Quote Originally Posted by underscore View Post
    I think we will be third

Ahead of Aberdeen or The Rangers?

@hibs.net private member Fergus52's Avatar

Gamertag: Zazu rafike
    I reckon we've got a good chance of coming ahead of the huns.

Their new manager appears to be decent but their squad isn't that great and they might not be able to strengthen much in the summer if their financial troubles keep up.

Quote Originally Posted by Fergus52 View Post
    I reckon we've got a good chance of coming ahead of the huns.

Their new manager appears to be decent but their squad isn't that great and they might not be able to strengthen much in the summer if their financial troubles keep up.
    What is it about the new manager that seems decent? His results are worse than the magic hats?

And I think we will be 2nd.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    What is it about the new manager that seems decent? His results are worse than the magic hats?

I agree they have got even worse under him I think they have signed a numpty.especially as his war chest is going to be filled with chocolate coins I think they will struggle big time next year.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    I think we'll be 5th.

@hibs.net private member Sean1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by RagingReality View Post
    I think we'll be 5th.
    Who do you see as being the 4th team above us? (Assuming Celtc, Sevco and Aberdeen make up 3 of the 4 above us)

I'd say we're definitely top four. Possibly two, maybe three. We will strengthen, not sure Aberdeen will. Rangers are an imponderable - they don't know how much or little money they'll have, so nobody else does. Pointless to speculate. I expect their crowds and revenue to fall though. Hearts aren't even in the equation at the moment. Let's be kind and say a year of transition.

I reckon Aberdeen will be pish again next season. Teams outside Celtic can't really sustain it for more than 3/4 years (see Motherwell, Dundee United, us!).

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    I'd say we're definitely top four. Possibly two, maybe three. We will strengthen, not sure Aberdeen will. Rangers are an imponderable - they don't know how much or little money they'll have, so nobody else does. Pointless to speculate. I expect their crowds and revenue to fall though. Hearts aren't even in the equation at the moment. Let's be kind and say a year of transition.
    The talk is £3 million plus the money from any players sold. Time will tell whether that's true, but, with Rangers only being kept afloat by loans from their owners, it's very unlikely they'll have massive money to throw around.

All depends on our signings. I think we will be 6th with the current squad mainly because we just don't score enough goals.

Lets not get ahead of ourselves.

Top 6 in itself would be an achievement with top 4 as a realistic stretch target.

Quote Originally Posted by Skol View Post

Top 6 in itself would be an achievement with top 4 as a realistic stretch target.
    Just about to post something similar.

However, anything is possible.

@hibs.net private member GreenLake's Avatar
    We are going to do a Leicester.

Many team playing championship football and coming up after 3 years will be to secure their league position another year. I have to agree though Hibs should aim top six as I think we could add quality to the team under Lennon.

What i I personally think is 4th or 5th depending what the Huns spend or bring in.

We mustn't return to the SPL to tread water; we need to kick on. The club is in the best shape for a long time, and I think we could surprise a few people next season. We need to see how the squad looks when the new season starts, but there's a good chance it will be better. I'll take fourth place and owning Hearts.

Also remember our budget is such, we should be looking at being around fourth. We should be above clubs like Motherwell, Accies, St Johnstone, Dundee.

I think fourth is a realistic target; anything above that is a very welcome bonus.

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Also remember our budget is such, we should be looking at being around fourth. We should be above clubs like Motherwell, Accies, St Johnstone, Dundee.

I think fourth is a realistic target; anything above that is a very welcome bonus.
    If we keep McGinn and Cummings and sign a 15 goal a season forward who can play with Cummings as well as keeping Marciano and basically most of our existing team (maybe losing one midfielder and Holt and Keatings) we will come 3rd or 4th. If we sign Efe and Whittaker as well we really should come 2nd

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    2 league titles in a row. Skooshed.
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by worcesterhibby View Post
    If we keep McGinn and Cummings and sign a 15 goal a season forward who can play with Cummings as well as keeping Marciano and basically most of our existing team (maybe losing one midfielder and Holt and Keatings) we will come 3rd or 4th. If we sign Efe and Whittaker as well we really should come 2nd
    pretty close to what ime thinking

I think we are setting ourselves up for a big fall, in public we should aim for top 6 in private NL and the players should target second.

Our main problem will be against the so-called "diddy teams" I saw nothing this season that convinced me that we knew how to break down teams who just sit in and make it difficult. Next year there'll be teams that will do that, but in turn will have better strikers/midfielders who could punish us.

I think we'll finish 5th.

1. Celtic
    2. Aberdeen
    3. Tribute Act
    4. St Johnstone
    5. US.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean1875 View Post
    Who do you see as being the 4th team above us? (Assuming Celtc, Sevco and Aberdeen make up 3 of the 4 above us)
    St Johnstone are a solid team and we won't be able to dislodge them just yet.

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    Thought I'd stimbled across the Arsenal forum for a minute...

4th would be a good marker for further improvement the following season when we should leap frog Aberdeen

1. Celtic

2. Team Formerly Known As
    3. Aberdeen
    4. Hibs
    5. St Johnstone
    6. Hearts

Celtic will win the league by a street again.
    The Rangers are in a big mess but with a couple of good signings from season ticket sales might just get their noses ahead of Aberdeen if they don't implode first!
    Hibs will have a good budget for players off big season ticket sales which will be bolstered by loads of walk ups and away supporters. Happy Days if we can sign the right players, especially the right centre forward to help Cummings. I expect McGinn & definately Cummings to be at Hibs for 1 more season.
    Hearts have destroyed their team and given the big shiny new stand won't have sufficient cash to sign the right players to get ahead of us.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Top six finish is a decent target. I would settle for that if we went the whole season never dropping out of the top six.

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    Top six finish is a decent target. I would settle for that if we went the whole season never dropping out of the top six.
    This and push on the following season.