(YAMS) James Collins!

Report circulating that Hearts are interested in signing former Hibs reject and renowned horse racing fan, James Collins, currently with Crawley Town.

Seems a bit far fetched for me, but please let it be true!

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Report circulating that Hearts are interested in signing former Hibs reject and renowned horse racing fan, James Collins, currently with Crawley Town.

Seems a bit far fetched for me, but please let it be true!

Please, please be true!

http://m.bedfordshire-news.co.uk/coventry-to-compete-with-luton-for-striker-s-signature/story-30369676-detail/story.html

The above article states that it is Luton Town and Coventry City that are after him, can't see anything regarding yam interest.
    Last edited by hfc rd; 04-06-2017 at 02:01 AM.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    He didn't exactly set scoring records for us but he worked hard IIRC.

His track record outwith Hibs, at several clubs, has been consistent. He's a 1 in 3 goalscorer and he's upped that with Crawley, but it's all been English third or fourth-tier.

I suspect he's the kind of player who could have a glorious season or two if he finds the right club, albeit I'm not sure at which level - he can score, that's obvious by his record, he just needs to find the right spot in the right team at the right time.

Hopefully it's not with them.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by hfc rd View Post
    Please, please be true!

http://m.bedfordshire-news.co.uk/cov...ail/story.html

The above article states that it is Luton Town and Coventry City that are after him, can't see anything regarding yam interest.
    Read your post and immediately tried to find the post...but can't!!

Didn't make it up, but either the post has been taken down, OR I possibly misread it.

It DID include other clubs who were interested in him, of which Luton and Coventry were also mentioned, but I can't now support my original statement, with any supporting post!

Maybe I did in fact misread it, as I thought at the time it was a bit bizarre....hence why I posted it.

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    He didn't exactly set scoring records for us but he worked hard IIRC.

His track record outwith Hibs, at several clubs, has been consistent. He's a 1 in 3 goalscorer and he's upped that with Crawley, but it's all been English third or fourth-tier.

I suspect he's the kind of player who could have a glorious season or two if he finds the right club, albeit I'm not sure at which level - he can score, that's obvious by his record, he just needs to find the right spot in the right team at the right time.

Hopefully it's not with them.
    He's ****

I remember him missing numerous times in huge games from 1-6 yards out

Collins has been banging the goals in since he left us

Quote Originally Posted by makaveli1875 View Post
    Collins has been banging the goals in since he left us
    In the 3 years since he left us he has a record of approximately a goal every 3 games mainly in the English League Two.

The Scottish Premiership is several levels above that league so that record holds no fears for me.

Please let them sign the useless piss slinger, he was absolutely ****.

To be fair,any striker would have struggled under butcher at Hibs. What I will say is James Collins never hid and always gave his all,in a rank team.

He was pish for us, but to be fair he was in the least creative Hibs team I've ever seen. Any striker would have struggled in it.

Collins might have goals in him if the conditions and players surrounding him were right. I don't for a minute think that would be the case at Hearts, a club better known for big windows and chips than for creating lots of chances for strikers.

Hope he doesn't sign for them as it's an absolute certainty he'll only be a 6 goal a season striker but all 6 will come against us.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    James Collins might have been pish but he still scored in a derby. I have no doubt if he signs for them that he'll repeat the feat.

Hearts are on their way to building one of the best mediocre teams in recent history, Collins will help them make it all the quicker.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    In the 3 years since he left us he has a record of approximately a goal every 3 games mainly in the English League Two.

The Scottish Premiership is several levels above that league so that record holds no fears for me.
    Can I ask what league (several levels above you mention) that the likes of Hamilton and Ross County would be competitive in in England?

Quote Originally Posted by Sergey View Post
    Can I ask what league (several levels above you mention) that the likes of Hamilton and Ross County would be competitive in in England?
    Top flight.

I didn't say that all the teams in the Scottish Premiership were several levels above the teams in England's League Two, I'm saying that the standard of the Scottish Premiership is several levels above League Two in England.

Do you disagree with that?

For the record, I believe the two teams you mention would beat the majority of teams in England's League Two.

He'd piss all over this league😉

Yam class, no doubt about it

I didn't say that all the teams in the Scottish Premiership were several levels above the teams in England's League Two, I'm saying that the standard of the Scottish Premiership is several levels above League Two in England.

For the record, I believe the two teams you mention would beat the majority of teams in England's League Two.
    The point your trying to make is completely subjective but I certainly wouldn't claim that the SPL is several levels above League Two in England. Yes, Celtic are a decent side who can compete at an international level (leaving the loss to a side from Gibraltar as a blip) but the standard of Scottish football is pretty grim. Players like Stokes can't even garner a starting berth at Blackburn. Logan was 2nd choice at Rochdale. There are a number of ex Hibs players now playing non-league. FFS, Hertz have just signed a cast-off from Tranmere Rovers. What standard is that setting exactly?

YMMV but the Scottish clubs records in European competition in the last 15 years speaks volumes. Our clubs have been losing matches against sides from Malta and Lichtenstein.

You're asking somebody that considers the "Vanarama National League" to be better quality that the Scottish Premier, so don't get your hopes up of an agreement.

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    Worst striker I have ever seen at Easter road and seems like an absolute welt of a person to boot.

Would fit in really well at the wongadome, hope this is true

Quote Originally Posted by MyJo View Post
    Worst striker I have ever seen at Easter road and seems like an absolute welt of a person to boot.

Worst striker? Never in a million years.

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Both teams would comfortably win league two.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Footballer who needs played in a front two who was played in a loan role. Maybe not the most gifted boy but how many players thrive when played to their weaknesses rather than strengths?

A Collins-Stockton striking partnership could be worth a few goals. Literally.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar

What fee would be required for Hearts to sign him

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    At this rate, the hawrts are heading for a first team squad of about 0762 players.

He wasn't even the worst striker we had that season.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    What fee would be required for Hearts to sign him

Possibly zero, maybe they've discovered another dodgy cross border scam.

I don't suppose JC is on JC's books by any chance?