Thread: Yogi

Yogi

https://www.facebook.com/bbcsportscotland/videos/1708600849155797/ Top class from yogi 👏👏👏

Quote Originally Posted by Libertine View Post
    https://www.facebook.com/bbcsportscotland/videos/1708600849155797/ Top class from yogi 👏👏👏
    Stop on as always. One of the best gaffers to listen to, always gets u buzzing about football, think he is frustrated with how players are now days and it doesn't surprise me. Wish him all the best!

Quote Originally Posted by Libertine View Post
    I got this message from the link.

The link you followed may have expired, or the page may only be visible to an audience you're not in.
    Go back to the previous page · Go to News Feed · Visit our Help Center

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I got this message from the link.

The link you followed may have expired, or the page may only be visible to an audience you're not in.
    Go back to the previous page · Go to News Feed · Visit our Help Center
    Dunno if this is the same video but

https://youtu.be/UMfNgwFsiUc

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Jambos bemoaning the fact that their club needs this. Stopping short at He is the solution.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

That was superb. Some may not rate him as a manager, but you can't question his integrity, or how much he cares about the club.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    He's passionate if nothing else.

Definitely passionate, but 'the manager is always right'? Hmm...

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    He is a numpty.

Same old clichés and pontificating we heard when he was here.

Its always everyone else's fault but his and all that rant is is pure blame deflection.

Simple truth is when its broken, he would not begin to know how to fix it.

This poor thick guy from a humble background came good routine is wearing in the extreme.

Quite what he thought he was going to gain alienating the players and throwing them to the wolves ahead of the biggest game in their recent history escapes me.

Had it been a timely rant ala Lennon with a few games to go and time to get that reaction I could have seen it, but that was an oh **** I have been found out moment if ever I saw it.
    Last edited by BSEJVT; 05-05-2017 at 04:16 AM.

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BSEJVT View Post
    He is a numpty.

Its always everyone else's fault but his and all that rant is is pure blame deflection.

Simple truth is when its broken, he would begin to know how to fix it.

This poor thick guy from a humble background came good routine is wearing in the extreme.

Quite what he thought he was going to gain alienating the players and throwing them to the wolves ahead of the biggest game in their recent history escapes me.

Had it been a timely rant ala Lennon with a few games to go and time to get that reaction I could have seen it, but that was an oh **** I have been found out moment if ever I saw it.

Couldn't agree more - well said.

I think you've got to be careful how much you go blaming players or "modern culture" for problems.

The Raith players may well be a bunch of snowflakes but they are all he's got right now and he's got to find a way to get those work-shy, easily-offended little shower of pissy-pants kids playing for him.

Only then can he get rid of them and get his own people in.

Just because Ralph Callaghan took a bollocking 30 years ago doesn't mean that anyone will or should now.

TBF to Yogi though I think he is passionate and makes a few decent points.

Getting his kit man, to do the team speech pre game on Saturday
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    I liked what Yogi said. It was soon after a total spanking and he was clearly hurting. Football is a passionate game, Yogi wears his heart on his sleeve and he probably exemplifies where dedication and committment can take you as a player with limited ability. Why shouldn't he expect that from his players.

Too much nonsense in the modern game. He is obviously hoping it will bring about the right response from the Raith players. Good luck to them, I think they're going to need it.

He is a numpty.

Thats kind of where I am with it to be honest. Should have kept anything to the dressing room and moved on.

Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    Getting his kit man, to do the team speech pre game on Saturday
    Reallly.

He is a numpty.

He's just copying Lennon after watching his rant at Stark's Park from a few feet away.

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    He's just copying Lennon after watching his rant at Stark's Park from a few feet away.
    Yet some of those having a go at Yogi, were lapping it up from Lennon?

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Yet some of those having a go at Yogi, were lapping it up from Lennon?
    Doesn't it make Yogi a "natural born winner", whatever that is supposed to mean?

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Reallly.
    Yeah said his kit man worked on railway, and is going to say how much RR means to him, and that he doesn't want a return to the railway

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Reallly.
    I think he's got a point. Leon Britton done the similar at Swansea asking the players to watch their rise from the bottom.

Player's know they'll move on and get a new team in the summer, but there's staff that could be out a job. If only we'd have done similar in 2012 or 2014 we might have got our act together quicker!

Butcher let JC do a team talk

Maybe should have got some fans in, to do it instead

Quote Originally Posted by green with envy View Post
    Me too.

Load of "fitbaw folk ken whit's gaun on" pish.

It's never the fact that he's a mediocre manager is it.

I'm sure Raith will give it a "right guid go" though.

Blethering gob*****

Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    Butcher let JC do a team talk

Maybe should have got some fans in, to do it instead
    I heard you done a team talk at the Oriam the other day BF. It was mentioned in the EEN.

Yogi might be from a humble background, but he's anything but thick.

Im not sure where I am on whether saying it in public is the answer but the points he is making are bang on I think - in any walk of life. In any job, situation etc to get maximum out of it you need to stand up and be counted - take the bull by the horns as they say. There are too many shrinking violets. You should go to work, take responsibility for your work and put your stamp on it. Then you can be happy in the knowledge that you gave it your best no matter what happens.

People may say things like its a macho thing or something but its not, its about being confident and getting things done.

Quote Originally Posted by Betty Boop View Post
    He does not have a good grasp of language "they out charactered us" but agree he is not thick. Before anyone says it i am not a great at writing or speaking either.

Quote Originally Posted by green with envy View Post
    He spent more than 3 minutes on that interview, saying quite a lot of words without any kind of meaning behind them.

I highly doubt that rant will mean very much to the Raith Rovers players.

I've said this before but the moment he said, after they played us last week, that he would take a play off place, despite being ABOVE the play off place at the time was the moment that he'll have lost a lot of the dressing room. Especially when he then went on to say in the same interview that he felt his team could beat St Mirren (a result that would have guaranteed them to finish out of the play off spot!).

What sort of confused message is that?

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Betty Boop View Post
    Nobody said he was, its a persona, an affectation but it seems to be the only card in the hand.

Its completely one dimensional and folk get tired of hearing it and players will now see through it.

To motivate folk you need to keep them both interested and wondering what next.

Time for him to change the record

Nobody said he was, its a persona, an affectation but it seems to be the only card in the hand.

Its completely one dimensional and folk get tired of hearing it and players will now see through it.

Or maybe it's just him , being authentically himself and what he believes in ?

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar

Total Tom Kite pal. Yogi is what he is and what you see isn't an affectation. Whether you like his manner, that's a different story. He is a character, to say the least.

His managerial record is mixed, but he showed at Inverness that he can build a decent side and bring success on a very limited budget. No issues with motivating folk there ken.