola's Avatar
    What about that Hertz team under that clown Malofeev?

I used to love the Panini books. Buying the packs (10p per pack) and the anticipation of opening them. The silver club crest and trophy badges shining like the golden ticket in a Wonka bar . Mind the world cup yins anaw?
    Good times. I remember the world cup ones wig the crap teams like Iran only getting half stickers with 2 faves on each. Maybe just made that up. I'm sure the 86 book may have combined Scots Prem,English div 1 and world cup,and orange cover iirc. Could be merging the two though🤔

Also, did you once get mints in beside the English stickers, I seem to remember that for some reason.

Garbage, but not the worst ever. Pains me to say it, but they would have beaten Butcher's Hibs.
    That’s a close one.

Did they? After their financial collapse? I vaguely reminder their having a terrible time in the SPL, but can't remember exactly.
    Their wikipedia entry is a good reminder of their many problems that season, but it finishes on this particularly high note:

"They won their final SPL game, a home match against Hearts 1–0 with a goal from Gavin Skelton, which meant they finished the season with 13 points, narrowly avoiding setting a record low points total for the Scottish top-flight."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gretna_F.C.

Quote Originally Posted by beensaidbefore View Post
    Good times. I remember the world cup ones wig the crap teams like Iran only getting half stickers with 2 faves on each. Maybe just made that up. I'm sure the 86 book may have combined Scots Prem,English div 1 and world cup,and orange cover iirc. Could be merging the two though🤔

Also, did you once get mints in beside the English stickers, I seem to remember that for some reason.
    I'm sure the Scottish sides (or at least some of them) also only used to get half stickers for each player. I'm sure I remember the likes of Morton and Dumbarton getting the wee half sticker per player.

@hibs.net private member Callum7's Avatar
    The worst a team has ever down was in the 1896-97 season where Abercorn only picked up 3 points and a -67 goal difference.

Quote Originally Posted by Callum7 View Post
    The worst a team has ever down was in the 1896-97 season where Abercorn only picked up 3 points and a -67 goal difference.
    You didn't see them

You don’t know my age.

I'm guessing you're under 130

136 actually. I was 15. We lost out on the league to hearts by 2 points that season. This was back when a win was only worth 2 points.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Gretna. Should never have been there in the first place.

Dundee in 2012-13 were pretty bad too.

136 actually. I was 15. We lost out on the league to hearts by 2 points that season. This was back when a win was only worth 2 points.
    There's no need to bring that up

Left by mutual consent! IlDiavola's Avatar
    I'm sure the Scottish sides (or at least some of them) also only used to get half stickers for each player. I'm sure I remember the likes of Morton and Dumbarton getting the wee half sticker per player.

Aye, but Ian Wallace and Andy Richie?

No wonder

The 2013/14 Hibs team from January-May would take some beating (pardon the pun).

It was frightening how bad we were for those last few months of the season.

Don't know, but they still managed to gub hearts in their last ever game.

Answer for me is Dunfermline the year we can second bottom. Man they where pish. In fact they where worse under Stephen Kenny. Live where brutal when we hammered them 7-0 too.was lambert the manager? FreeIng cold midweek match.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    The 2013/14 Hibs team from January-May would take some beating (pardon the pun).

Yes, the run of form that saw us drop into the play off place was disgusting. We should never have been put in that position. My first ST was a child ticket in 1990, but, if Butcher had, by some miracle kept his job, I wouldn't have renewed. It would have been the last straw. It's still hard to believe it actually happened.
    Last edited by Hibernia&Alba; 01-12-2017 at 05:28 PM.

I can't remember those teams but probably the case. I seem to recall Aberdeen managers being a half sticker with Alex Smith and Willie Miller? We're they ever joint managers of the sheep?

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    Gretna were honking but they took a few points off Hearts.

Quote Originally Posted by givescotlandfreedom View Post
    Gretna were honking but they took a few points off Hearts.
    Yantorno was amazing for them, got injured, career over. Very nice guy too. I think he scored against us at ER also. I was delighted when we signed him.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post

To think I probably went to most of these games as well including an evening kick off up at Dingwall when we lost 1-0. We were shocking. Couldn't string two passes. We've come a long way in a few years

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    To think I probably went to most of these games as well including an evening kick off up at Dingwall when we lost 1-0. We were shocking. Couldn't string two passes. We've come a long way in a few years
    We are literally unrecognisable as a club both on and off the pitch to the team that went down.

The transformation has been outstanding.

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    Massive progress in a relatively short time and despite three years in the Championship. The Butcher months were an abomination.